The Best Stroller

Buying a stroller is just as complicated as buying a car. All you want to do is take your baby for a walk, but we're talking about hundreds of different ways that you can push your kid around the block. Out of all of them, we think the Britax B-Agile is the best choice for most parents' needs. 

ARCHIVED: June 4, 2014
The adaptor that attaches an infant car seat to Phil and Ted's Explorer stroller is being recalled by the company due to reports of the plastic pieces cracking and breaking in freezing weather conditions. It applies to adaptors sold for the Explorer (and other Phil and Ted's models) between April 2013 and March 2014. The company recommends anyone who owns them to stop using them right away and contact the company for a replacement:  (855) 652-9019 or www.philandteds.com (click on “Support,” then “Upgrades and Recalls”).  
Expand Previous Updates
January 30, 2014: Britax has announced a recall of B-Agile strollers manufactured between March 2011 and June 2013 after receiving reports of several injuries caused by the folding mechanism. The company says it can "partially amputate consumers' fingertips, break their fingers or cause severe lacerations, among other injuries, when they press the release button while pulling on the release strap." Britax says strollers produced since June 2013 do not have this problem. If you do own this stroller, you should check the production date on the frame near the right rear wheel and contact Britax right away if your stroller is affected. The company says it will send out a free kit to fix the folding mechanism.
June 11, 2013: We updated the Jogging Stroller section because one of the competitors to our top pick released a new model. We had originally discussed Baby Jogger's Summit XE, and recently the company came out with the Summit X3. However, while the newer model is on the market, it doesn't change our top pick for jogging strollers.

I have spent the last 5 months obsessing over baby strollers: reading about them, testing them, and stopping random parents on the street to talk about them. There are dozens of websites that discuss strollers, but many of them are vague and unreliable. For example, Good Housekeeping, an otherwise decent source of information for parents, picked the Bumbleride Indie as their favorite stroller…and that stroller was recalled in February 2013. Parenting.com, the website of Parenting magazine and a thundering voice in parent-focused media, also had its favorite stroller recalled back in 2009! Neither sites have updated their reviews to reflect these recalls.

The biggest problem with most stroller reviews is the limited scope. With so many brands available, the “top 10″ lists that are prevalent at parenting sites are so varied that they feel arbitrary in their selections. Even some of the most reliable sources in my research—namely, Baby GizmoBaby Gear Lab, and Consumer Reports—had gaps in their coverage, and didn’t do a great job of comparing strollers within categories. So it’s hard to decide on what the right ones are by online research alone.

Nothing beats seeing a stroller in person, and when you’re actively looking for strollers, you realize that you see them everywhere. I know that not every parent’s opinion is the same, but I have stopped a lot (well over a hundred) of parents in the last 5 months to talk about their strollers and what they do and don’t like about them.

And then of course, there’s the testing of them. There’s no way to test every single stroller out there because of the amount of brands, and then models within those brands. After extensive web research, I focused in on the brands that were consistently referenced at the major websites to make sure I got to see them in person. These brands are:

  • Graco
  • Chicco
  • Phil and Ted’s
  • Jeep Explorer
  • Baby Jogger
  • Britax
  • BOB
  • Bumbleride
  • Jeep
  • Bugaboo
  • Joovy
  • First Years

The nice thing about these brands is their availability. It helps to see your stroller in person before you get it, and I was able to find these strollers at pretty commonplace stores, like Babies”R”Us. You won’t have to hunt out specialized boutiques to give one a spin of your own.

What To Look For

With over 25 hours of reading and testing, and then who knows how many hours talking to parents on the street, I’ve come across a few clear criteria for what makes a stroller great, which has a lot of overlap with Consumer Reports’ Stroller Buying Guide. Every stroller I considered has the basics down: sturdy wheels, a good canopy for shade protection, a 5-point harness for strapping the baby in, some type of storage for diaper bags, reliable brakes for locking the stroller in place, and the ability to recline so the baby can sit up or lean back. These are non-negotiables in today’s stroller world, although of course they can vary greatly.

For example, lighter strollers tend to have limited storage space, while heavier ones have a lot more room for tucking away bottles, snacks, and diapers. Storage is a bit of a tricky issue with a stroller—sometimes it feels easier to have too many things handy when you’re with your child, rather than too few. But don’t forget, the more you weigh down your stroller with crap (do you really need 5 diapers for a one-hour walk?), the bulkier and clunkier the stroller itself becomes.

Another example: brakes. You need a brake for your stroller, so that when you’re standing around you can lock the stroller in place and not worry about it rolling away on you. This is one of the pivotal safety issues of a stroller, and every stroller I reviewed has good brakes. They wouldn’t be approved without reliable brakes. However, some have separate brakes for each wheel, while others have a single brake for the entire stroller. Truth is, all of these work–the stroller would be immediately recalled if the brakes didn’t work–but I found that it’s much more convenient to have a single brake, rather than both.

But points like storage size and single-wheel or all-wheel brakes, are the nitpicky details. In all my time with strollers, I found that the heart of the matter is in a few key issues. The three variables that will steer your decision the most are how heavy and bulky the stroller is, how much terrain it can handle, and the cost. 

The three variables that will steer your decision the most are how heavy and bulky the stroller is, how much terrain it can handle, and the cost.
You need to be very realistic about your lifestyle to make sure you’re getting the right purchase. Someone who lives on the 5th floor of an apartment building in NYC with a very small elevator is going to want a different stroller from someone who lives at the end of a dirt road in Montana. For example, I live by the beach in San Francisco, which is also near Golden Gate Park, and I love to take my son jogging in our stroller. Clearly, a top priority for us was a tough stroller that could handle sand and trails as well as paved roads. So we went with a jogger, and it’s our go-to stroller. Sure, when we take it grocery shopping it’s a bit bulky, but it still works just fine, and it is the only stroller we use. But for others who might not care about sand and trails, a leaner stroller probably makes more sense.

Cost is a tough issue with purchasing a stroller. There is a wide range of prices, from $100 all the way up through $1,000. This wide range creates a false sense of what a “mid-range” stroller should cost. You’d guess it’s probably somewhere in the middle, around $500 or so. But in truth, the overwhelming majority of strollers are under $500, and in fact, most are closer to $300 and below. Once you cross over $500, there are far fewer options available, and in fact, they tend to be more like $750 and above.

To illustrate this: at the BabiesRUs.com website, there are 622 strollers available. The cheapest is the Graco Mosaic Stroller at $101.99; the most expensive is the Stokke Xplory at $1099.99, which is the most expensive stroller you can purchase anywhere. With so many strollers and a $900 price range, I think the BabiesRUs online stroller store represents a good sampling of the market at large.

