The Best Deals We Can Find

Because we think we can make a small difference by being picky, here are some great deals on solid pieces of gear.

Last Updated: April 17, 2015
Sadly, that blender deal has finally expired.
Expand Most Recent Updates
October 21, 2013: That Best Buy promotional deal finally expired, but Home Depot has a nice deal on a drill we like.
October 7, 2013: That pruner jumped back to normal price. Hope you grabbed it!
October 3, 2013: Got a nice deal on a pair of heavy duty pruners if you have any shrubs around.
October 2, 2013: Added a great all-encompassing 20% off promo code from Best Buy. You can use it online or in-store.
October 1, 2013: That Cuisinart Food Processor price drop already expired.
September 26, 2013: Patagonia's past season sale is back, and the Nano Puff Pullover is down to $84.
September 25, 2013: Added a great deal on the Braun Series 7 shaver system.
September 24, 2013: That great knife set jumped back up in price so I had to remove it.
September 17, 2013: Removed the Dyson vacuum deal, which jumped in price quite a bit over night.
September 11, 2013: Added a great deal on our favorite budget storage container.
September 6, 2013: Added a new deal on our favorite fan!
September 5, 2013: That army knife deal from eBay finally expired. So did our pillow deal from yesterday. However, I've added a new deal on the Dyson DC44 Animal vacuum.
September 4, 2013: Just added a new deal on pillows we really like but haven't told you about yet.
September 3, 2013: The deal on the Delta faucet expired. Will keep a look out for new deals.
August 26, 2013: Amazon is having a 15% off sale on Delta products right now, and that includes our favorite shower head.
August 20, 2013: Added a nice discount on our favorite programmable thermostat.
August 15, 2013: Added a past-gear sale from Patagonia.
August 13, 2013: Our air conditioner actually dropped a few more bucks recently.
August 12, 2013: The deals on our favorite grills expired.
August 8, 2013: Found a great low price on our favorite portable vacuum.
August 6, 2013: Today we've got some of the lowest deals ever on two of our favorite grills.
July 31, 2013: Just added a deal for 100 trash bags for $10.
July 26, 2013: Just added a new deal on a well-liked Cuisinart Food Processor.
July 25, 2013: I removed the Le Creuset deal as it is no longer available. I added a great drop on our favorite air conditioner and a great 30% off sale at Patagonia.
July 17, 2013: I removed a lot of deals that had expired, but I found the Le Creuset French Ovens at a great discount.
July 16, 2013: That Dyson deal expired, so I took it off.
July 15, 2013: I added a new deal for a Dyson personal space heater and fan.
July 14, 2013: Added two new deals, one for our favorite portable vacuum and one for a Victorinox Swiss Army Knife set.
July 11, 2013: I added a new deal for an ice cream maker and removed an old one for a Breville toaster oven.
July 9, 2013: I removed an expired deal for Kingsford charcoal briquettes.
July 8, 2013: I removed a deal for the Lodge Logic. See a great deal? Email me.
July 2, 2013: Removed a deal for KitchenAid Mixers and added a great deal for a refurbished Breville Smart Oven. See a great deal? Email me.
June 24, 2013: Removed an expired Home Depot deal for a Ryobi ONE+ drill/driver duo, and added a deal for the BOB Revolution SE.
June 20, 2013: I added two new deals, for a Cuisinart ice cream maker and a Metrokane Rabbit corkscrew.
June 19, 2013: I removed an expired Kiehl's 20%-off coupon.
June 14, 2013: I removed an expired discount for a Philips Norelco razor, and added a 20% off coupon for Kiehl's.
June 13, 2013: I removed an expired deal for a roadside car kit.
June 12, 2013: I added a Woot! deal for a roadside car kit.
June 11, 2013: Looks like Target's got Walmart beat this time: I removed the Walmart deal for a KitchenAid Classic Plus and added a new one from Target, where all KitchenAid's stand mixer lines are on discount.
June 10, 2013: I added a new deal for coffee-lovers: a free AeroPress coffee maker for new Tonx subscribers, through Fathers' Day.

