The Best Robot Vacuum

The best robot vacuum for most people is the $400 iRobot Roomba 650. It’s easy to use, works on bare floors and carpets alike, and leaves out the unnecessary features that drive up the price on most bots. And when something goes wrong (an inevitability over time) a fully modular and easy-to-service design means you can repair rather than replace.

Last Updated: November 23, 2015
We’re hard at work testing new robots, but here’s a quick update ahead of the holiday shopping season. For most people, we think the iRobot Roomba 650 ($320-400) is still the smart-money pick. It works well in almost any home (exception: black floors) and has an excellent track record for effective and reliable performance.
We still need to do some testing, but user reviews suggest that Neato Botvac 80 or D80 ($450) might be a better alternative if your home has a mostly open, uncluttered floor plan, and you have long-haired pets and/or thick carpets. If you have a large home (each floor is larger than 1,000 sq. ft., give or take), it can be worthwhile to get one of the high-end, latest-generation, app-connected bots. We need to spend more time testing them, but so far, the Neato Botvac Connected ($700) looks like a better bet than the iRobot Roomba 980. It's a close fight though! The Neato Connected has fewer navigational hiccups, and seems to cover more ground more efficiently. It's a polished version of older Neato bots, with a much, much longer battery life. The Roomba 980 ($900) adds a camera to help it map big spaces, but the new system is a little wonky.
Expand Most Recent Updates
September 3, 2015: We added a link to CNET's lukewarm review of the Neato D Series. While it still ranks high enough for us to probably include it in our testing this October we were hoping for a machine that improved on some of the limitations of its predecessors, namely noise. However, Neato has also announced a new Wi-Fi-enabled robot vac ($700) called the Neato Botvac Connected, which comes with mobile app connectivity for remote scheduling and operation. It also adds in a new, quieter Eco mode for less noisy operation. We’re hoping to begin testing this October.
May 28, 2015: Neato has just announced an updated line of its floor cleaning robots called the Botvac D Series. The D series will use Neato’s room mapping laser guidance but it comes with a new, sleeker design and an improved brush system, which will reportedly allow it to clean deeper on a wider variety of surfaces while also reducing overall noise on hard surfaces like wood and tile. We welcome that change, since the Neato XV produced a surprising amount of noise for such a small device in our tests last year. The D Series will be available in July and we’ll keep an eye out for the first reviews.
January 6, 2015: Samsung's Powerbot VR9000 is coming to the US this year, though based on its pricing in Europe, we expect it to be a little too expensive for most people. A company called Ecovacs Robotics also showed off a few robot vacs at CES this week. Some of their lower-end models have been available (though hard to find) in the US since mid-2014. The few reviews that exist aren't favorable—navigation seems to be particularly bad, though the self-emptying feature is a positive touch. We'll take a closer look at their high-end models and update when we know more.
November 26, 2014: We incorrectly stated that the Roomba 650 would work with the company's "virtual lighthouses." In fact, they only work with higher-end Roomba models; we apologize for the error.
September 4, 2014: Dyson's first robot vacuum is finally official; see What to Look Forward to for details and why we're skeptical. Miele's first robot vac has finally gotten reviewed and you can definitely pass on it; see the Competition section.
May 16, 2014: After using our pick for more than five months, we updated the guide with our long-term test notes. We also added dismissals of the new Neato BotVac line and Moneual's mop/vacuum combos, the Rydis H67 and H68--both Moneuals received very poor reviews for their ability to navigate and handle pet hair. The Miele Scout RX1 is an upcoming robot vac we're very interested in; see the What to Look Forward to section for more.
April 30, 2014: Linked to an early review of Moneual's Rydis H68, which doesn't look very promising. But we'll keep an eye out for other tests too.
April 24, 2014: The first reviews of the new BotVac vacuums from Neato are out. We linked to CNET's review of the top-of-the-line model, the $600 BotVac 85, below.

If you schedule Roomba to run a few times per week, you won’t have to think very often about keeping your floors tidy. While it won’t fully replace your regular vacuum, it will prolong the time you can go between manual cleanings with very little effort and oversight on your part. Indeed, almost every household can benefit from a robot vacuum—it’s just a matter of whether or not you’re willing to pay for it.

No carpets or pets? Check out the $200 iRobot Braava 320 floor cleaner instead.

How do I know? Over the course of 22 hours researching the category, I looked at about 50 different robotic vacuums and floor cleaners. Based on conversations with editors from CNET and, moderators at the forums, and an allergy expert, as well as info from tons of expert and user ratings, I whittled the list down to a few semifinalists. Then, I lived with the cream of the crop for a few weeks to get a feel for how those actually work.

Will a robot work in my house?

Yep, bots will be helpful in most houses and apartments. They work well on medium and short-pile carpets, as well as pretty much any bare flooring surface. They can steer around furniture (and often under it, since most bots only need about three inches of clearance) and are pretty good at stopping themselves from getting tangled.

Most of the reasonably-priced models we considered have a maximum cleaning area of 1,200 square feet, though 800 square feet seems to be more typical, judging by user reviews. The real limit has more to do with how much debris is on the ground and the openness of the floor plan. If you have lots of pets and lots of furniture, temper your expectations for how much ground a bot is able to clean in a cycle. Pet hair can stuff up the bin, leaving no room to pick up other debris that cycle. If the bot is constantly bumping into chairs and tables, it spends more time doing corrective steering and less time actually cleaning. Every so often, the bot will find a way to get stuck between chair legs or under the couch. But even with the hairiest dogs and most cluttered layout, robots will still reliably clean a few hundred square feet.

