The Best Stroller

Buying a stroller is just as complicated as buying a car. All you want to do is take your baby for a walk, but we're talking about hundreds of different ways that you can push your kid around the block. Most parents will own at least one stroller—most likely a full-size or lightweight stroller—and we think the Britax B-Agile is the best choice.

Last Updated: September 22, 2014
The NightLight spent the better part of seven months researching, testing, and talking to parents about strollers to find the best choice for most people. The $190 Britax B-Agile is on par with higher-end strollers without the matching price tag.
Expand Previous Updates
June 4, 2014: The adaptor that attaches an infant car seat to Phil and Ted's Explorer stroller is being recalled by the company due to reports of the plastic pieces cracking and breaking in freezing weather conditions. It applies to adaptors sold for the Explorer (and other Phil and Ted's models) between April 2013 and March 2014. The company recommends anyone who owns them to stop using them right away and contact the company for a replacement:  (855) 652-9019 or www.philandteds.com (click on “Support,” then “Upgrades and Recalls”).
January 30, 2014: Britax has announced a recall of B-Agile strollers manufactured between March 2011 and June 2013 after receiving reports of several injuries caused by the folding mechanism. The company says it can "partially amputate consumers' fingertips, break their fingers or cause severe lacerations, among other injuries, when they press the release button while pulling on the release strap." Britax says strollers produced since June 2013 do not have this problem. If you do own this stroller, you should check the production date on the frame near the right rear wheel and contact Britax right away if your stroller is affected. The company says it will send out a free kit to fix the folding mechanism.
June 11, 2013: We updated the Jogging Stroller section because one of the competitors to our top pick released a new model. We had originally discussed Baby Jogger's Summit XE, and recently the company came out with the Summit X3. However, while the newer model is on the market, it doesn't change our top pick for jogging strollers.

This guide was originally published by The NightLight. Please keep in mind that it was not produced by The Sweethome and may deviate on research and testing standards compared to our own. Our editorial team has vetted the content for quality, however, and believe that publishing it here offers value to our readership.

The Britax is designed well, incredibly lightweight, easy to store, and affordable to boot.
We spent the better part of seven months obsessing over baby strollers: reading about them, testing them, and stopping random parents on the street to talk about them. There are dozens of websites that discuss strollers, but many of them are vague and unreliable. For example, Good Housekeeping, an otherwise decent source of information for parents, picked the Bumbleride Indie as their favorite stroller … and that stroller was recalled in February 2013. Parenting’s stroller reviews show up high in a Google search, but there’s no date on the piece, and since the magazine folded in the summer of 2013, we know it’s not current.

*At the time of publishing, the price was $220.
The City Mini is really, really similar to our top pick so it's a good runner-up if you can't find the B-Agile. But it does have a rear axle encasing the braking system that can get in the way.
The biggest problem with most stroller reviews is the limited scope. With so many brands available, the “top 10″ lists that are prevalent at parenting sites are so varied that they feel arbitrary in their selections. Even some of the most reliable sources in our research—namely, Baby Gizmo and Consumer Reports—had gaps in their coverage, didn’t seem up-to-date, and didn’t do a great job of comparing strollers within categories. So it’s hard to decide on what the right ones are by online research alone.

Nothing beats seeing a stroller in person, and when you’re actively looking for strollers, you realize that you see them everywhere. I know that not every parent’s opinion is the same, but we stopped a lot of parents (well more than a hundred) over a five-month period to talk about their strollers and what they do and don’t like about them.

And then, of course, there’s the testing. There’s no way to test every single stroller out there because of the sheer number of brands and then models within those brands. After extensive web research, we focused in on the brands that were consistently referenced at the major websites to make sure we got to see them in person. These brands are:

  • Graco
  • Chicco
  • Phil and Ted’s
  • Jeep Explorer
  • Baby Jogger
  • Britax
  • Bumbleride
  • Jeep
  • Babyhome
  • Bugaboo
  • Joovy
  • First Years

The nice thing about these brands is their availability. It helps to see your stroller in person before you get it, and we were able to find these strollers at pretty commonplace stores like Babies ‘R’ Us  as well as specialized boutiques. (But you’re likely to score a better deal ordering your stroller online.)

Table of Contents

What to look for

Our extensive research led us to a few clear criteria for what makes a stroller great, which have a lot of overlap with Consumer Reports’ stroller buying guide. Every stroller we considered has the basics down: sturdy wheels, a decent canopy for shade protection, a five-point harness for strapping baby in, some type of storage for diaper bags, reliable brakes for locking the stroller in place, and the ability to recline so the baby can sit up or lean back. These are non-negotiables in today’s stroller world, although of course they can vary greatly.