If you break them down by price, only 75 of the 622 strollers cost more than $500, which is around 12%. Meanwhile, 381 of the strollers are less than $300, or 61%. So if you’re looking for the mid-range price, $300 is a good starting point.

I’ve looked into many of the cheapest options, and for the most part, they are not worth it. 

I’ve looked into many of the cheapest options, and for the most part, they are not worth it.
A stroller is something you will use with your baby almost every day. As I’ll explain in more depth later, the cheap strollers feel cheap, even though they technically cover all the bases of what you want from a stroller.

Instead, I have focused mostly on “mid-range” strollers, meaning those that are above $100 and below $500–and again, most are actually in the neighborhood of $300. There are many excellent strollers in this price range, which should come as a relief to those who don’t want to spend a thousand bucks to get something that will work for your family. But again, don’t cop out and go thrifty, either. Because of how much you’ll use your stroller–my wife and I probably take our son out for 15 hours of strollering a week–it’s definitely worth spending a little extra money to get something that is right for you, rather than just good enough.

Of course, that raises the question of just how much extra money makes sense? With this in mind, I also checked out the luxury strollers, mostly out of curiosity, to see if the extras that come with a luxury stroller merit a price tag that is three, four, or even five times what you’d pay for an excellent mid-range stroller. The extras tend to focus on materials, or amenities that cater to the pusher, rather than the pushee, with things like cupholders, places to store your keys, beefier warranties, or even a USB charger on one model. For the most sake, I’ve found that these are neat, but you can live without them.

One Stroller To Rule Them All

I should clarify that I’m working under the assumption that you want to purchase only one stroller for your child. I realize that many families have two strollers: a main stroller for everyday use, and a second stroller for other purposes. Maybe the second stroller is a lightweight stroller for short walks and easier travel, or maybe one that’s better for jogging. But here I’m focusing on finding the stroller that will work best as the stroller for your family. This is an important distinction to make. With every stroller I found, I asked myself: “Could this be the only stroller that a family uses?”

After a full survey of the field, I’ve grouped strollers into three main categories:

  • Standard Stroller. This is your go-to, all-around stroller, the type that you’ll take on walks, to the nearby market for shopping, the one that is meant to be easily loaded into the car, etc. The only thing you can’t do with this stroller is go running, so if you don’t plan on taking the baby on jogs, but want to do everything else, go with a standard.

  • Jogger/Off-Trail. This is the most durable genre of stroller, and is meant to handle rougher conditions, like trails, beaches, gravel—you name it. They come with sturdy suspension systems and heavy-duty, inflatable tires to handle the terrain. These strollers work just fine for schlepping around town, except they tend to be heavier and clunkier than your standard stroller, something to consider if you use public transit a lot.

  • Doubles. If you have twins, or have more than one kid who is of stroller age, you’ll need a double, or a stroller that can convert into a double. Even if you plan on more little ones to follow your first, I wouldn’t recommend starting with a double. Many families purchase either a standard or a jogger for their first child, and then sell their first stroller and upgrade to a double once they have their second kid.

There’s a fourth category, the lightweight aka “umbrella” stroller, but I’ve kept these strollers out of this review because they cannot be the only stroller your family uses. They do not accommodate car seats so they do not work with kids under the age of 6 months, so this is definitely an optional second stroller.

Here are the Sweet Home’s recommendations for the best stroller.

Our overall pick

Standard strollers can range in price from $50 to well over $1,000, but all of them accomplish the basic purpose of getting your baby from Point A to Point B. The Britax B-Agile is our pick for best standard stroller because it has the look and feel of a high-end stroller, it’s incredibly lightweight and easy to carry around, and it’s a great deal at only $180—hundreds less than what you will pay for strollers that are not noticeably better in quality. 

The Britax B-Agile gets a lot of love from reviewers. It’s the Top Seller for strollers on Diapers.com, which is pretty impressive since Diapers.com is one of the premiere parent shopping websites. BabyGizmo.com, which has reviewed a grand total of 93 strollers (holy crap!), recently crowned the B-Agile as one their top picks, replacing it with the otherwise popular City Mini by Baby Jogger. As they put it, “the B-Agile is similar to our beloved City Mini but has a few improved features that makes it even better.” 

The best features of the Britax B-Agile are how lightweight it is and how easily it collapses and folds.
It only weighs 16.5 pounds, while most standard strollers weigh over 20 pounds. And when you take the baby out of the stroller, there’s a handle in the seat that you pull, and the stroller folds. No twisting of handles, pushing of buttons, or levers to pull. Just grab the handle and go. Hollie Schultz of BabyGizmo.com told me, “the one-handed fold is one of the easiest on the market.” Many standard strollers require the use of two arms to fold the stroller—with the B-Agile, it’s clearly a one-arm operation. This is huge, because it frees you up to carry the baby with your other arm. If you need to load the stroller in the car, bring it up stairs, or store it in a closet, it’s hard to downplay how handy this seemingly simple feature becomes. It also stands on its own when you fold it, which not all strollers can do.

Of course, B-Agile is not the only stroller that is light and folds easily, but I found it to be the best in this regard.

Looking beyond weight and foldability, the B-Agile does very well compared to the competition. Its wheels are arranged in a triangular pattern, and the front wheel (which is actually two wheels side-by-side) pivots to allow for a tight turning radius. In general, I have found that three-wheel strollers can handle tighter corners much easier than four-wheeled strollers. (And who doesn’t like a good turning radius?) Also, it has a 2-year warranty which (like all strollers) covers damage in the stroller itself, but not anything that might be caused by use.

The wheels on the B-Agile are hard rubber tires that can handle flat surfaces really well, and even do decently on gravel, but you’re not going to want to go off-road with them. The rear tires can lock when you are in the stationary position.

The seat is wide (Schultz calls it “huge” and says the stroller works great all the way up to preschool age and beyond) and the cushioning is soft and doesn’t feel cheap—especially compared to Graco and Chicco strollers, which are popular budget brands that use materials that feel very synthetic and plasticky.

The canopy for shade coverage is large, and you can purchase an attachment to make the stroller work with most major car seat brands for when the baby is under six months old.