We’ll always put the newest deals at the top of the page. We’ve also redesigned the deals page to be a more permanent addition to the site so you can now bookmark this page because the address won’t change like it used to. Follow us on Twitter at @homesweethome to see any updates we make throughout the day.

A note from the editor: The holiday season has come and gone and the deals were just as empty as we expected. According to our research, which involved most of the Wirecutter and Sweethome staff scanning listed “deals” every day throughout November and December, only 0.6% of the 66,000 deals we studied were worth posting here as a good piece of gear. The New York Times talked to us about how we find and screen deals before posting them on our sites; Our attitude is dictated by a general idea — if we wouldn’t buy it ourselves or tell our friends and family to do so, we won’t list it. If the price or the item itself is not good, we won’t list it. And just because the holidays are over doesn’t mean our attitude toward finding the best deals has changed. It’s actually easier to find the deals during the holidays, despite the larger number of scams, because that’s all anyone is talking about. For the rest of the year, when everyone else has moved on, we’re still digging deep to find only the best discounts worth talking about.

If you’re looking for deals on gadgets and technology, see our list over at The Wirecutter.

ThermoWorks Splash-Proof Super-Fast Thermapen British Racing Green

Street Price: $99 MSRP: $99 Deal Price: $82

The last sale saw that color get discontinued and never return, so the same will happen here. When it's gone, it's gone.

It’s important to note the color is “British Racing Green” because “Green” is not on sale. This price drop is match for the lowest ever. The previous deal was on the Brown color, which has since been discontinued. Looks like, much like that one, they’re trying to clear out the inventory on this color to discontinue it as well. There’s a mandatory $3 shipping fee I’ve included in the price.

The Thermapen is our step-up pick for the best instant-read thermometer. Basically the price is what kept this from being our main pick, but other than that it’s really fast (two seconds for a dead accurate reading), really sharp with a finely calibrated tip and in addition to all that the “LED screen features large, easily read numbers, the range of up to 572 degrees Fahrenheit is more than sufficient, and the casing relatively water and splash-proof.” Kevin Purdy said “the Thermapen is nearly universally beloved for its speed, accuracy, and design among those who can justify its nearly $100 price with a professional need or monthly rib roasts.”

The Thermapen has 4.9 stars based on 993 user reviews on Amazon. permalink

Kryptonite KryptoLok Series 2 Standard Bicycle U-Lock with 4-Foot Flex Cable

Street Price: $45 MSRP: $50 Deal Price: $30 with code LETSRIDE 

This deal matches a price I haven't seen since last year. Don't forget code LETSRIDE at checkout.

Just use the code LETSRIDE in your shopping cart to knock the price down to $30 with free shipping. This deal matches a couple of previous price drops from BuyDig on this bike lock, but the last deal was back in November so you might have missed it.

This is our favorite bike lock. Eric Hansen put in hours of research into these locks, including interviews with journalists, bikers and even bike thieves. He eventually picked the KryptoLok as the best lock and said he likes it because it’s “strong, light, easily transportable and comes with insurance you might actually use. Deployed correctly, it’ll keep you rolling for years to come and prevent any unnecessary debates with thick, tattooed ex-cons.”

On Amazon, the KryptoLok has 4.3 stars based on 1,112 user reviews. permalink

Ryobi 18-Volt One+ 4-piece Super Combo Kit

Street Price: $179 MSRP: $200 Deal Price: $129

This is a combo deal that includes a drill we really like and several great tools to go with it.

Home Depot is having a big spring event right now, and this kit is a part of that. It has been as low as $149 and $139 in the past, but I haven’t seen any evidence that it has gone lower than this. It’s a great price and comes with free shipping. You can get the drill itself plus 2 batteries at a regular price of $79, so the extra $50 covers all the other tools in the kit including a 5-1/2″ circular saw with blade, reciprocating saw with blade, and the flashlight.