For example, lighter strollers tend to have limited storage space, while heavier ones have a lot more room for tucking away bottles, snacks, and diapers. Storage is a bit of a tricky issue with a stroller—sometimes it feels easier to have too many things handy when you’re with your child rather than too few. But don’t forget, the more you weigh down your stroller with junk (do you really need five diapers for a one-hour walk?), the bulkier and clunkier the stroller itself becomes.

You need brakes for your stroller so that when you’re standing around you can lock the stroller in place and not worry about it rolling away on you.
Another example: brakes. You need brakes for your stroller so that when you’re standing around you can lock the stroller in place and not worry about it rolling away on you. This is one of the pivotal safety features of a stroller, and every stroller we reviewed has good brakes. However, some have separate brakes for each wheel, while others have a single brake for the entire stroller. Truth is, all of these work—the stroller would be immediately recalled if the brakes didn’t work—but I found that it’s much more convenient to have a single brake mechanism rather than two separate ones.

But points like storage size and single-wheel or all-wheel brakes are the nitpicky details. In all of our time with strollers, we found that the heart of the matter is in a few key issues. The three variables that will steer your decision the most are: 1) how easy it is to use (Is it heavy? Bulky? Hard to open and close?), 2) how well it maneuvers, and 3) how much it costs.

You need to be very realistic about your lifestyle to make sure you’re getting the right purchase. Someone who lives on the fifth floor of an apartment building in New York City with a very small elevator (or no elevator at all) is going to wanta different stroller than someone who lives at the end of a dirt road in Montana. The Babies ‘R’ Us stroller buying guide breaks down the various stroller categories this way:

  • Full-size stroller: These are usually the strollers with the most extra features, like snack and storage trays for baby and parent and a large, below-the-seat storage basket. Most accomodate car seats and recline fully. The con is that they can be heavy and bulky. If you rarely use a car and simply park your stroller in the hallway or garage, then the extra bulk may not bother you.
  • Lightweight (also called convenience) stroller: These are lighter and more compact than full-size strollers. And while they may be easier to lift, fold, and store, you lose some features, like parent and kid trays, and storage is usually tighter. Some of these also accommodate car seats. In general, we think lightweight strollers will work best for most parents because accessories like cup holders and trays can be added if you need them.
  • Convertible stroller: A hot trend in strollers is ones that can convert to face out toward the world or in toward the pusher. Some even start as flat bassinets.
  • Umbrella stroller: The lightest and most compact of all strollers, umbrella strollers are great for short outings and travel. Storage space is extremely limited, and most don’t hold car seats. Most parents keep an umbrella stroller on hand in addition to another more substantial stroller.
  • Travel system: A full-size or lightweight stroller that is sold with a car seat, sometimes for less than the cost of buying them separately.
  • Speciality strollers, such as joggers and doubles

For purposes of this guide, we looked and compared full-size and lightweight strollers. Umbrella strollers are, for the most part, inexpensive and designed the same. If you’re looking for one, we suggest looking for one with a large canopy, a reclining seat, and a high weight limit. (We love Chicco’s umbrella strollers:the Liteway ($140) and Liteway Plus ($180), which actually holds an infant seat, and at a bare minimum, the C6 Capri ($82).) Travel systems include many of the strollers we’ve reviewed here.

About those prices…

Cost is a tough issue with purchasing a stroller. There is a wide range of prices, from $100 all the way up through $1,000. This wide range creates a false sense of what a “mid-range” stroller should cost. You’d guess it’s probably somewhere in the middle, around $500 or so. But in truth, the overwhelming majority of strollers are less than $500, and in fact, most are closer to $300 and below. Once you go above $500, there are far fewer options available, and they tend to be closer to $750 and above.

To illustrate this: At the Babies ‘R’ Us website, there are more than 400 strollers available. Aside from umbrella strollers, the cheapest is the Graco LiteRider at $60; the most expensive is the Stokke Crusi at $1,250, which is the most expensive stroller you can purchase anywhere. With so many strollers and a $1,100 price range, we think the Babies ‘R’ Us online stroller store represents a good sampling of the market at large. When you look closer, you find that more than half of those strollers are $300 or less, so that’s what we’ll consider mid-range.

We looked into many of the cheapest options, and for the most part, they are not worth it. (Although the aforementioned Graco LiteRider is a top-seller that seems to be well-loved by reviewers at Amazon and Babies ‘R’ Us, but that mostly seems to be because of the price and not the durability, maneuverability, or usability). A stroller is something you will use with your baby almost every day, and the cheap strollers feel, well, cheap, even though they technically cover all your basic needs.