It’s not perfect; no stroller is. The handle is not adjustable, while other strollers allow you to raise or lower the handle so taller people don’t have to hunch over to push. But the B-Agile’s handle is high enough at 40″ that it should accommodate parents of most sizes. Another drawback: there’s no tray for the baby to put things on, even though many strollers have trays. In the name of saving weight, the B-Agile also has a smaller-than-average basket. You can still store snacks, a bottle, and a few diapers below, but probably not your typical over-stuffed diaper bag. At $180, you only get the basic stroller, and any amenities—like a tray, or extra storage space—you’ll pay extra for.

As for that $180 price tag…I think it’s worth pointing out that Britax sells the B-Agile for $250 on their website. It’s at sites like Amazon and ToysRUs that you can get the Britax for so much cheaper, which makes the stroller even more appealing.

The Competition

The strengths of the B-Agile serve to highlight the many drawbacks of the competition, with one exception. The City Mini by Baby Jogger is without a doubt the most obvious competitor of the B-Agile, and it’s an excellent stroller. There are entire forums on parenting discussion sites like Babycenter.com and TheBump.com that try to figure out the differences between the B-Agile and the City Mini, and I have to say, they are negligible. The B-Agile is slightly lighter (16.5lbs compared to 16.8lbs); the folding mechanism on both is almost identical; the two strollers even look similar. The main difference is that the B-Agile is $60 less at $180, while the City Mini is $249. I’ve held these two strollers up next to each other and have read every single item of description for them, and I can’t find any game-changing decisions besides the price. To me, that’s a no-brainer. Save the $60 and go with the B-Agile.

Graco and Chicco have about 10 models that could be considered standard strollers. I checked them all out, but focused in on Graco’s Vie4 ($109) because it is Consumer Reports’ best pick for strollers. (They put B-Agile and Britax in the middle of the pack based on the size of the storage basket.) I’m surprised at Consumer Reports’ heaping praise, because I think the stroller feels clunky and cheap. It’s nowhere near as mobile, easy, or lightweight as the B-Agile. Even user reviews on the Consumer Reports website panned the stroller, giving it only 3 out of 5 stars. It’s a good price at $108, but then again, it feels like a stroller that only costs $100. 

The Chicco Liteway ($140) is a common competitor to Graco’s many models, and I’m not a fan. It has the same drawbacks of the Graco strollers in that it feels cheap. It also touts itself as being such a lightweight stroller, when in fact it’s a few pounds more than the B-Agile.

There were a few other stand-outs in the field of standard stroller, each with their own defining characteristics that make them unique. Again, I love the B-Agile because I think it’s the best at being portable and lightweight for the cost, but these other strollers are also cool for less-essential reasons. For example, the Contours Option 3 ($153) is cool because its seat swivels, so the baby can face forward or backward. I think this is a really fun feature to have for parents and kids, but the stroller is a tank that weighs almost 30 pounds. I don’t think the annoyance of such a heavy, bulky stroller makes the swivel feature worth it.

As far as weight goes, the lightest is First Years’ Indigo ($140), which is superlight at 14 pounds, but many reviewers on Amazon point out that the stroller started to fall apart after only a few months of use.

The InStep Safari Swivel ($104) is a classicly over-heavy stroller…it weighs 30 pounds, and doesn’t come with any of the fun features like swiveling seats. It’s just heavy, and although it calls itself a jogger, it’s flimsy and I certainly wouldn’t take it on a jog.

And let’s not forget, I have mostly ignored umbrella strollers, since they cannot accommodate car seats. The standout in umbrella strollers is Maclaren, which makes pretty legitimate umbrella strollers that collapse neatly. Unfortunately, you can’t attach your car seat to any of their models, which severely limits the usability for the first 6 months. Peg Perego suffers from a similar problem, with their slightly beefier four-wheeled strollers. While you can attach a car seat to their strollers, you can only attach a Peg Perego car seat, which is limiting and annoying.

What About More Expensive Strollers?

While there are $1,000 strollers, and those can be easily considered way too expensive for a stroller, but many parents think that if they want to splurge on their kid, splurge on the stroller. Think about it: if you use your stroller every day, a $365 stroller only costs you a buck a day to use. That’s not too much.

I’ve spent a lot of time looking at strollers that are expensive, but not ridiculous–$300 to $600–and there are unquestionably many great strollers in this price range. Strollers that any of us would love to have. But with each stroller, I found myself asking the same question: are the differences in quality between this stroller and the B-Agile worth twice the cost? Because if I’m paying twice the cost, I want something twice as good, not something that is hardly any better. Because let’s not forget, a $365 stroller might cost you a buck a day to use, but the B-Agile only costs you 50 cents each day.

A popular stroller is the Phil and Ted’s Explorer. I really liked this stroller. Its folding mechanism is easy, it’s sleek, and the sun canopy is very good. The big difference that I found between the B-Agile and the Explorer is that the Explorer’s seat is well-ventilated. In fact, the seat ventilation is one of the main selling points of the stroller. This is a great feature. Who wants their baby to get hot in the stroller? But the Explorer is more than double the B-Agile at $390. I don’t think seat ventilation merits an additional $200. Also, the stroller has middling Amazon user reviews (3.2/5 stars), many of which cite bad tires on the stroller. So you’ve got better ventilation, but questionable tires, and the stroller is $390. I’ll save my $200 and stick with the B-Agile.

The Mountain Buggy Urban Jungle Stroller probably has the best name in the industry, and is a quality stroller many compare to Phil and Ted’s Explorer. I got to see this stroller and I like it–except there’s really nothing that exceptional about it. Its defining features are common to almost every stroller: a front wheel that pivots 360 degrees, a 5-point harness for the baby, a sun canopy, soft grip on a handle….these are standard features, and nothing worth writing home about. As far as features go, the Phil and Ted’s Explorer is better than the Urban Jungle, whose biggest selling point is its appearance, which definitely looks cool and very “urban jungle.” But it’s $390 and I’m not going to pay an extra $200 for something just because it looks a like more urban chic.

The Quinny Buzz Stroller is noteworthy because it can unfold with the touch of a button. That’s really cool. It’s a sleek-looking stroller that has its drawbacks, like how bulky it is at 27 pounds, but it’s otherwise a very nice, fancy stroller. For $580. I’m inclined to give it credit for the automatic unfolding, but the folding mechanism on the B-Agile is so easy that an automatic unfold in no way justifies the $400 difference in price.