The drill itself is one of our runner-up choices for the best drill. Doug Mahoney thought it was just a bit too much drill for the average homeowner, and it was more expensive than our main pick, but he said it “stood out in the power/battery test and is the recommended tool if you are heading in the direction of being a full-time do-it-yourselfer.” In the tests he’s talking about the Ryobi out-paced all the other drills he tested by driving and removing 28.5 TimberLOK screws on one battery charge (compared to 23 for the next highest).

The other thing he liked about the Ryobi is that it’s on the One+ system, which means the batteries it uses will work with any other Ryobi tools in the same system. And with this kit you get several other tools to use. I asked Harry Sawyers about this deal in particular, and this is what he told me straight from our conversation on it:

“Put it this way, if you’re already going to buy the drill, drop an extra $50–you’re never going to find a $25 circ saw or a $25 recip saw anywhere else. Sure, the build quality on the Ryobi recip saw isn’t what you’ll find on a 15-amp Milwaukee Super Sawzall, but that’s a $200+ tool. This will get through most things a homeowner needs to cut, especially if you have new, high-quality blades on it. (Guess what: Milwaukee’s Sawzall blades are great!)

The circular saw has the potential to be a perfectly capable tool. Like the recip saw, upgrading the blade on it will really make a difference. Start with a $14 5-1/2-inch Freud Diablo blade–one reviewer put it nicely: “Fits Ryobi cordless 18v saw, Transforms it from worthless to amazing.”

The flashlight, at this price, is practically free. You’ll probably never use it. But if you do, bonus!” permalink

74-Quart Watertight Tote

Street Price: $21 MSRP: $24 Deal Price: $17 in-store 

Shipping really makes this deal a chore, but if you happen to be near the store it's a great bargain.

The shipping is not free and not cheap, so if you want this deal you’ll have to find a The Container Store near you. They have quite a few locations, but they aren’t everywhere. Considering we just published our container article today and this bin didn’t quite make the cut because it wasn’t under $20, this is a pretty nice deal to see.

This is one of our alternatives for step-up pick for best container, and Gregory Han said “In our kiddie pool water test lab, the product lived up to its name—not a single drop of water got inside” and added that it had a lot of other small details working in its favor too: “its small molded feet and recessed channel along the convex top perimeter provide a non-slip connection between stacked units, the foam gasket adds an extra seal between the lid and bin, the comfortably curved ergonomic grips allow easy lifting, and a ridged pattern on the bottom creates traction to prevent the bin from sliding around.”

It’s hard to find a lot of user reviews for containers, but this tote has 3.6 stars based on 26 user reviews on Amazon. And it’s worth noting that all six of the one-star reviews were complaints about the shipping from the third-party selling it, not about the tote itself, which is why (along with an $80 price markup) we don’t recommend you buy yours there. permalink

More about our deal process: When I’m looking for deals, I start with deal-gathering sites like dealcatcher.com and dealdump.com, curating all the dozens of deals that come in each week to filter out the gems, and eliminate the deals that really aren’t doing anyone any good. It’s more than just putting time into sorting through lists; it’s also about finding the items that were probably worth buying before they were ever on sale because a deal isn’t really a deal if the product still isn’t very good. I run the deals by the senior writers at The Sweethome and check user and editorial reviews before checking with camelcamelcamel.com and other price tracking tools to see if the price will likely drop or if it has been lower in the past. In the end, I’m left with just a few really good deals. Fewer than many other sites would have youbelieve.
To send this guide via email, fill out the fields below:
Message Sent!
Oops! Please try again
Send

Originally published: April 14, 2015

  • Alexei S

    it seems the Delta deal is over… it shows at $159 on Amazon.

    • Matt Groener

      Look closely. I just bought it last night and the price is taken at checkout only.

  • mce

    The ‘less expensive but still great recommendation’ Snapware Total Solution glass food storage containers is on sale at Costco as of 9/5 for $23.99. This is $6 off the regular price and $21 off the Amazon price.