It’s definitely worth spending a little extra money to get something that is right for you rather than just good enough.
Instead, we’re focusing mostly on “mid-range” strollers, meaning those that are above $100 and below $500—and again, most are actually in the neighborhood of $300. There are many excellent strollers in this price range, which should come as a relief to those who don’t want to spend a thousand bucks to get something that will work for your family. But again, don’t cop out and go thrifty either, especially if you see yourself spending a lot of time strollering. It’s definitely worth spending a little extra money to get something that is right for you rather than just good enough.

Of course, that raises the question of just how much extra money makes sense. With this in mind, we also checked out the luxury strollers, mostly out of curiosity, to see if the extras that come with a luxury stroller merit a price tag that is three, four, or even five times what you’d pay for an excellent mid-range stroller. The extras tend to focus on materials or amenities that cater to the pusher, rather than the pushee, with things like cup holders, luxe fabrics, places to store your keys, beefier warranties, or even a USB charger on one model. For the most part, we’ve found that these are neat, but you can live without them.

Our overall pick

The Britax is designed well, incredibly lightweight, easy to store, and affordable to boot.
Full-size and lightweight strollers can range in price from $50 to more than $1,000, but all of them accomplish the basic purpose of getting your baby from point A to point B. The Britax B-Agile is our pick for best stroller in this category because it’s aesthetically on par with a high-end stroller, incredibly lightweight and easy to carry around, and a great deal at only $190—hundreds less than what you would pay for strollers that are not noticeably better in quality.

The Britax B-Agile gets a lot of love from reviewers. It was one of the top sellers for strollers on Diapers.com, which is pretty impressive since Diapers.com is one of the premiere parent shopping websites. Baby Gizmo, which has reviewed a grand total of 93 strollers (holy crap!), crowned the B-Agile as one its top picks, displacing the otherwise popular City Mini by Baby Jogger. As they put it, “the B-Agile is similar to our beloved City Mini but has a few improved features that makes it even better.” (See video review here.)

It only weighs 16.5 pounds, while most full-size strollers weigh more than 20 pounds. And when you take the baby out of the stroller, there’s a handle in the seat that you pull and the stroller folds. No twisting of handles or levers to pull. Just push the safety button the side, grab the handle, lift, and go. Hollie Schultz of Baby Gizmo told me, “the one-handed fold is one of the easiest on the market.” Many standard strollers require the use of two arms to fold the stroller—with the B-Agile, it’s clearly a one-arm operation. This is a big deal, because it frees you up to carry baby with your other arm. If you need to load the stroller in the car, bring it up the stairs, or store it in a closet, it’s hard to downplay how handy this seemingly simple feature becomes. It also stands on its own when you fold it, which not all strollers can do. Of course, the B-Agile is not the only stroller that is light and folds easily, but I found it to be the best in this regard.

Looking beyond weight and foldability, the B-Agile does very well compared to the competition. Its wheels are arranged in a triangular pattern, and the front wheel (which is actually two wheels side-by-side) pivots to allow for a tight turning radius. In general, we’ve found that three-wheeled strollers can handle tighter corners much more easily than four-wheeled strollers. (And who doesn’t like a good turning radius?) Also, it has a two-year warranty which (like all strollers’) covers damage in the stroller itself but not anything that might be caused by use.

The wheels on the B-Agile are hard rubber tires that can handle flat surfaces really well and even do decently on gravel, especially if you lock the front wheel to keep it from swiveling. Still, you’re not going to go off-roading with this stroller. Some users say they jog with it, but the manufacturer says it’s not designed for that.

The seat is wide (Schultz called it “huge” and said the stroller works great all the way up to preschool age and beyond) and the cushioning is soft and doesn’t feel cheap—especially compared to Graco and Chicco strollers, which are popular budget brands that use materials that feel very synthetic and plasticky. The canopy for shade coverage is large, and you can purchase an attachment to make the stroller work with most major car seat brands. Other major selling points: The recline is “infinite,” meaning you can adjust it to any position; the buckles are secure; and, while there’s a one-foot braking system, there’s no rear axle in the way for those with long strides to kick.

The handle is not adjustable, though other strollers allow you to raise or lower the handle so taller people don’t have to hunch over to push…
It’s not perfect; no stroller is. The handle is not adjustable, though other strollers allow you to raise or lower the handle so taller people don’t have to hunch over to push. But the B-Agile’s handle is high enough that it should accommodate most parents. Some people also aren’t fond of the foam handle covering.

There’s no tray for parent or baby, however there is a zipper storage pocket on the back of the seat with room for parent necessities. The B-Agile also has a smaller-than-average below-seat storage basket. You can cram a diaper bag in, but not much more. At this price, you only get the basic stroller, and any accessories—like trays —you’ll pay extra for.

You can also purchase the B-Agile as part of a travel system that includes the Chaperone or B-Safe infant car seat, which can work out to a pretty good deal.