What if your house is bigger than the maximum cleaning area? The bots don’t remember your floor plan once a session is finished, so there’s no disadvantage to just picking it up and starting a cycle in a different room or floor. The good models all have ledge sensors, so you shouldn’t have to worry about your bot tumbling down the stairs.

Anyone who already vacuums a few days per week out of necessity, discipline, or enjoyment doesn’t need one…
So who aren’t bots good for? Anyone who already vacuums a few days per week out of necessity, discipline, or enjoyment doesn’t need one—it won’t clean anything that a full-size vacuum (even a cheap one) can’t already clean better. If you expect a $400 robot to clean as deeply and consistently as a $400 vacuum used properly, you’re going to be disappointed.

That said, an hour of automated cleaning does more than 10 minutes of half-assed manual vacuuming.

“[Robots] are best at what I’d call maintenance cleaning,” says Sal Cangeloso, who has reviewed most of the iRobot Roomba vacuums for over the past five years. “The human does the big clean, say once a month, and then you have the robot clean a few times a week. This’ll keep your place clean and make it so that a few missed corners and stuck-on grime aren’t a big deal.”

Certain layouts and flooring types aren’t particularly friendly to robots, either. They aren’t equipped to handle elevation changes of more than a couple centimeters, so tall thresholds might as well be walls. High-pile carpets are problematic—the modest suction and small agitator can’t really clean anything that thick, and the bot bodies are heavy enough to sink into the soft surface. Area rugs with tassels around the edges are a tangling hazard, if the strings are longer than two or three inches. Most bots come with at least one “virtual wall,” so if you have a room that will pose problems, you can block it off and let the robot run free everywhere else.

How we picked

The original Roomba came out nearly 12 years ago, but very few serious competitors have emerged since then. iRobot, the company behind Roomba vacs and Braava floor cleaners, is still the heavy hitter. Their bots are consistently well-reviewed by experts and owners alike. And who could forget DJ Roomba?

The only noteworthy challenger is Neato, whose robovacs have earned praise for powerful cleaning capabilities and a straightforward navigation system. That’s really it. All of the other brands we investigated are poorly reviewed, prohibitively expensive, or both.

Since it was pretty easy to settle on iRobot and Neato as the two focal points, it was just a matter of settling on the right models within each lineup.

Since these are vacuums, cleaning capability was the top priority. In a group comparison, CNET gave 4-star “excellent” ratings to the Roomba 790 and Neato XV Signature Pro. (That’s while the LG Hom-bot Square only managed a “Very Good” and the Infinuvo CleanMate QQ5 received just an “OK.”) These are both high-end models, but most cheaper Roomba and Neato bots have the same vacuum components (motors and agitators) as their more-expensive siblings. So we set our sights on cheaper models that clean just as well as the expensive bots CNET tested.

“The scheduling feature is critical—it lets you take full advantage of the robot’s autonomy.”
The other must-have feature is scheduling. “The scheduling feature is critical—it lets you take full advantage of the robot’s autonomy,” Cangeloso says. “I think the key is the set-it-and-forget-it approach, then you just need to empty the bin once a week and then [occasionally] find the bot when it gets stuck in the bathroom.“ Every Neato bot, and all but the cheapest Roomba model (the 630) have scheduling.

Reasonably smart navigation is also important, but there’s no way to spot this on a spec sheet. A bot should have the wits to cover all the nooks and crannies of a room, avoid tangling itself on cords, and should get back to its dock under its own power (most of the time, at least). In the Roomba line, the cheapest bots have the same nav systems as the halo models, so the extra cash doesn’t buy you a smarter robot. With Neato, there’s no indication on any spec sheets or marketing literature that the bots use different navigation. But CNET noticed a difference in their testing, finding that the newer models seem to be “smarter” about navigating through crowded, cramped areas—even when the firmware on the old models had been updated. More on that later, if you’re interested. But the short version is that the differences will not make a big difference for most people.

The Neato (left) and Roomba (right) at their docking stations.

The Neato (left) and Roomba (right) at their docking stations.

We settled on two semifinalists: The $400 iRobot Roomba 650 and the $335 Neato XV-21. Their vacuum parts are the same as on more expensive models. They have scheduling. Their nav systems are effective. And they also leave out most of the feature-bloat: extra dirt sensors, full-bin indicators, and touchscreen controls—stuff that isn’t likely to be missed.

We didn’t design any specific tests for this, really, because there’s already good data at CNET about how these bots clean in controlled settings. The real advantage to be gained from going hands-on is seeing what it’s like to live with both of them, so I brought them into my home for a few weeks, and used them like any bot owner would use them.

Our pick

iRobot Roomba 650
The Roomba 650 is pleasant to live with and cleans better and more quietly than the competition.

*At the time of publishing, the price was $380.

The iRobot Roomba 650 is our pick for the best robot vacuum. It gets floors cleaner more quietly than the competition, and it’s generally more pleasant to live with. Also, its modular design makes maintenance and repairs easy.