    • J.D. Levite

      So… I don’t see that. At least, not online. Did you see this in-store? If it was online could you provide a link?

      • mce

        It’s an in-store only deal. You can see the ad here: http://www.costco.com/warehouse-coupon-offers.html. It’s buried in about the 18th row on the far left.

        • J.D. Levite

          Thanks! Always appreciate the deal-finding help!

        • idlewild

          Do I need a Costco membership to buy these in store?

          • J.D. Levite

            Yah, that’s generally how Costco works. In fact, some don’t let you in unless you have your membership card (although this isn’t really enforced from what I’ve seen.)

          • Actionable_Mango

            A loophole to the membership requirement is to buy Costco Gift Cards. You can make purchases with those without a membership.

          • J.D. Levite

            Nice tip!

  • sygyzy

    Out of stock at Best Buy. The nearest 10 stores to me all have “unavailable” stock.

  • mce

    The Cuisinart Food Processor has dropped to $162 (from $179): http://amzn.to/19akr40

    • J.D. Levite

      Someone’s making a bid for my job I see… Just kidding. You can’t have it. We’re writing this one up, too, but like I’m putting in the write-up, it’s not the lowest price it’s ever been. I just think because it’s been around so long, you can make a case that it’s a decent deal because it’s one of the best prices it has been recently. But if you’re patient, you’re probably better off waiting a couple months for the holidays because that’s when products like this drop more (down to $150 last Black Friday).

      • mce

        Nah, I have a job I like just fine! I use Ookong for to monitor stuff I want to get eventually, so it notifies me of price drops. I just like to be helpful so it only takes a minute to give you a heads up. Before I knew how to find stuff on my own, I benefited from people sharing these kind of deals, so I’m just paying it forward. Now you have to think of that terrible Helen Hunt/Haley Joel Osment movie.

        • J.D. Levite

          That poor kid. Could’ve been a star but someone told him Helen Hunt was a good actress.

          And no worries, I like the heads-up. I like that the readers get involved in the discussion and post about the deals they want to see. So keep it going, I say.

          How accurate is Ookong? You like it? I use a couple of different ones myself, but I particularly like Camelcamelcamel. Accurate, fast, separates third party vendors… very good. Decide.com was good cause it tracked multiple retailers at once but they sold to eBay and are shutting down.

          • mce

            I like Ookong pretty well, but I have to adjust the notifications or else I get pinged like crazy every time something changes by an insignificant amount. I also use the InvisibleHand extension to let me know if it’s cheaper somewhere else. I’ll have to check out that Humpday one you recommended.

  • mce

    The best shower caddy is $22.49 ($7.50 savings) at Macy’s until 10/6: http://bit.ly/15J2s3U

    • J.D. Levite

      Unfortunately at Macy’s you can only get free shipping with orders $99 or more. Costs me $10 shipping. Amazon’s $30 caddy plus free shipping is cheaper.

      • mce

        Oh, well I was just planning to go to the Macy’s a few blocks from my house!

        • J.D. Levite

          Ah, yah, if you can get it in-store it’s a good deal.

  • idlewild

    Ryobi make crap drills. Check out Makita, Bosch, Festool and even Milwaukee FUEL. The only thing comparable to a Ryobi would be a DeWalt. Ugh.

    • McGillis

      I used to work for Ryobi/Ridgid/Milwaukee…The drill isn’t bad, but the batteries are awful. If you get longer than two years use out of them you’re lucky.

      In my opinion, a homeowner would be much better served with a 12v Milwaukee/DeWalt/Makita/Bosch product. Lighter weight, better batteries, can do 90% of the things your 18v drill does. M12 system from Milwaukee would be my reco.

  • idlewild

    The Ryobi drill is a POS.