For full disclosure, in January 2014, Britax announced a recall of B-Agile strollers manufactured between March 2011 and June 2013 after receiving reports of several injuries caused by the folding mechanism. The company says it can “partially amputate consumers’ fingertips, break their fingers or cause severe lacerations, among other injuries, when they press the release button while pulling on the release strap.” Britax says strollers produced since June 2013 do not have this problem. If you do own this stroller, you should check the production date on the frame near the right rear wheel and contact Britax right away if your stroller is affected. The company says it will send out a free kit to fix the folding mechanism.

Also greats

*At the time of publishing, the price was $220.
The City Mini is really, really similar to our top pick so it's a good runner-up if you can't find the B-Agile. But it does have a rear axle encasing the braking system that can get in the way.
The strengths of the B-Agile serve to highlight the many drawbacks of the competition, with one exception. The City Mini by Baby Jogger is without a doubt the most obvious competitor of the B-Agile, and it’s an excellent stroller. There are entire forums on parenting discussion sites like BabyCenter and The Bump that try to figure out the differences between the B-Agile and the 2012 City Mini, and we have to say, they are negligible.The B-Agile is slightly lighter (16.5 lbs. compared to 16.8 lbs.) and narrower; the folding mechanism on both is almost identical; the two strollers even look similar. We’ve held these two strollers up next to each other and have read every single item of description for them, and the only thing we can find is that the Baby Jogger City Mini has a rear axle encasing the braking system that some say can get in the way. And some reviewers think the City Mini fabrics are more durable.

The competition

There were other lightweight/convenience strollers that stood out, just not as much as the Britax B-Agile and Baby Jogger City Mini. Here they are:

  • Graco FastAction Fold Jogger Click Connect ($170) – Highly rated at Amazon and Babies ‘R’ Us, this three-wheeler weighs 21.5 pounds (almost 5 pounds more than B-Agile) and reviews consistently point out the stroller’s heft and bulk.
  • Chicco Cortina ($180) – Another top seller, the full-size Cortina packs even more pounds—23 of them to be exact, and the opening to the storage basket is pretty small. Many parents love Chicco’s Key Fit infant car seats and buy this stroller as part of a travel system, keeping the car seat and swapping the the stroller down the road for something else.
  • Babyhome Emotion ($299) – Sure it’s super stylish, lightweight (13 pounds!), narrow, easy to fold, and equipped with a rain shield and a bug net, but the canopy is small and fixed, the harness requires rethreading, and the fold requires two hands. Oh, and it’s $300.
  • Joovy Scooter ($150, for older model; $300 for newer model) – The older model is well-reviewed, but not everyone is enamored with the Y-shaped handlebars, the tough fold, and the color options (Greenie is downright neon!). The new model switches to a more standard-shaped handlebar, but at $300, the only thing you’re really getting that’s slightly better than the B-Agile is a huge below-seat storage bin and a bumper bar.

What about more expensive strollers?

While $1,000 strollers can easily be considered way too expensive, many parents think that if they want to splurge on their kid, splurge on the stroller. Think about it: If you use your stroller every day, a $365 stroller only costs you a buck a day to use for the first year. That’s not too much.

We’ve spent a lot of time looking at strollers that are expensive, but not ridiculous—$300 to $600—and there are unquestionably many great strollers in this price range. Strollers that any of us would love to have. But with each stroller, we found ourselves asking the same question: Are the differences in quality between this stroller and the B-Agile worth twice the cost? Because if we’re paying twice the cost, we want something twice as good, not something that is hardly any better. Because let’s not forget, a $365 stroller might cost you a buck a day to use, but the B-Agile only costs you 50 cents each day.

Strollers that are twice the cost of the B-Agile are definitely good strollers. But they’re not twice the quality of a B-Agile, they don’t have twice the features, and they aren’t twice as easy to use in an urban or suburban environment. I understand the urge to spend up for your kid, but a few hundred dollars more than the B-Agile is not getting you a huge upgrade. It’s a minor upgrade, if even an upgrade at all. You might gain one feature, but you’ll lose by getting a stroller that’s bulkier or less easy to fold. And besides, there are expensive strollers that are noticeably worse than the B-Agile, like the Inglesina Avio Stroller, which is all looks and no functionality. Its bright, flashy colors and sleek design are clearly meant to attract attention, but the thing is clunky to fold and very difficult to put together in the first place. Not at all designed for a parent whose hands are full with a child, diaper bag, car keys, and groceries. But it does come with a pretty hilarious product description: “Unparalleled, made-in-Italy smoothness and effortless thrust, even after long use.” Funny, but I’m not paying $424 for it.

The B-Agile by Britax is the best all-around standard stroller because it is a top performer in functionality and quality and costs much less than any stroller of a similar caliber.