You are probably getting the point here. Strollers that are twice the cost of the B-Agile are definitely good strollers. But they’re not twice the quality of a B-Agile, they don’t have twice the features, they aren’t twice as easy to use in an urban or suburban environment. I understand the urge to spend up for your kid, but a few more hundred dollars than the B-Agile is not getting you a huge upgrade. It’s instead a minor upgrade, if even an upgrade at all. You might gain one feature, but you’ll lose in getting a stroller that’s bulkier, or less easy to fold. And besides, there are expensive strollers that are noticeably worse than the B-Agile, like the Inglesina 2012 Avio Stroller, which is all looks, and no functionality. Its bright, flashy colors and sleek design are clearly meant to attract attention, but the thing is clunky to fold and very difficulty to put together in the first place. Not at all designed for a parent whose hands are full with a child, diaper bag, car keys, and groceries. But it does come with a pretty hilarious product description: “Unparalleled, made-in-Italy smoothness and effortless thrust, even after long use.” Funny, but I’m not paying $390 for it.

The B-Agile by Britax is the best all-around standard stroller because it is a top performer in functionality and quality, and costs much less than any stroller of a similar caliber.

High-end strollers

And finally, there are the top-dollar strollers. These are much, much more expensive than the B-Agile. As one Amazon reviewer unabashedly put it, these are “the Manhattan strollers.” And it’s true. Out in the streets of Manhattan, I saw an impressive amount of of Bugaboo ($889), Uppababy ($730), and Stokke ($1,100) strollers. Almost anywhere else in the country, these strollers are endangered species, rarely seen amidst the sea of Graco’s, Chicco’s, City Mini’s, Britax, etc. Not that I’m calling these snobby strollers, but there’s no denying that they are expensive, and often for features that revolve around aesthetics as much as anything else. Granted, if I was to win one of these strollers in a raffle, I’d keep it, but I’m not going to seek them out in a store to pay close to a thousand dollars. The Amazon reviewer who called these type of strollers “Manhattan strollers” ended her review with a telling sentiment: “I like my Uppababy a lot, but truth is I wonder if I really needed it.” In fact, she admitted that she used her second stroller–a much cheaper stroller from Chicco–much more than her expensive Uppababy.

Also Great
The seat swivels 360 degrees, which isn't worth the extra bulk if you're looking to spend under $200, but if you're willing to spend $780 for a stroller, the swivel is awesome.
Still, I’d be remiss to not at least mention these strollers, even though I don’t think you particularly need one of them. You will see them on the street more than you might expect. Of the expensive options, my pick is a common favorite, the Orbit G2. The seat swivels 360 degrees, which isn’t worth the extra bulk if you’re looking to spend under $200, but if you’re already planning to spend a lot of money, why not get one with a sweet swivel. It has an excellent absorbent shock system—with 4 shocks on each wheel, for a total of 16 shocks!—and green-friendly materials, all features that fit perfectly into the luxury category of “nice, but not essential.” The one drawback is that it has relatively little storage, so you’ll need to buy extra storage space. This is inconvenient but not terrible—B-Agile’s undercarriage basket is also small—but since you’re already paying over $920, so do you really want to pay even more money for an attachable pouch to carry diapers? To quote Schultz, “if you are looking for a luxury, head-turning stroller with fabulous unique features that will have you feeling like a celebrity (and you have the moola to spend!), the G2 is a great stroller.” So if you want to join the likes of Jessica Alba and Khloe Kardashian, as well as the many rave reviewers on Amazon.com and even Slate.com, check out the Orbit G2.

Not Great
*At the time of publishing, the price was $889.
It looks pretty cool, but beyond the aesthetic, it's a letdown. And there was a recall in January 2013 of about 46,000 strollers because of a button on the handle that came loose and posed as a choking hazard. Skip it.
By far the most popular high-end stroller is the Bugaboo Chameleon, which I don’t fully understand because it’s heavy, clunky, and a pain in the ass to fold. I think its popularity is mostly because of the aesthetics—it looks like of like a modern interpretation of Victorian-era baby carriages, complete with a detachable bassinet, so you can take your sleeping baby out of the stroller without disturbing him or her. Granted, you can do this for all strollers that can hold car seats, which are almost all of them, but car seats don’t look as good as bassinets, so there’s that. I’ll admit that the Buggaboo looks pretty cool, but beyond the aesthetic, it’s a letdown. Also, as Consumer Reports reported, there was a recall in January 2013 of about 46,000 strollers because of a button on the handle that came loose and posed as a choking hazard. Totally not worth $889.

Not quite as popular as the Bugaboo is the Uppababy Vista, which also comes with an attachable bassinet. The Uppababy Vista does have excellent storage space below, so much that it can almost double as a shopping cart while you’re out. But like the Bugaboo, it’s very large and heavy, and I imagine it being hard to get around on the subway or any other public transit. It’s cheaper than the Buggaboo at $730, which actually makes it one of the cheapest of the high-end strollers, and $150 less than the comparable Buggaboo. But it’s still $730.

The most expensive stroller I checked out was the Stokke Xplory which costs $1,100 and that is just ridiculous. If it doesn’t change your baby’s diapers for you, then why the heck are you spending that kind of money on a stroller. The big selling point is that the stroller is really high. As in your baby sits much higher above the ground than in other strollers, which is Stokke’s big innovation. Height.

I can’t mention high-end strollers without ranting about the most “technological” stroller, the Origami by 4moms. This stroller has an LCD screen on the handle that shows speed, temperature, battery level, and distance traveled. It also lets you know when a kid is in the seat (in case you can’t just look and see yourself), because when the stroller is empty, it folds with the push of a button. Oh, the handle comes with a USB-charging dock, too. As far as I’m concerned, this stroller represents everything that is wrong with technology. It’s gadgety for the sake of gadgety, not to effectively improve your walking experience with your baby in any way. Please do not buy the Origami. It’s $849 worth of whistles and bells.

The Best Jogger Stroller

Also Great
The company was started in the '90s by a cyclist and bike mechanic, and they originally focused on trailers for kids riding behind bikes. But it wasn't long before they tackled the jogging stroller market, and they have basically dominated ever since.
*At the time of publishing, the price was $325.
Before getting into the specifics of the BOB Revolution SE, it’s worth remembering that I’m talking about a jogger that also works as the one stroller for your family. Not all joggers are good as the only stroller. In fact, most of them would really only work as a secondary stroller.

The critical factor in getting a good jogger that does double duty is to pick a stroller whose front wheel can lock into place for stability while jogging, but can also unlock and pivot for greater maneuverability at walking speeds. It’s best to have a locked front wheel when taking the baby for a fast jog, like if you’re running faster than a seven-minute mile pace. If you go that fast, you don’t want the unpredictability of a pivoting front wheel to catch something and cause the stroller to wipe out. But many of the jogging strollers, and especially the cheaper ones, don’t give you the option to unlock the front wheel. That’s fine if you’re running, but any time you are walking the stroller, you have to do a mini wheelie by lifting the front wheel and pivoting around the back two. Not acceptable if this is your only stroller. 