Let’s start with the Roomba 650’s obvious advantage: it simply cleans better in real-world situations than the Neato XV-21. In the first few cleaning sessions, both bots would return with full dustbins—they were cleaning areas that I’d missed or been to lazy to clean properly with a big vacuum. But after a few weeks of regularly scheduled cleanups, the Roomba 650 still managed to find enough cat hair and debris on my floor to fill itself, whereas the Neato XV-21 started coming back with less and less in its bin.

A beauty shot of the Roomba 650.

CNET has some useful test data on how the Roomba and Neato each perform on floors versus carpets, and with different kinds of particles like rice, pet hair, and sawdust. In those controlled tests, they’re pretty closely matched, though the Neato emerged with a slight advantage because it was able to get much more pet hair out of the carpeting.

In practice, though, the Roomba has the advantage because its iAdapt navigation system lets it pass over the same spots a few times per cleaning session. It looks like it’s scooting around randomly, coasting until it bumps into a chair or a wall or a cabinet, then changing course and repeating until it gets tangled or lost or the battery gets low. But there’s a method to the madness. Cangeloso says that it’s “the smartest” of all bots. Rich Brown at CNET says that watching it work is “like a party.” Watch it long enough, and it’s clear that there’s some sort of logic, even if it’s difficult to discern. According to the Roomba manual, it starts a cycle in a sort of Fibonacci spiral to establish the boundaries of a room, and then works from there—once it figures out where the walls are, and then runs a specific cleaning pattern to clear dust away from the edges with its spinning side brush.

So if the Roomba it doesn’t quite get all of the grit out of the carpet on the first pass, it’ll pick up a little more by the third and fourth time it goes over the same spot. (Cycles last for a little over an hour before the Roomba starts heading back to the dock to recharge—that is, of course, when it doesn’t get stuck somewhere else first). Sometimes, it’ll just miss a spot in a cleaning session—I found one or two dust bunnies leftover after some cycles. But after it runs three or four times per week, it’ll have covered all the ground in its cleaning area.

The Roomba 650, stuffed full of dust bunnies.

Some owners feel very strongly that the Neato uses a better nav system. It uses lasers to map out a room before it starts cleaning, and then follows a very obvious, deliberate, linear pattern. It passes over each spot once (maybe twice), and doesn’t miss many patches.

But in our real-world experience in an apartment with a mix of flooring and carpeting, the Roomba just picks up more stuff than the Neato. It may not look very elegant if you watch it work, but for most floor plans, its persistence yields better results than Neato’s logic.

…the Roomba’s more manageable whirring and seemingly nonsensical cleaning patterns almost make it feel like a pet of sorts.
The benefits of the Roomba’s approach extend beyond mere cleaning, it’s just an overall more pleasant machine to live with. Whereas the Neato’s linear approach is obnoxiously loud and appears cold and calculated in its movements, the Roomba’s more-manageable whirring and seemingly nonsensical cleaning patterns almost make it feel like a pet. Ry Crist at CNET sums it up well: “The Neato feels a bit soulless. This might sound like an obtuse criticism, but for a machine that relies on artificial intelligence, subtle, playful touches of personality can really go a long way—something that iRobot seems to have mastered in the Roomba after several generations of development.”

People who own it love it—at, it has a user rating of 4.6 stars, the highest of any bot that we scoped out and unusually high for any product on Amazon. Cangeloso told us that, as the cheapest Roomba with scheduling, it’s the bot that he’d buy if he wanted to replace his old 500-series model. CNET praised the Roomba line’s cleaning prowess, too: Reviewer Katie Pilkington wrote that it “was the top performer on hardwood in all but one of our tests and a close second in most of the carpet tests.”

The Roomba's UI is nice and simple.

The Roomba’s UI is nice and simple.

The UI on the Roomba 650 is super simple. Setting the clock and scheduling cleanings is a lot like using an old alarm clock; there’s nothing wrong with that (though, c’mon, it’s a little silly that iRobot couldn’t include some sort of touchscreen on a $400 gadget). Owners can schedule one cleaning per day, and the calendar repeats itself every week. If you want to clean outside of the schedule, you can just press the “clean” button on the bot and send it on its way. It has a spot-cleaning feature for concentrated messes, though I usually just found it easier to use a dustbuster.

Day-to-day maintenance is a lot like any other bagless vacuum or dustbuster, too. Just pop out the dustbin and empty it into the garbage about once per week (or more often if you have pets). Shake the filter off when it looks dirty, wash it when it looks super-dirty. And keep an eye out for tangles around the rollers, like you should with any vacuum. Long human hair was a bigger problem than cat hair in my testing—any strands longer than a few inches will probably get wrapped up. (Check out CNET’s review of the Roomba 880 for an idea of how long-haired dogs can seriously jam things up.)

Easy repairs also help Roombas stand out from other bots. It’s a modular system, basically, so one broken component doesn’t ruin the whole bot.  “The key is that almost all the parts are easy to replace,” Cangeloso says. “Since I’ve had [my 500-series Roomba], I’ve replaced almost all the parts, because it’s cheap, easy, and frankly fun to do so. The most expensive part is $45 but a lot of the time these things will be under warranty.”