To send this guide via email, fill out the fields below:
Message Sent!
Oops! Please try again
Send

Sources

  1. Top Strollers, Consumer Reports
  2. Stroller Buying Guide, Consumer Reports, November 2013
  3. Hollie Shultz, Review: Britax B-Agile Stroller, Baby Gizmo, April 28, 2011
  4. Strollers Recalled by Britax Due to Partial Fingertip Amputation Hazard, Consumer Product Safety Commission, January 2014
  • Heidi Ballek

    This article needs an update on the jogging stroller section as Baby Jogger released a new Summit X3 which is a little narrower at 25.5 inches (see specs at http://www.babyjogger.com/summitx3-sngl-dtl.aspx). In my opinion, now with the narrower width only 2.5 in wider than the BOB combined with the awesome one-handed fold and the better canopy, the Baby Jogger trumps the BOB.

    • Mark Lukach

      Thanks for pointing this out Heidi. I’ve gone back and updated the section on jogging strollers to reflect the X3, and not the XE. You make some great points: the X3 looks like a really fantastic stroller, and since it’s gotten more narrow, it’s edging in on the BOB Revolution SE. But in my opinion. the BOB is still the clear top pick because of the price…almost $100 cheaper than the X3. I don’t think the differences are substantial enough to merit spending so much more than the BOB. And let’s not forget, the BOB is still widely considered the best on the market.

      This being said, I’m going to keep my eye on the X3 to see if the price comes down, and also to look for experts who do side-by-side comparisons of the two. In fact, I’m curious about the longevity of the X3. It’s so new that there are few reviews who have had it for more than a month or two, and the value of a stroller is really in how is lasts. I imagine it’s probably pretty good, but it’d be nice to hear that from users who have had it for more than a few months. (One of the Amazon reviewers of the X3 mentioned she hadn’t even used the stroller outside yet!)

      Either way, thanks for pointing out the new model.

      • Heidi Ballek

        Great points, Mark. The price difference IS important. We parents are blessed to have so many good options today.

  • scotyew

    As a parent of twins who knows many other parents of twins, you should really look at the Baby Jogger City Select as a doubles option. We’ve used this double stroller for over a year now and love it.

    You said that, “I can’t imagine the nightmare it would be to have an overly complicated double stroller, while trying to also wrangle two kids.” and you’re right. Part of that nightmare is dealing with a stroller that is difficult to handle and pack away.

    The maneuverability of a double wide vs. a tandem stroller is not something to gloss over. People who live in the city or even just parents that need to hit the grocery store will be greatly inconvenienced by a double wide stroller. The City Select with the doubles option basically has the footprint of the singles option. The seats are flippable so your children can see each other or both facing you, or in the usual outward facing mode. The City Select also has attachment points so that it can adapt from infancy through toddlerhood. Our three year old twins still love sitting in the stroller when we’re doing lots of walking at the zoo, etc..

    Not everyone has a mini van either. The City Select can fit into the back of a tiny car like our Honda Fit with room to spare for a couple grocery bags. It folds up extremely quickly and compactly. I have yet to find a single double wide stroller that fits as compactly into the back of our compact car.

    Give the Baby Jogger City Select a look. At the very least it should be put up as an excellent option for a tandem stroller.

    • alan71

      We have twin two year olds and have used the City Mini Double exclusively for them. It is easy to get on and off the London Underground trains and anywhere you can get a wheelchair you can get it. It’s not quite as wide as you first think and the fact that it turns right around on the spot makes it easy to get around the shops. I think the side-by-side is better than the tandem since it turns in less than its own length and it is suitable from birth since both seat fold nearly flat (you don’t have to buy a bassinet) – with most tandems only one seat folds flat enough for a newborn.

  • Katie

    Don’t sleep on umbrella strollers! I get that they might not be as useful in a less urban environment, but I live in Brooklyn and our umbrella stroller IS our only stroller. My son is ten months old now and I am still in love with our Chicco C6 http://www.amazon.com/Chicco-Capri-Lightweight-Stroller-Tangerine/dp/B000FFS9VM/ref=sr_1_1?s=baby-products&srs=2587176011&ie=UTF8&qid=1371434357&sr=1-1
    It is narrow for fitting on city sidewalks and grocery store aisles, folds up small to fit in our closet-less apartment, and is lightweight for bringing up steps and the front stoop. We don’t have a car so we don’t need to worry about a carseat. I hang my diaper bag rom the handles and rarely use the storage it has other than to store reusable grocery bags, but I can tell you it fits two beer growlers nicely. My only complaint is that it is too short for my (6’3″) husband. He doesn’t like to push it because he has to bend over. I am 5’4″ and it’s perfect for me. My son is admittedly large, but I started using it at 3 months. They may not be practical for everyone, but umbrella strollers have their place!