This is why I have only looked at strollers with front wheels that can both lock into place and unlock into a pivot: they can be the only stroller that you need in your family.

With this in mind, let’s get into the BOB Revolution SE. For starters, it is a huge crowd favorite. Everyone loves it. It’s the top choice for jogging strollers on Diapers.comBabble.comBabyGizmo.com, and BabyGearLab.com, who say that the Revolution SE is the “best combination of performance and versatility, totally worth the price.” So my pick shouldn’t come as that much of a surprise.

The company was started in the ’90s by a cyclist and bike mechanic, and they originally focused on trailers for kids riding behind bikes. But it wasn’t long before they tackled the jogging stroller market, and they have basically dominated ever since.

What jumps out most immediately about the Revolution SE is the smooth ride, and the ease of use. I’ve taken the Revolution SE out on roads, running trails, and even the beach, and it feels great. The stroller is equipped with inflatable tires that look like mini mountain bike tires, which can handle almost any terrain. The back wheels have an excellent suspension system (which can creak a bit after a lot of use, so spray WD40 to keep it quiet) that handles bumps in the trail and curbs effortlessly.

Joggers are bulkier than standard strollers, so most require two hands to fold and collapse. The Revolution SE is a two-step fold system: snap the two levers on the handle to make it collapse, and then grab a red cord to finish the deal. The pivoting front wheel can make the stroller a bit awkward to store flat when it’s folded, but the tire is easy to snap on and off, so for long-term flat storage, just take off the tire.

It’s 23 pounds, which really isn’t that bad for a jogging stroller considering what you’re getting. The shade canopy is humongous, one of the biggest on the market, so your baby will get good sun coverage, too. There’s a little panel you can flip open to have a window into the stroller if the canopy is up, so you can still see your baby. Lastly, there is a footbrake that locks into place that you can use when the stroller is stopped. This is nice, and pretty standard for jogging strollers. The warranty is 5-years on the frame, and 1-year on small parts.

If you’re looking for a drawback, it’s not cheap at $336, but this is in-line with what you should expect to pay for any decent jogging stroller.

 Jogger stroller competition – UPDATED

Just like our top standard stroller pick, the Revolution SE has a very similar competitor also made by Baby Jogger, the Summit X3. The Summit X3 is a brand-spanking-new stroller from Baby Jogger, featuring a few improvements over their classic jogging stroller, the Summit XC. The Summit X3 is a great stroller and has some very appealing features. It has a 3-wheel suspension, rather than only the back two. Unlike the Revolution SE, it can be folded with one hand, which is pretty nice for ease of use. And its canopy has vents for allowing fresh air in.

These are all pretty handy features, but the BOB wins on width, which is more important than you might think. The Revolution SE is 23″ wide; the Summit X3 is 25.5″. (I should clarify: the older Summit XE was 27,” which got some criticism for being too wide. Baby Jogger has clearly responded to that criticism by making the X3 slightly more narrow.) and Baby Jogger has responded to criticism of the width by making the X3 slightly more narrow.) The difference in width between the BOB and the x3 is 2.5 inches, which might not seem like much, but it’s a noticeable difference in getting the stroller around, especially when you’re talking about doorways, elevators, stores, and crowded streets. Consider that most doorways are 30″ across. With the x3, you have 4.5″ to spare; with the BOB, you have 7″ to spare, almost double the amount of space to clear your doorways. From all my testing, I can promise you that this nit-picky point matters more than you might think.

Because the Summit X3 is so new (it only has 4 reviews on Amazon so far–glowing reviews, but only 4), there are very few side-by-side comparisons with the BOB Revolution SE available. However, there are many comparisons between the BOB and the older Summit XE, since they were both such clear competitors. StrollerGuru.com and StrollerSnob, two decent stroller review websites, preferred the BOB because of the width issue. 27″ was just too clunky to maneuver. 25.5″ for the X3 is definitely an improvement, but it’s still wider than the BOB.

I’m going to keep my eyes open for experts who compare the two strollers and see if the width reduction makes the X3 worth it, because one obvious point of difference between the two strollers is the price. The BOB is $336; the Baby Jogger Summit X3 is $430. This $100 difference is what makes the BOB our obvious favorite. Granted, I acknowledge that the Summit X3 has some great features and has gotten more narrow, but I’m not convinced it’s worth the extra $100. And for now, few others seem convinced, since the BOB Revolution SE continues to be the most popular jogging stroller on many parenting sites.

The Baby Trend Expedition is a cheap jogging alternative at $191, but you’re getting what you pay for. There are no shocks, and the seat is narrow and has shotty padding. As BabyGearLab.com advises, it might be ok for short runs, but you’re not going to want to take the baby out for a long time in something that isn’t particularly comfortable.

Another budget option that got the abysmal rating of 1 star out of 5 at BabyGearLab.com is the Instep Grand Safari, which is heavy, has a bad braking system, and uses cheap shocks.

There are other joggers out there, but most of them are the locked-wheel variety that make them horrible for everyday use, like the Schwinn Free Runner or the Jeep Overland Limited Jogging Stroller. These are cheaper than the BOB, so they might be an option if you’re looking for a second stroller for running only, but don’t count on them for all-purpose use.

The best double stroller

There are two types of double strollers. The first type puts the two kids next to each other, almost like you’ve glued two stroller together side-by-side. These are obviously wider than single strollers, but tend to fold easily and handle well, at least for such big rigs.

Also Great
*At the time of publishing, the price was $379.
No other company has done as well in taking their features for a single and compiling them into a double.
The others are almost like bunk-beds on wheels, and they stack the two seats one on top of the other. This allows the stroller to be roughly the same size of a single stroller, but it also puts one kid on the bottom with a pretty boring view. Some of the higher-end double strollers allow for adjustments in the seating—meaning, you can pivot the two seats so the kids can look forward, back at the parent, or even face each other like they are in a train compartment.

I’ve tried out various models of both, and without a doubt, I prefer the side-by-side approach. Yes, the stroller is wide, but you’re pushing around two kids—the stroller is going to be big no matter what. The side-by-side strollers are much more stable than the bunk-bed styles, some of which almost feel fragile (like Graco’s double stroller) and make you think twice about going any faster than a slow walk. Most of all, the side-by-side strollers collapse easily and are still pretty easy to handle.