Flaws but not dealbreakers

So we already know that the Roomba vacuum’s performance falls way short of any upright or canister cleaner, though uprights and canisters don’t have robots attached to them. Its nav system is imperfect, though it’s better than any other solutions. And it collects a serious amount of hair around its bearings and spinning parts, enough to cause a breakdown if left uncleaned. But it only takes a few minutes every couple of weeks to keep things moving freely.


The Roomba’s brush is easy to take out and keep clean, allowing you to prevent buildups.

While the Roomba’s adventurous, free-wheeling nav system helps it pick up more debris than the Neato, it also leads the bot to getting stuck, tangled, or lost more often. I ran the Roomba 10 times over the course of three weeks, and it only once did it successfully make it back to its dock under its own power. When I’d find the bot, it had usually sucked up the end of a rogue USB cable or charger and shut itself down to prevent damaging itself or the cord. One time, it ate the edge of a light area rug and couldn’t free itself (though it was able to steer up onto the rest of my area rugs pretty easily). On another occasion, it somehow found a laundry bag stashed under my bed and got the drawstring tangled around the side brush. The really mystifying one was when it wedged itself between the legs of my office chair and couldn’t get out.

…if you have clothes or cords lying on the floor or dangling around in range of the Roomba, there could be more problems…
That said, not everyone’s experience with the Roomba will be the same as mine. Wirecutter editor-in-chief Jacqui Cheng reports her older-generation Roomba has found its way back to the base roughly 75% of the time over the last 10 years. That’s quite the disparity in experiences, and we attribute that to differences in habits, as well as the layout of your home. It probably goes without saying that if you have clothes or cords lying on the floor or dangling around in range of the Roomba, there could be more problems than if those things weren’t there. Some of us pick up after ourselves regularly while others let things languish until cleaning day; some stash their cables out of sight while others have extension cords running across their living rooms. So depending on your own habits, your mileage may vary.

Whatever the case, even the neatest people may still find the Roomba getting stuck occasionally. It’s safe to assume you’ll probably have to track the bot down and bring it back to its dock at least some of the time.

Other little gripes: The 650 comes with one virtual wall, which is an invisible wall that I sometimes used to keep the bot out of the bathroom. It’s handy. But it runs on 2 C batteries, not included. Who keeps C batteries? The good news is that the wall should run for 6 months per pair of batteries. The bot will also run right into your pet’s food and water bowls, probably pushing them around, definitely spilling water. And while the 650 isn’t as loud as other bots, the sound still gets obnoxious after a few minutes.

On the whole, the Roomba was worth having around—even actually kind of fun, like an extra pet that spent most of its time cleaning up after the other pet. The bleep-bloops are pleasant and friendly. I got a kick out of watching it steer its way into trouble and then (usually) finding its way out. It won’t clean everything, and needs some attention to work properly, but it’s as good as a bot gets at this price.

Long-term test notes

After nearly five months of regular usage, it’s been smooth sailing with the Roomba 650. Every other week, I need to cut tangled hairs away from the rollers, as I would with any vacuum. Once every four to six weeks or so, I pop out anything that spins, including the rollers, the front wheel, and the side brush, to clear the bunched-up cat hair. The original filter is still good after a few rounds of washing. It still runs great, even after some serious work while my cat shed her winter coat.

During the initial testing period, the Roomba had some trouble finding its way back to its dock. Now, the Roomba ends up back at its dock almost every time—but it’s not because the bot learned my floor plan, it’s because I learned how to clear the way for the bot.It’s become second nature to spend two minutes folding up the area rugs that give it trouble, and to stash the charging cables that it can choke on. I also moved the dock to a more central location, so that the bot is more likely to pass by the docking signal at the end of its cleaning cycle.

The bot’s body does look a bit banged up after five months of service, with some shallow scrapes around the sides from when it bonks into walls and chair legs. If I had nicer furniture, I might put a foam bumper around the bot’s bumper to prevent impact marks and smudges. But I’ve dinged up my apartment more with upright vacuums than anything that this bot has done.

No carpets or pets?

Also Great
iRobot Braava 320 Floor Mopping Robot
If you have hardwood and tile floors with no carpet or pets running around, you’ll be better served with this vacuum.
If your home is rug and animal free, the $200 iRobot Braava 320 is your best bet. It’s the same machine as the Evolution Mint (our previous pick for robot floor cleaner), but iRobot purchased the parent company last year and rebadged the bot. This isn’t a vacuum; it’s more like an automatic Swiffer. It comes with two washable cloths—one meant to be moistened, the other meant to be used dry—and will work on any bare, smooth surface. The navigation system is much more methodical than the Roomba’s, and it’s almost silent when it’s working. It can cover about the same area as a Roomba on a charge—up to 800 square feet—but works on a room-to-room basis, rather than a “hey let’s just bounce around until my battery dies” basis.

This isn’t a vacuum—more like an automatic Swiffer.
Best of all, it costs $200, way less than any decent robot vacuum. There’s a higher-end model, the 380t, that has longer battery life and can remoisten its cloth in the middle of a cycle for $300. Not a bad pick, but I think it’s safer to recommend the cheaper one for starters, and I didn’t find any complaints about the 320’s ability to hold moisture in the first place.