  • schwa23

    Just wanted to suggest the Valco Snap stroller. Super lightweight (13 lbs), narrow enough to fit through a subway turnstile (we travelled to Japan with it), but big enough to be comfortable for our 3 year-old. We’ve got a Bob as well but this has become our go-to stroller for heading around town, as well as traveling.

  • John Miller

    I know you’re only covering jogging strollers that do double duty, but for anyone who wants a real jogging-only stroller, I spent a lot of time comparing various fixed-front-wheel models, and chose the BOB Ironman, and I would never look back. It’s awesome, and the 16″ tires ensure it can go anywhere smoothly.

  • ANONYMOUS2323

    What’s the best umbrella stroller?

  • numeric

    We were going to get the Britax stroller but at the time they had the most toxins. It looks as though Britax has committed themselves to removing the toxins.

    Anyway, this article seems kind of strange because we pick our stroller based on the safest and easiest to use car seat and then just went with the stroller that worked with it. I guess if you lived it a city without a car this would make more sense to me.

  • idlejam

    One relatively new addition that may be worth consideration is the BOB
    motion stroller. BOB is (now) owned by Britax, and has some notable
    similarities to the B-Agile. In my opinion there are both pros and cons
    between the B-Agile and the Motion, many similarities, and some things
    that are just different such as it being 4 wheeled instead of 3.

    Similarities:

    – Identical, fabulous folding mechanism (with self-standing while folded)
    – Single brake lever
    – Same infinite recline seat which goes almost horizontal
    – Same car seat compatibility

    Cons

    – Motion is more expensive at $300 (MSRP $350)
    – Motion is heavier at 23 lbs

    Pros

    – Air-filled tires for a very smooth ride & more robust suspension
    – Higher weight capacity by 20 lbs, up to 76 lbs
    – Adjustable height handle

  • http://www.lazyprogrammers.com Eugene Kim

    My sister bought us the B-Agile when my baby was born, but we didn’t use it for the infant carseat days as ours didn’t fit. We just bought a second-hand Gracco carseat stroller frame, which was perfect for us as it was winter and we hardly ever had her out in a stroller for long. The B-Agile worked for us, and is everything the author wrote above, feels like a premium product, very light, easy to handle and use, and I highly recommend it.

    That being said, I’d like to mention a couple of points that we didn’t quite like.
    1. Reclining. The reclining seat is easily controlled, and goes down to a lay-down position, perfect for naps. The problem is that even at the most upright position, it’s still fairly reclined, so my daughter didn’t like it after she started walking at around 10~11 mo. She would constantly have to lean forward. This was the main reason we stopped using the B-Agile as our go-to stroller (she’s now two).

    2. Folding position. The folding motion on this stroller is extremely easy but it comes at a cost. The folding handle is on the seat and you pull up so it folds in half. That puts the surfaces that the baby sits in on the outside, while the basket folds inside. If you have a clean trunk, it’s usually ok, but just keep in mind that the surfaces the baby actually touches will be the first to get dirty. When flying, we checked it at the gate, and it came back filthy.

    3. The handle. The foam piece on the handle is comfortable, yet delicate. It had a sizable rip in the middle within the first week of use. When you fold it in half, the handle is the part that sticks out the most, and so if you have to set it down on the asphalt for a bit, the handle is what touches the ground. The folding action is so easy that it’s easy for the handle to hit the ground pretty hard.

    4. Cargo Basket. It’s pretty much non-existant. Don’t count on putting anything under there.

    After my daughter started walking, we moved to a Maclaren Volo and we love it. Plenty of space, nice upright position, super light, handles well, easy to fold, great for just going to the mall which makes up most of our trips.

    • Firesparx

      We own a B-Agile and I agree with all of Eugene’s points above. I love the stroller and I am very happy with the purchase. One plus to add is that the fabric cleans up really easily (a point not mentioned in the article). My biggest gripe about the stroller though is that you have to add a child tray and an parent’s organizer. Since the child tray is not part of the original stroller it doesn’t fold up; it sticks out from the folded stroller making it a good10-12″ longer. As such, the stroller doesn’t fit in my crossover trunk and I have to remove the tray. Annoying! But all the other perks and pluses to the stroller make it worthwhile.

  • JK

    It’s a shame that you would pick this copy-cat stroller over the true innovator, the City Mini. Your only differentiator between the two seems to be price – why not give credit where credit is due and promote the OG / innovator in this category?

    • Elizabeth

      In my opinion the B-Agile is superior to the City Mini and they are definitely not the same, especially if you are tall. I am 5’9″ and my husband is over six feet and we both could not walk comfortably without kicking the bar between the front wheels on the City Mini. I also think it is important to note that Britax car seats fit directly into the stroller, not to mention is is an extremely safe car seat, and you have to buy attachments to use a car seat with the City Mini.