There is no stroller company that focuses exclusively on making doubles, so I looked at the same companies I researched for the standard stroller: Graco, Chicco, Phil and Ted’s, Baby Jogger, Britax, BOB, etc.

In the category of the double stroller Baby Jogger finally gets its moment in the sun with its City Mini Double Stroller. No other company has done as well in taking their features for a single and compiling them into a double.

What I liked best about Baby Jogger’s City Mini Double Stroller is that it doesn’t feel huge. Many double strollers feel like you’re pushing a tank down the street, but the City Mini Double Stroller is still lightweight, agile, and best of all, folds up incredibly easily. I can’t imagine the nightmare it would be to have an overly complicated double stroller, while trying to also wrangle two kids. It costs $449, which is consistent with other quality double strollers.

Double stroller Competition

Like I said, there are a slew of double strollers that stack kids up one behind the other, or even in some cases, on top of each other. I’ve seen and handled enough of them to not like them. I think they are awkward for the kids, and feel a lot less steady than the side-by-side strollers. The same companies who make mediocre standard strollers make mediocre double strollers, and they all put one kid behind the other: the Graco Duo Glider, the Chicco Cortina Together, the Jeep Traveller Tandem.

The one double stroller I actually would consider as a viable alternative to the City Mini Double is BOB’s Duallie, which is basically two Revolution SEs next to each other. I’ve seen them out with jogging parents quite a bit, and they’re pretty massive. Sturdy, but massive, and much harder to manipulate than the City Mini Double Stroller. Since the City Mini Double is smaller and lighter, it’s the better pick.

Of honorable mention are the strollers that allow one of the children to actually stand up. These are pretty cool if you have an older sibling who might need a ride, but who doesn’t want to sit down. It’s a bit of a novelty act that I doubt gets a ton of everyday use, but I bet it’s perfect in certain situations. My favorite in this genre is the Joovy Caboose which is ultralight at 21 pounds, cheap at $230, and very maneuverable.

Wrapping it up

For standard strollers, you can beat the ease and price of the Britax B-Agile. It’s lightweight, effortless to fold, and has tons of comfortable room for the baby. There may be nicer strollers on the market, but you’ll pay at least double for them what you’ll pay for the Britax B-Agile, and you won’t be getting that much more for what you’re spending. 

If you want a jogging stroller, go with the BOB Revolution SE. It dominates the market, and for good reason. You’ll get a sturdy, smooth, comfortable ride at a great price…and it can work well as your everyday stroller, too.

For doubles, Baby Jogger’s City Mini Double is our favorite. Baby Jogger is a great company, and was runner-up for our standard and jogger pick, but it takes the cake with its double. When you’re toting around two kids you want something light, sturdy, and secure, and that’s the City Mini Double.

*At the time of publishing, the price was $180.
To send this guide via email, fill out the fields below:
Message Sent!
Oops! Please try again
Send

Sources

  1. Mariana Sief, The Best Jogging Stroller Review, Baby Gear Lab, December 14, 2012
    "Best combination of performance and versatility, totally worth the price."
  2. Baby Gizmo, Stroller Reviews, Baby Gizmo, over several months
    This is the full list of Baby Gizmo's review for all of their strollers. They don't do a great job of comparing strollers to each other, but their examination of each stroller is pretty damn thorough.
  3. Consumer Reports, Strollers, Consumer Reports
    While Consumer Reports generally does a reliable job testing their products, their list of recommended strollers was extremely suspect, and often contradicted what we had otherwise read at other sources or experienced first-hand.
  • Heidi Ballek

    This article needs an update on the jogging stroller section as Baby Jogger released a new Summit X3 which is a little narrower at 25.5 inches (see specs at http://www.babyjogger.com/summitx3-sngl-dtl.aspx). In my opinion, now with the narrower width only 2.5 in wider than the BOB combined with the awesome one-handed fold and the better canopy, the Baby Jogger trumps the BOB.

    • Mark Lukach

      Thanks for pointing this out Heidi. I’ve gone back and updated the section on jogging strollers to reflect the X3, and not the XE. You make some great points: the X3 looks like a really fantastic stroller, and since it’s gotten more narrow, it’s edging in on the BOB Revolution SE. But in my opinion. the BOB is still the clear top pick because of the price…almost $100 cheaper than the X3. I don’t think the differences are substantial enough to merit spending so much more than the BOB. And let’s not forget, the BOB is still widely considered the best on the market.

      This being said, I’m going to keep my eye on the X3 to see if the price comes down, and also to look for experts who do side-by-side comparisons of the two. In fact, I’m curious about the longevity of the X3. It’s so new that there are few reviews who have had it for more than a month or two, and the value of a stroller is really in how is lasts. I imagine it’s probably pretty good, but it’d be nice to hear that from users who have had it for more than a few months. (One of the Amazon reviewers of the X3 mentioned she hadn’t even used the stroller outside yet!)

      Either way, thanks for pointing out the new model.

      • Heidi Ballek

        Great points, Mark. The price difference IS important. We parents are blessed to have so many good options today.

  • scotyew

    As a parent of twins who knows many other parents of twins, you should really look at the Baby Jogger City Select as a doubles option. We’ve used this double stroller for over a year now and love it.

    You said that, “I can’t imagine the nightmare it would be to have an overly complicated double stroller, while trying to also wrangle two kids.” and you’re right. Part of that nightmare is dealing with a stroller that is difficult to handle and pack away.

    The maneuverability of a double wide vs. a tandem stroller is not something to gloss over. People who live in the city or even just parents that need to hit the grocery store will be greatly inconvenienced by a double wide stroller. The City Select with the doubles option basically has the footprint of the singles option. The seats are flippable so your children can see each other or both facing you, or in the usual outward facing mode. The City Select also has attachment points so that it can adapt from infancy through toddlerhood. Our three year old twins still love sitting in the stroller when we’re doing lots of walking at the zoo, etc..

    Not everyone has a mini van either. The City Select can fit into the back of a tiny car like our Honda Fit with room to spare for a couple grocery bags. It folds up extremely quickly and compactly. I have yet to find a single double wide stroller that fits as compactly into the back of our compact car.

    Give the Baby Jogger City Select a look. At the very least it should be put up as an excellent option for a tandem stroller.