It won’t get the stains that are stuck on the hardest (like dried tomato sauce), and I don’t think it’s a great pick for people with several hairy pets, because hair covers the surface of the dry cloth pretty quickly. The navigation cube also runs on C batteries (included, thankfully). You can also use disposable cloths rather than the washable ones, but the cost adds up quickly and it’s just a wasteful practice.

The only other possible rival is iRobot’s Scooba line. These robot moppers are better at cleaning grime than the Braava bots, but they’re more expensive, too, and some owners have complained about their Scoobas breaking down after about a year. The Scooba 450 was announced at CES in January 2014—it could be a breath of fresh air for the line when it comes out this spring, but it’s $600, which is just way too much to pay for any single-purpose robot.

Why no step up or step down?

Below the sweet spot ($350-400), robots lose at least one of the three important features—vacuuming prowess, scheduling, or smart navigation. Check out CNET’s Infinuvo QQ5 review for an example of what you can expect from a cheap, white-label bot.

Spend more than $400, and you’re just paying for feature-bloat. Toss-ins like touch-sensitive controls, full-bin indicators, extra dirt sensors, and Wi-Fi scheduling do very little to improve the cleaning capabilities or user experience but drive the price up by hundreds of dollars.

Higher-quality filters get dangled out there as an upgrade. But we couldn’t find any mainstream robots that have earned a reputable air-quality certification. A representative from the Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America (AAFA) told us that there’s no way that any bot would earn their badge. A tighter HEPA filter could provide some incremental benefit but won’t magically transform a bot into a sealed, clean-air system.

Some of the extra navigation equipment can come in handy. iRobot’s “virtual lighthouses,” for instance, can help a Roomba distinguish individual rooms from each other. The bot will concentrate on thoroughly cleaning, say, your entire living room before wandering into the kitchen. The lighthouses are only compatible with higher-end Roomba models (we made an error earlier when we said that they worked with the 650), and only come bundled with the very top-end Roomba 880 ($700). Is it a game changer? Probably not. But it might help your bot perform more predictably in large homes with lots of rooms. We think you’ll be fine without a lighthouse, but if you want to try, the best value is to go with the Roomba 770 ($500), and add a lighthouse a la carte ($40).

In general, bots are more expensive than they should be. Mike Fortuna, a forum moderator at says, “my biggest disappointment since becoming a robotic vacuum user in 2005 is the prices have gone way up but the robots have not improved to match the price increase.” Our semifinalists are midrange robots, but cost more than most full-size vacuum cleaners (including some very good ones). Cangeloso says that the current generation of robovacs isn’t really an improvement over the older generation. You just get new designs and price tags that keep creeping upward. He notes in his Roomba 650 review that the bot’s firmware is an improvement over what the 500 series came with, but there aren’t many significant hardware changes. Then again, if it’s been more than a decade since the original robot vacuum and nobody has found a significantly better design, maybe the value of a proven bot counts for more than it seems.

Why not Neato?

Our other semifinalist, the Neato XV-21, is still a pretty solid robot. Owners generally like it, giving it an average of 4.2 stars on  It earned a “very good” rating at CNET, where reviewer Ry Crist says that it’s “a very effective floor cleaner, earning impressive scores in all of our tests.” (Since our review, Neato has released a new product line called the BotVac, but we still would not choose any of them over the Roomba 650. Most of our problems with the XV-21 will also apply to the new models, with some exceptions.)

The laser-guided navigation system makes the Neato run in a linear back-and-forth pattern, prevents it from running into obstacles or getting stuck in tight quarters, and usually gets the bot to return back to its dock at the end of every session—it got back to its dock 8 out of 10 times over a few weeks of testing. It seems smarter than Roomba’s bump’n’run approach.

It’s alarmingly loud to the point that I didn’t feel welcome in my own home while it was running.
But in the real world, the XV-21 just doesn’t pick up as much stuff as the Roomba 650 in the long run, and isn’t really any easier to use or live with. The linear nav pattern doesn’t do multiple passes over the same area, the battery life is shorter, replacement batteries are more expensive and needs to be replaced more often, it’s difficult to repair, and it’s alarmingly loud to the point that I didn’t feel welcome in my own home while it was running. You will ultimately be more annoyed by the Neato’s loudness and inferior cleaning ability than the Roomba’s more frequent need for attention.

On its first few runs, the Neato picked up as much hair and debris as the Roomba 650, but diminishing returns started to kick in after about a week—for two reasons, I believe.

First, it only makes one pass, maybe two, over any spot on the floor during a cleaning session, whereas the Roomba makes three or four (or sometimes none, but it works out better for the Roomba over multiple cycles). Second, the Neato’s nav system is more hesitant to let the bot get into corners or under furniture, which is where debris tends to pile up. It also has no spinning side brush to kick debris away from walls. So, sure, it’ll usually cover most of the visible flooring in your house in a single run and get back to its base. But it’s still leaving a bunch of stuff behind in the hardest-to-reach places.

The UI of the Neato is slightly more modern in looks, but not in function.

The interface on the XV-21 is slightly more modern than the Roomba, in that the monochromatic LCD looks like it was recycled from a clickwheel iPod rather than a Memorex clock radio. But functionally, the scheduling and cleaning options aren’t any easier or harder to use than the Roomba. Rather than battery-powered “virtual walls,” the XV-21 comes with magnetic strips that the Neato will avoid crossing—it’s a more elegant solution, and one that doesn’t require stupid C batteries.