  • NameIsDavid

    In discussing Uppababy, you missed the excellent Cruze, which has a huge basket and a reversible seat while still accepting an optional bassinet (which, unlike with the Vista, isn’t forced on you if you don’t need it). Also, Babyhome is a brand that is often missed but has some excellent design chops. After reviewing all of the same strollers discussed above, ad nauseum and with many repeat visits to Buy Buy Baby (far superior to Babies ‘R’ Us, IMHO), I ended up ordering the Babyhome Emotion. It is of similar weight to the B-Agile/City Mini but has a large basket, an adjustable footrest, a standing fold and unique urethane wheels that glide extremely smoothly. It’s also has a unique look. Normally $299 but Diapers.com has some discontinued colors for $239.

  • Jen Michaels

    Had an interesting discussion today about the Britax B-Agile and B-Ready series with a knowledgeable employee at Buy Buy Baby (which, as someone else already pointed out, is far superior to Babies ‘R Us. The employees at Buy Buy Baby actually know what they’re talking about.) The Buy Buy Baby employee, like Mark, initially said “Yeah, that’s a great cheaper alternative to the City Mini, especially for kids 6 months and up.” When we asked her about how it performs with an infant carrier attached, she said that because of the way the B-Agile and B-Ready balance an infant carrier over their frame, there’s a lot of stress put on the front wheel when you attach an infant carrier. With that extra weight over the front wheel, which is already sorta small, that neato front-wheel-lock mechanism on the B-Agile will tend to wear out pretty fast–especially if you’re using the B-Agile with an infant carrier on rough terrain, which causes the wheel to swivel a lot, which contributes to wear in the lock mechanism even if that wheel isn’t locked. The employee said that you can buy time with that wheel by mostly keeping the wheel locked and “popping a wheelie” to turn the stroller to the left or right, but obviously that’s a hassle. We asked her how likely this lock-blowout thing was, and she showed us a Britax B-Ready floor model that had fallen victim to this very problem–just from being a floor model. And since the blown-out part is the brake/lock mechanism, not the wheel itself, ordering a replacement wheel wouldn’t help you. The bigger front wheel on the City Mini, and the slightly different balance point for an infant carrier, make it unlikely that you’d blow out the wheel/lock on the City Mini by using an infant carrier.

    Obviously if you are starting with a front-facing child at 6+ months, this issue is basically moot point. So the B-Agile is still the better deal for a whole lotta folks. Just wanted to share this employee’s experience in hopes that other folks who field-tested the B-Agile with an infant carrier will weigh in.

  • davesandell

    How does the Britax B-Agile double stroller stack up against the City Mini? It’s significantly cheaper than the City Mini right now.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      You mean the City Mini double vs the Britax B-Agile double?

  • rozlemieux

    We *almost* went with the B-Agile after reading this review, but went to Babies ‘R Us to compare it in person to the City Mini GT and ended up going with the latter. It was about $100 more than the B-Agile via Amazon, open box. The reason we went with the more expensive stroller: we like to jog around the neighborhood as well as go on long (8+ mile) walks on the weekends. The BOB is too big and unwieldy for our narrow potholed and popular sidewalks. In fact, we just sold our BOB Ironman on Craigslist to downgrade to something more agile. The B-Agile and City Mini were *too* lightweight — the wheels just aren’t up to jogging. But the City Mini GT is a perfect in between. Light, narrow and agile enough for our neighborhood and long walks. Just hearty enough for light jogging.

  • Hank Mardukas

    For anyone who lives in a climate that gets appreciable amounts of snow, the tires on these strollers make a *huge* difference. Here in Minnesota, the hard plastic tires, such as those on the Britax B-Agile and the Baby Jogger City Mini get clogged with snow and slush, which makes pushing them almost impossible. We went with the Baby Jogger City Mini GT for its larger, rubber tires. We’re able to push through snow and slush with no problem.

  • smileman

    On the jogging stroller recommendation, since this was last written quite a few reviews have come in around the web for the Summit X3 and it’s generally considered to be superior to the BOB.

    Also, the price has come down, only $299 on Amazon, or approximately $60 less than the BOB.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      We go in depth here on the X3

      “Jogger stroller competition – UPDATED

      Just like our top standard stroller pick, the Revolution SE has a very similar competitor also made by Baby Jogger, the Summit X3. The Summit X3 is a brand-spanking-new stroller from Baby Jogger, featuring a few improvements over their classic jogging stroller, the Summit XC. The Summit X3 is a great stroller and has some very appealing features. It has a 3-wheel suspension, rather than only the back two. Unlike the Revolution SE, it can be folded with one hand, which is pretty nice for ease of use. And its canopy has vents for allowing fresh air in.”