    • alan71

      We have twin two year olds and have used the City Mini Double exclusively for them. It is easy to get on and off the London Underground trains and anywhere you can get a wheelchair you can get it. It’s not quite as wide as you first think and the fact that it turns right around on the spot makes it easy to get around the shops. I think the side-by-side is better than the tandem since it turns in less than its own length and it is suitable from birth since both seat fold nearly flat (you don’t have to buy a bassinet) – with most tandems only one seat folds flat enough for a newborn.

  • Katie

    Don’t sleep on umbrella strollers! I get that they might not be as useful in a less urban environment, but I live in Brooklyn and our umbrella stroller IS our only stroller. My son is ten months old now and I am still in love with our Chicco C6 http://www.amazon.com/Chicco-Capri-Lightweight-Stroller-Tangerine/dp/B000FFS9VM/ref=sr_1_1?s=baby-products&srs=2587176011&ie=UTF8&qid=1371434357&sr=1-1
    It is narrow for fitting on city sidewalks and grocery store aisles, folds up small to fit in our closet-less apartment, and is lightweight for bringing up steps and the front stoop. We don’t have a car so we don’t need to worry about a carseat. I hang my diaper bag rom the handles and rarely use the storage it has other than to store reusable grocery bags, but I can tell you it fits two beer growlers nicely. My only complaint is that it is too short for my (6’3″) husband. He doesn’t like to push it because he has to bend over. I am 5’4″ and it’s perfect for me. My son is admittedly large, but I started using it at 3 months. They may not be practical for everyone, but umbrella strollers have their place!

  • schwa23

    Just wanted to suggest the Valco Snap stroller. Super lightweight (13 lbs), narrow enough to fit through a subway turnstile (we travelled to Japan with it), but big enough to be comfortable for our 3 year-old. We’ve got a Bob as well but this has become our go-to stroller for heading around town, as well as traveling.

  • John Miller

    I know you’re only covering jogging strollers that do double duty, but for anyone who wants a real jogging-only stroller, I spent a lot of time comparing various fixed-front-wheel models, and chose the BOB Ironman, and I would never look back. It’s awesome, and the 16″ tires ensure it can go anywhere smoothly.

  • ANONYMOUS2323

    What’s the best umbrella stroller?

  • numeric

    We were going to get the Britax stroller but at the time they had the most toxins. It looks as though Britax has committed themselves to removing the toxins.

    Anyway, this article seems kind of strange because we pick our stroller based on the safest and easiest to use car seat and then just went with the stroller that worked with it. I guess if you lived it a city without a car this would make more sense to me.

  • idlejam

    One relatively new addition that may be worth consideration is the BOB
    motion stroller. BOB is (now) owned by Britax, and has some notable
    similarities to the B-Agile. In my opinion there are both pros and cons
    between the B-Agile and the Motion, many similarities, and some things
    that are just different such as it being 4 wheeled instead of 3.

    Similarities:

    - Identical, fabulous folding mechanism (with self-standing while folded)
    - Single brake lever
    - Same infinite recline seat which goes almost horizontal
    - Same car seat compatibility

    Cons

    - Motion is more expensive at $300 (MSRP $350)
    - Motion is heavier at 23 lbs

    Pros

    - Air-filled tires for a very smooth ride & more robust suspension
    - Higher weight capacity by 20 lbs, up to 76 lbs
    - Adjustable height handle

  • http://www.lazyprogrammers.com Eugene Kim

    My sister bought us the B-Agile when my baby was born, but we didn’t use it for the infant carseat days as ours didn’t fit. We just bought a second-hand Gracco carseat stroller frame, which was perfect for us as it was winter and we hardly ever had her out in a stroller for long. The B-Agile worked for us, and is everything the author wrote above, feels like a premium product, very light, easy to handle and use, and I highly recommend it.

    That being said, I’d like to mention a couple of points that we didn’t quite like.
    1. Reclining. The reclining seat is easily controlled, and goes down to a lay-down position, perfect for naps. The problem is that even at the most upright position, it’s still fairly reclined, so my daughter didn’t like it after she started walking at around 10~11 mo. She would constantly have to lean forward. This was the main reason we stopped using the B-Agile as our go-to stroller (she’s now two).

    2. Folding position. The folding motion on this stroller is extremely easy but it comes at a cost. The folding handle is on the seat and you pull up so it folds in half. That puts the surfaces that the baby sits in on the outside, while the basket folds inside. If you have a clean trunk, it’s usually ok, but just keep in mind that the surfaces the baby actually touches will be the first to get dirty. When flying, we checked it at the gate, and it came back filthy.

    3. The handle. The foam piece on the handle is comfortable, yet delicate. It had a sizable rip in the middle within the first week of use. When you fold it in half, the handle is the part that sticks out the most, and so if you have to set it down on the asphalt for a bit, the handle is what touches the ground. The folding action is so easy that it’s easy for the handle to hit the ground pretty hard.

    4. Cargo Basket. It’s pretty much non-existant. Don’t count on putting anything under there.

    After my daughter started walking, we moved to a Maclaren Volo and we love it. Plenty of space, nice upright position, super light, handles well, easy to fold, great for just going to the mall which makes up most of our trips.

    • Firesparx

      We own a B-Agile and I agree with all of Eugene’s points above. I love the stroller and I am very happy with the purchase. One plus to add is that the fabric cleans up really easily (a point not mentioned in the article). My biggest gripe about the stroller though is that you have to add a child tray and an parent’s organizer. Since the child tray is not part of the original stroller it doesn’t fold up; it sticks out from the folded stroller making it a good10-12″ longer. As such, the stroller doesn’t fit in my crossover trunk and I have to remove the tray. Annoying! But all the other perks and pluses to the stroller make it worthwhile.

  • JK

    It’s a shame that you would pick this copy-cat stroller over the true innovator, the City Mini. Your only differentiator between the two seems to be price – why not give credit where credit is due and promote the OG / innovator in this category?

    • Elizabeth

      In my opinion the B-Agile is superior to the City Mini and they are definitely not the same, especially if you are tall. I am 5’9″ and my husband is over six feet and we both could not walk comfortably without kicking the bar between the front wheels on the City Mini. I also think it is important to note that Britax car seats fit directly into the stroller, not to mention is is an extremely safe car seat, and you have to buy attachments to use a car seat with the City Mini.

  • NameIsDavid

    In discussing Uppababy, you missed the excellent Cruze, which has a huge basket and a reversible seat while still accepting an optional bassinet (which, unlike with the Vista, isn’t forced on you if you don’t need it). Also, Babyhome is a brand that is often missed but has some excellent design chops. After reviewing all of the same strollers discussed above, ad nauseum and with many repeat visits to Buy Buy Baby (far superior to Babies ‘R’ Us, IMHO), I ended up ordering the Babyhome Emotion. It is of similar weight to the B-Agile/City Mini but has a large basket, an adjustable footrest, a standing fold and unique urethane wheels that glide extremely smoothly. It’s also has a unique look. Normally $299 but Diapers.com has some discontinued colors for $239.