In terms of maintenance, the Neato doesn’t need quite as much dirty-hands upkeep—hair doesn’t jam up its moving parts as readily as the Roomba’s, so you really just need to empty the bin, clean the filter, and cut away the odd tangle from the roller bar with scissors. But if a major component breaks down, the Neato isn’t as easy to fix. It isn’t designed to be opened up as easily as the Roomba—there are a handful of screws to get out and a few tiny parts that can fall out and roll away. It’s also harder to pop the rollers in and out, since you’ll need to work around the drive belt (the Roomba uses a belt-less direct-drive system for its rollers).

The Neato is also not as easy to keep clean and clog-free.

The Neato also has a tougher time driving up onto area rugs than the Roomba—during every session, the XV-21 bunched up at least one rug, whereas the 650 only struggled with one specific rug. The XV-21 doesn’t have as much clearance to get under furniture as the 650, and some users have complained that Neato bots aren’t aware of their own height (and in situations where they get wedged, the users say the bots can’t comprehend how to steer out of the situation).

A short battery life—either per cleaning session, or the lifespan of the battery—is a common complaint with Neato bots. I found that the XV-21 usually cleaned for about 25 minutes at a time before returning to its station, charging for 45 minutes, and then returning to the spot where it left off. Other owners complained of the batteries no longer holding a charge after 8 to 12 months (and replacements are $80, which is steep). Based on this customer service email shared on, it looks like Neato recognized that the 8-month lifespan was a problem, and updated the firmware on their bots to favor shorter cleaning times (25 to 40 minutes is normal) per session so that the battery functions properly over more months. Since the bot does a good job of charging itself and picking up where it left off in the middle of a session, I don’t see a problem with that.

Lastly, the Neato just doesn’t give off the warm-fuzzies that the Roomba does. It’s not there to blend in with its surroundings and become a part of your home. It’s a machine that’s there to do a job, period. Noise is the chief offender—vacuums are loud, but the the XV-21 is deafening for such a small machine, especially compared to the Roomba.

There’s one compelling case for picking a Neato over a Roomba. If your floors are carpeted wall-to-wall and there isn’t too much furniture to steer around, the Neato might be the way to go. It’s still loud and slow, and you’re still going to have problems with the battery. But the vacuum is most effective when its on carpet, and when it can drive in straight lines.

How we tested

CNET provides great data about several bots’ raw cleaning power. The goal of our testing was to see how those numbers translated into the real world, and to get a general idea of what it’s like to live with these things.

The procedure was basically to schedule each bot to go clean a few times per week…
The procedure was basically to schedule each bot to go clean a few times per week—mainly times when I’d be away, but also occasionally while I was at home, trying to work or relax. I was looking for patterns: areas where the bots would get lost or stuck, anything that posed a significant tangling hazard, areas or types of debris that the bots frequently missed, the amount of debris the bots managed to pick up, how often they’d make it back to the dock without help—that kind of thing.

I also wanted to get a feel for maintenance: how often do these things need to be opened up and cleaned to work properly, and how much work goes into the upkeep?

I’ve covered most of the specifics above, but I learned a few general lessons that apply to most (if not all) current bots. For starters, they don’t “learn” your house. They just go and run their nav systems every single time you send them out for a cleaning, so there’s no disadvantage to just picking them up and moving them to a different starting point.

Also, as nice as it is to think that the bots should just work on their own, you might have to prep your home before cleanings. Both bots had trouble with one of the light area rugs in my apartment, so I just got in the habit of folding them up and putting them away while the bot ran. Same thing with cords; the robots tangled on charger cables pretty easily (especially the Roomba), so I got used to stowing them away.

The competition

As for the dozens of robot vacuums that didn’t make our semifinals…

Miele, maker of the best high-end vacuums, released a robot of their own in 2014. Rather than lasers or bumpers, the RX1 Scout navigates using a camera system. User ratings are generally favorable, but some reviewers wrote that any Roomba they’ve owned was a better cleaner than the Miele. Other commenters have speculated that the scout is just a re-badged Yujin iClebo Arte, which got a mediocre score at CNET.

Neato has a product line called BotVac, with four new models. The BotVac 80 is the best one, because it’s the cheaper of the two models that use a two-brush agitator system. That said, we’d still recommend the Roomba 650 over any of these updated Neato bots. We checked out CNET’s review of the BotVac 85, some early Amazon user reviews, and a deeply informative thread at the excellent Robot Reviews forums  Based on all that we’ve read, not enough has changed to fix most of the shortcomings of the XV series.

The navigation system in the BotVac is supposed to be smarter, but the early adopters at Robot Reviews can’t spot the difference. The dimensions are almost identical, so the same obstacles will block it the same way as before. It’s just as loud as its predecessors, and still gets caught on the edges of some rugs. And even though Neato (finally) added a sweeping side brush to the BotVacs, it still doesn’t clean edges as well as Roomba bots do.

And then there’s the issue of price. One of the most popular pro-Neato arguments was that even the best model was cheaper than the low-end Roomba. That’s no longer the case, as the mid-range BotVac 80 now costs $500. Prices are creeping upward without major improvements, the same way they have with Roomba models—it’s not a great trend for anybody.