      • smileman

        In the updated section you say “The BOB is $336; the Baby Jogger Summit X3 is $430. This $100 difference is what makes the BOB our obvious favorite.”

        my point in the previous comment is that this is no longer accurate and that the X3 is actually now cheaper than the Bob

        • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

          That is inaccurate. The X3 is $430. I think you’re referring to the old 2013 version we link to. This is the new one:

          http://www.amazon.com/Baby-Jogger-Summit-Single-Stroller/dp/B00G3XRCEU/?tag=thesweethome-20

          Hope this helps!

          • smileman

            Thanks, didn’t realize that the $299 X3 was older.

            Still, from what I can tell, the differences between the older $299 Summit X3 and the newer $430 one aren’t that significant. Here is what one site describes as the differences:

            -The frame is narrower and sleeker for better performance. (But both appear to be 25.5 inches in width)
            -The front wheel swivel lock is now mounted on the handlebar for parent’s convenience.
            -The sun canopy has been upgraded for better coverage, ventilation flaps, and two peekaboo windows.
            -Taller seatback with more headroom for older children up to 75 pounds
            -For 2014, the harness has been re-designed, and the new Baby Jogger logo added to the stroller (I’ve seen some comments complaining about the new harness design)

            There are also now a lot of reviews for the older Summit on many professional review sites and Amazon stating that they prefer the older Summit X3 to the Bob. So long as you can live with the 2.5″ addition width, give that it is $60 cheaper than the Bob it could be a better choice.

          • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

            Our good friends at The Nightlight just opened their doors. I highly suggest checking them out for further stroller/parenting/baby information!

            http://thenightlight.com

  • syracuse

    Please review tandem strollers (for different age kids) like the Joovy Caboose.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Did you see this section?

      Double stroller Competition

      “Like I said, there are a slew of double strollers that stack kids up one behind the other, or even in some cases, on top of each other. I’ve seen and handled enough of them to not like them. I think they are awkward for the kids, and feel a lot less steady than the side-by-side strollers. The same companies who make mediocre standard strollers make mediocre double strollers, and they all put one kid behind the other: the Graco Duo Glider, the Chicco Cortina Together, the Jeep Traveller Tandem.”

      • mika

        There is no Double section (anymore?)

  • Hardtarget24

    How come this article was archived with no replacement?

  • mika

    What about double strollers?

  • leebier

    I just wanted to warn you folks off of BabyGizmo (mentioned above as a source of gear reviews). I too was suckered in by their gear coverage, but their anti-science attitude around other non-gear reviews has me severely questioning their judgment.

    For two examples, see this thread:
    https://twitter.com/leebier/status/505421829696389121

    I will also note that on their anti-fluoride article, there had been a critical comment posted that was deleted. The positive comment remains. Their editorial judgement is questionable as well.

    To be clear, everyone can make mistakes, but this appears to be a consistent bent at BabyGizmo. The science behind fluoride and knowing what does and does not contain gluten is the same science that engineers use in designing safe strollers and carseats. If BabyGizmo does not understand that, they are not to be trusted.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Thanks. Forwarded this along!

  • http://jimmypautz.com Jimmy Pautz

    I’ll be blunt, this new Nightlight version is really hard to read and I’m not impressed with the selection of strollers tested. They didn’t test some of the Amazon best selling brands.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Which ones didn’t they test? Interested in knowing what they could have looked at. Also, what don’t you like about the format? Any and all input is appreciated!

      • http://jimmypautz.com Jimmy Pautz

        BabyTrend strollers are very popular (and we have one). They also didn’t seem to look at anything cheaper than $150. Price should definitely be a factor when deciding the “Best” of something and there are good strollers cheaper than $150.

        As for the format, the writing style wasn’t concise like most of the Sweethome/Wirecutter reviews, but very wordy and difficult to trudge through. With two young kids, I’m interested in the topic, but it was hard to stay interested in the review.

        • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

          Thank you for the feedback! I’ve gone ahead and forwarded it along to our team & The Nightlight as well.

  • Pete Keller

    Did the original article reference other types of strollers like jogging or doubles? The older comments seem that it did, but I can’t find in the current edit of the article.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      This was a completely redone piece from our friends at The Nightlight. Our old guide mentioned a few different versions, but its been archived.

  • http://www.lazyprogrammers.com Eugene Kim

    Is there a reason a lot of the previous comments were removed? I thought my notes from personal use were quite relevant to the recommended product.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      I see it just fine. Not seeing it? This is a piece from The Nightlight that was imported over, and while the pick is still here, the guide is completely redone. Let me know if you still don’t see it and I’ll see if there’s a glitch.

      http://thesweethome.com/reviews/the-best-stroller/#comment-1026829687

      • http://www.lazyprogrammers.com Eugene Kim

        whoa, weird, sorry about that. I’m not sure why it disappeared for me for a bit there.