  • Jen Michaels

    Had an interesting discussion today about the Britax B-Agile and B-Ready series with a knowledgeable employee at Buy Buy Baby (which, as someone else already pointed out, is far superior to Babies ‘R Us. The employees at Buy Buy Baby actually know what they’re talking about.) The Buy Buy Baby employee, like Mark, initially said “Yeah, that’s a great cheaper alternative to the City Mini, especially for kids 6 months and up.” When we asked her about how it performs with an infant carrier attached, she said that because of the way the B-Agile and B-Ready balance an infant carrier over their frame, there’s a lot of stress put on the front wheel when you attach an infant carrier. With that extra weight over the front wheel, which is already sorta small, that neato front-wheel-lock mechanism on the B-Agile will tend to wear out pretty fast–especially if you’re using the B-Agile with an infant carrier on rough terrain, which causes the wheel to swivel a lot, which contributes to wear in the lock mechanism even if that wheel isn’t locked. The employee said that you can buy time with that wheel by mostly keeping the wheel locked and “popping a wheelie” to turn the stroller to the left or right, but obviously that’s a hassle. We asked her how likely this lock-blowout thing was, and she showed us a Britax B-Ready floor model that had fallen victim to this very problem–just from being a floor model. And since the blown-out part is the brake/lock mechanism, not the wheel itself, ordering a replacement wheel wouldn’t help you. The bigger front wheel on the City Mini, and the slightly different balance point for an infant carrier, make it unlikely that you’d blow out the wheel/lock on the City Mini by using an infant carrier.

    Obviously if you are starting with a front-facing child at 6+ months, this issue is basically moot point. So the B-Agile is still the better deal for a whole lotta folks. Just wanted to share this employee’s experience in hopes that other folks who field-tested the B-Agile with an infant carrier will weigh in.

  • davesandell

    How does the Britax B-Agile double stroller stack up against the City Mini? It’s significantly cheaper than the City Mini right now.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      You mean the City Mini double vs the Britax B-Agile double?

  • rozlemieux

    We *almost* went with the B-Agile after reading this review, but went to Babies ‘R Us to compare it in person to the City Mini GT and ended up going with the latter. It was about $100 more than the B-Agile via Amazon, open box. The reason we went with the more expensive stroller: we like to jog around the neighborhood as well as go on long (8+ mile) walks on the weekends. The BOB is too big and unwieldy for our narrow potholed and popular sidewalks. In fact, we just sold our BOB Ironman on Craigslist to downgrade to something more agile. The B-Agile and City Mini were *too* lightweight — the wheels just aren’t up to jogging. But the City Mini GT is a perfect in between. Light, narrow and agile enough for our neighborhood and long walks. Just hearty enough for light jogging.

  • Hank Mardukas

    For anyone who lives in a climate that gets appreciable amounts of snow, the tires on these strollers make a *huge* difference. Here in Minnesota, the hard plastic tires, such as those on the Britax B-Agile and the Baby Jogger City Mini get clogged with snow and slush, which makes pushing them almost impossible. We went with the Baby Jogger City Mini GT for its larger, rubber tires. We’re able to push through snow and slush with no problem.

  • smileman

    On the jogging stroller recommendation, since this was last written quite a few reviews have come in around the web for the Summit X3 and it’s generally considered to be superior to the BOB.

    Also, the price has come down, only $299 on Amazon, or approximately $60 less than the BOB.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      We go in depth here on the X3

      “Jogger stroller competition – UPDATED

      Just like our top standard stroller pick, the Revolution SE has a very similar competitor also made by Baby Jogger, the Summit X3. The Summit X3 is a brand-spanking-new stroller from Baby Jogger, featuring a few improvements over their classic jogging stroller, the Summit XC. The Summit X3 is a great stroller and has some very appealing features. It has a 3-wheel suspension, rather than only the back two. Unlike the Revolution SE, it can be folded with one hand, which is pretty nice for ease of use. And its canopy has vents for allowing fresh air in.”

      • smileman

        In the updated section you say “The BOB is $336; the Baby Jogger Summit X3 is $430. This $100 difference is what makes the BOB our obvious favorite.”

        my point in the previous comment is that this is no longer accurate and that the X3 is actually now cheaper than the Bob

        • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

          That is inaccurate. The X3 is $430. I think you’re referring to the old 2013 version we link to. This is the new one:

          http://www.amazon.com/Baby-Jogger-Summit-Single-Stroller/dp/B00G3XRCEU/?tag=thesweethome-20

          Hope this helps!

          • smileman

            Thanks, didn’t realize that the $299 X3 was older.

            Still, from what I can tell, the differences between the older $299 Summit X3 and the newer $430 one aren’t that significant. Here is what one site describes as the differences:

            -The frame is narrower and sleeker for better performance. (But both appear to be 25.5 inches in width)
            -The front wheel swivel lock is now mounted on the handlebar for parent’s convenience.
            -The sun canopy has been upgraded for better coverage, ventilation flaps, and two peekaboo windows.
            -Taller seatback with more headroom for older children up to 75 pounds
            -For 2014, the harness has been re-designed, and the new Baby Jogger logo added to the stroller (I’ve seen some comments complaining about the new harness design)

            There are also now a lot of reviews for the older Summit on many professional review sites and Amazon stating that they prefer the older Summit X3 to the Bob. So long as you can live with the 2.5″ addition width, give that it is $60 cheaper than the Bob it could be a better choice.

          • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

            Our good friends at The Nightlight just opened their doors. I highly suggest checking them out for further stroller/parenting/baby information!

            http://thenightlight.com

  • syracuse

    Please review tandem strollers (for different age kids) like the Joovy Caboose.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Did you see this section?

      Double stroller Competition

      “Like I said, there are a slew of double strollers that stack kids up one behind the other, or even in some cases, on top of each other. I’ve seen and handled enough of them to not like them. I think they are awkward for the kids, and feel a lot less steady than the side-by-side strollers. The same companies who make mediocre standard strollers make mediocre double strollers, and they all put one kid behind the other: the Graco Duo Glider, the Chicco Cortina Together, the Jeep Traveller Tandem.”

  • Hardtarget24

    How come this article was archived with no replacement?