There are some incremental upgrades in the BotVacs. CNET’s testing found that they clean bare floors better than the XV models did, probably because the brushes are wider and can collect debris from a larger area under the bot. The dustbin is bigger, the filter allows more airflow, and there are some mechanical tweaks that should prevent debris from building up around gears and bearings. And ah yes, the display has leaped ahead a few years—it’s now like the color LCD from a late-decade iPod nano.

We still think that the Roomba 650 is the better pick for almost everyone. And if we were to recommend a Neato, we’d still go with the XV-21, because it’s cheaper.

The Neato XV-11 and XV-12 are the oldest Neato models, and use an agitator design that (as far as we can tell, though there is no independent hard data on this) doesn’t clean as well. They’re also more expensive than the XV-21 at the moment, so no dice.

The XV Signature uses the same agitator as the XV-11/12 and costs more than either, so that’s also a no-go.

The XV Signature Pro is very similar to the XV-21. It ditches the Super Nintendo motif in exchange for a black finish, and comes with two “high performance” filters rather than a single standard filter. It also costs an extra $100 (at the time of writing), which is too much to pay for a boring paint job and a spare part. Both models use the same motor and agitator, so cleaning performance should be nearly identical. CNET found that the Sig Pro, which is a newer model than the XV-21, has a more confident navigation system—even controlling for firmware. If anything, the XV-21’s less-polished mapping tech helps it clean more, since it’s more likely to get a little bit lost, then re-tread ground that it’s already covered. We did some non-scientific side-by-side testing of our own, and did notice a difference, but it’s nothing that changes our main conclusion, which is that you should buy a Roomba.

Neato recently announced the XV Essential, which is yet another iteration on the XV-21 and Signature Pro models. It costs more than the XV-21, and will only be available at Walmart. Pass.

The Roomba 630 is basically the same bot as the 650, but has no scheduling feature, which is a dealbreaker for us.

I strongly considered including the Roomba 760 as a semifinalist, but decided against it. It’s one step up from the 650, only costs an extra $50, and has some features that looked like they might’ve been useful—particularly the Persistent Pass, which will allegedly spend more time cleaning areas that are extra-dirty. I couldn’t find any solid evidence that this is actually useful, though. My hunch is that, since bots aren’t especially great cleaners anyway, it’s like spending time trying to break ice with a snow shovel—it’ll get the job done eventually, but you should just use the right tool (an icebreaker) instead. It also has a remote control, which could be useful, and an extra virtual wall. The dust bin can hold slightly more dirt, too, because it uses a smaller filter than the 600 series. It’s not a bad bot at all, but I don’t think there’s anything here that really makes it a better buy. (The previous Sweethome guide to robot vacs suggested that it might be better for pet owners because of the HEPA filter, but that just didn’t turn out to be true.)

The rest of the 700 series (770, 780, and the now-discontinued 790) are what Cangeloso calls “luxury” robots. Each successive model adds one or two extra features, like a full-bin indicator for the 770, and touch-sensitive controls for the 780, that do nothing to change the cleaning ability. Each tier costs $100 more than the one before it, which isn’t worth it.

The new Roomba 880 is a better vacuum than any of the older Roombas. According to CNET’s testing, the new brush design brings its carpet-cleaning performance up to par with the XV Signature Pro without losing the floor-cleaning prowess of other Roomba models. That said, it’s $700, which is way too much money for something that still is nowhere near as effective as a $200 upright vacuum. As Cangeloso put it in his review of the 880 for, “What’s interesting about the Roomba 800 series is that while it’s a much better vacuum than the previous models, it’s not a better robot.” If iRobot puts this cleaning head in its cheaper models down the line, they’ll be onto something.

Moneual makes a few hybrid bots that both mop and vacuum, the Rydis H67 and Rydis H68 Pro. They aren’t very good. CNET absolutely trashed the H67, rating it “Poor” with just 1.5 out of 5 stars. It constantly jammed itself on pet hair and had trouble navigating itself back onto its dock from just a few inches away. The Wall Street Journal doesn’t like the H68 Pro, either. Their testing procedures were sub-par, but even so, the Moneual failed to match the performance of either the competing Roomba or Neato models.

LG and Samsung each make robot vacs, but neither company has made a splash in the US. As of early January 2015, LG no longer lists any bots on their American website. And when they were available, they weren’t cheap—$800 for the Hom-bot 3.0, and about $640 for the Hom-bot Square, which Cnet said in a review was that it’s “a tough purchase to justify.” Samsung bots were absent from American stores in 2014, but they’ve announced that their new Powerbot VR9000 will be available in the US in spring 2015. It’s been out in a few other territories since fall 2014, and while there aren’t many reviews yet, we do know that it tends to cost something like $1,200 USD after conversion. Now that’s tough to justify.

The forum moderators from that I chatted with spoke highly of the Kärcher RC3000, available only as an import from Germany with a hefty price tag. “The Karcher robot is renowned for being reliable but costs over $1,000. It seems to clean well but that price point is prohibitive,” says Mike Fortuna, one of the forum mods.

CNET reviewed the top-end CleanMate QQ5 from Infinuvo, saying that it “failed to deliver acceptable performance” and adding that “between its hard-to-clean rollers, thoughtless dust bin design, and, in certain circumstances, its inability to clean, we wouldn’t recommend this vacuum at any price.”

CNET also reviewed the newer Infinuvo, the Hovo 510 model. It’s a huge improvement over the QQ5, and keeps pace with Roomba and Neato in most cleaning situations. But it just cannot handle any amount of pet hair—in CNET’s test, no measurable amount made it past the brush roller into the dust bin. If Infinuvo can fix that fatal flaw next time around, it could be a contender—and for much less than any Roomba or Neato model.

Dirt Devil has a couple of low-end models with middling user reviews and nothing from the experts.

Then there are unknown, unproven brands like iTouchless and Techko—there were no reliable expert reviews for these models, and the few user reviews weren’t impressive enough to warrant a closer look.

What to look forward to

A company called Ecovacs Robotics showed off a few models at CES 2015. Some of their lower-end models have been available (though hard to find) in the US since mid-2014. The few reviews that exist aren’t favorable—navigation seems to be particularly bad, though the self-emptying feature is a positive touch. We’ll take a closer look at their high-end models and update when we know more.

After 14 years of not-so-secret development, Dyson is set to release the 360 Eye robot vac. The marquee feature is a nav system powered by a 360-degree panoramic camera and infrared sensors. It also uses the same powerful motor as some of its older stick and hand vacs. No word on pricing yet, nor a specific date for availability in North America, though it will be sometime in 2015.

At a glance, the vacuum components look great. The brush roller extends the entire width of the bot, which should help it clean up against walls and corners more effectively than a typical bot with a side brush. The V2 motor, also used in the DC34 and DC44 vacuums, is quite powerful.

The nav system looks promising, but this is Dyson’s first bot, so we’re skeptical. Yes, it’s the first bot to use a 360-degree camera. But plenty of others use optical systems—with mixed results. Optical bots work great with open floor plans, but stumble when they have to steer around a bunch of furniture. The Dyson bot is also pretty tall, which means that it won’t get under your couch, and might struggle near any cabinets that jut out a few inches. What’s more, the Dyson’s battery life is only 20 minutes (Roomba is more like 90, by comparison), so the bot will have to be as quick and agile as a human with a DC44 stick vac to clean a space in one pass. Maybe Dyson nailed it, but we’ll need to see it in action—and in any case, we’re pretty confident this will cost a lot more than the entry-level Roomba that we recommend, so there’s no sense in waiting around for this thing.

In mid-2015, Neato added to its line of floor cleaning robots with the Botvac D Series. The D series uses Neato’s standard room mapping laser guidance but comes with a new, sleeker design and an improved brush system, which Neato says will allow it to clean deeper on a wider variety of surfaces while also reducing overall noise on hard surfaces like wood and tile. We’d welcome that change, since the Neato XV produced a surprising amount of noise for such a small device in our tests last year.

However, CNET reviewed the Neato D series and weren’t overly impressed with the results, writing, “A fresh coat of paint does not a new Neato make.” During their testing, the D85 did a bit better collecting pet hair than the original Botvac 85 but underperformed when picking up rice and sand. It wasn’t noticeably quieter either. All that being said, the Neato D Series still ranks among the top robotic vacuums that CNET’s tested.

At the end of August 2015, Neato revealed another new bot called the Neato Botvac Connected. This model is different than all other Neato vacs in that it comes paired with a smartphone app that lets you schedule cleaning runs, start the robot remotely, or navigate the robot around your house from afar — presumably to do a quick spot clean or to freak out your pets when you’re away. Ever wary of the noise their older models produced, Neato has also added additional cleaning modes to this model: Turbo and Eco. Turbo appears to mean full power mode while Eco mode promises to be quiet enough to not disturb you while you’re having a conversation or watching television. The Wi-Fi-enabled Neato will sell for $700. We’re hoping to begin our testing of both of these models in October and will have more updates for you then.

iRobot unveiled a new Roomba model in September, 2015. Despite its $900 price tag, CNET gave the Roomba 980 relatively weak reviews, commenting that the new Roomba didn’t perform as well as the $200 cheaper Roomba 880. The poor review is surprising, the Roomba 980 comes with a new lithium ion battery, a camera, wifi connectivity and a host of new sensors. All of which should have added up to strong robot vacuum model. However, according to CNET, the new Roomba does maintain iRobot’s reputation for excellent usability.

Wrapping it up

After a few weeks of living with these cleaning bots bouncing around my apartment, I can say for sure that they have made it cleaner, mostly by just doing a diligent job of keeping cat hair off the floor, and finding crumbs brushed away in places I’d never bother to hit with a manual vacuum. They actually do save time and are pretty fun to have around. And they sure as hell beat vacuuming by hand. If you ask us, the iRobot Roomba 650 is the one to buy due to its superior ability to pick up dirt, its more thorough cleaning patterns, its longer battery life when cleaning, and its modular nature that makes the device easy to fix when things go wrong. If you have lighter cleaning needs and don’t have carpets or pets, the iRobot Braava 320 is a more affordable option.

*At the time of publishing, the price was $380.

To send this guide via email, fill out the fields below:
Message Sent!
Oops! Please try again


  1. Sal Cangeloso,, Interview
  2. Mike Fortuna, Forum Moderator,

Originally published: February 5, 2014

We actively moderate the comments section to make it relevant and helpful for our readers, and to stay up to date with our latest picks. You can read our moderation policy FAQ here.