  • Bill Stigler

    The Fiesta 10.5″ Dinner Plate is available at Amazon for $9.99 and eligible for free shipping at $35 total or Amazon Prime if you have it. But first you have to know the trick to getting this price. If you search for “Fiesta 10.5″ Dinner Plate”, you’ll land on the page offering the item from Casas.com – an Amazon subsidiary – or some other 3rd party supplier for 11.99 + 5.99 shipping. But look down to the lower right under “More Buying Choices” and you’ll likely see Amazon itself at the top of the list. (I say “likely” because I don’t think this deal will last forever.) Click on the Amazon option to get the single item plate 9.99 plus free shipping or Prime. Go to your cart to up the count to, say, four and you’ll get free shipping for 39.96 total.

    I’m not sure this will work for all colors but it did for my choice of tangerine. Also, when I followed the link to Macy’s, it was also down to 9.99. (So I’m guessing here that Amazon and Macy’s are in a price war on this item till at least Dec 2nd.) However, I didn’t stick around long enough to see the shipping charges. And in my state, there would be a hefty sales tax as well if you attempt in-store pick-up so Amazon is the better deal by far.

  • Bill Stigler

    Yesterday at my local Costco, I noticed the Philips Norelco 1250X SensoTouch 3D Electric Razor is on sale at 109.99 + tax, which should bring it up to about $123. (In my state, sales tax is applied on the original retail price – $139, in this case.) This deal is good till Dec 1st. So for a few bucks more than Amazon, you might be able to get it locally with the great return policy that Costco is famous for, if that’s what you prefer.

  • sygyzy

    Can you guys give us a sneak peek of the new picks for the razor article? Don’t tell us to buy this razor now because it’s on sale, only for us to find out next week that you picked Model XYZ that performs better and is available for $30 less.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Do you subscribe to our newsletter? We often do a variation of a ‘sneak peek’ at some guides in the coming week. Can’t guarantee that the razor will be included, but it’s definitely one way to have the edge just in case (excuse the pun, I couldn’t help myself!).

      Newsletter signup page:
      http://thesweethome.us5.list-manage1.com/subscribe/post?u=570aa9140d54361ad5a594320&id=e23d0abb6f

    • J.D. Levite

      For the record, I always check with our writers and editors about our deals. I wouldn’t call it a “deal” at all if our new pick was cheaper because our new pick would be better than our old pick…

  • danar

    The review for the best sheets should be redone because I don’t think you can really review the best sheets without also looking into the Italian sheets.

    Instead, those Italian sheets and other bedding were excluded and not even evaulated because they were above an arbirtrary price and thus deemed too expensive.

    But, some of those Italian sheets cost just as much as the Miele Twist or the Vitamix, winners in other Sweethome categories.

    If we’re going to exclude the Italian sheets because they’re too expensive, then shouldn’t the Vitamix and the Twist have never been tested because they’re also too expensive?

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ Jacqui Cheng

      Hi there. The idea is to find the best product for the money spent. High-end or expensive items aren’t always ruled out entirely based on price, but they are often ruled out because what you get FOR that price isn’t enough. We usually find (as we did in the sheet review) that you can get something really great for an OK price without having to go crazy on the high end unless you really want to. That’s what tends to appeal to most people, which is why we angle our guides that way.

  • signup

    Re: the Oxo scale. Bed Bath and Beyond always has 20% off coupons for most of the product they carry, often resulting in prices better than available elsewhere. In this case the scale would only be $40. I use the coupons all the time, great easy way to save on a lot of stuff.

  • Marcel726

    Cree LED light bulbs have dropped in price along with the release of the 100w replacement. Not sure if it is a permanent drop or not. Might be worth a mention…

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      In store? Or online?

  • Lee Stabler

    Checked today and that kettle is already back to $86.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Thanks for the heads up!

  • Alexei S

    Just tried the SmartWool – the site tells me “Coupon code “LUV4MOM” is not valid.”

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Thanks for the note!

  • Marius Piedallu van Wyk

    Keep in mind it does not come with a tamper. (some say it is not needed) But if you have a larger container, you won’t be able to use that tamper with this smaller container.

  • Ibai

    The L.L. Bean coupon is not working for me.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      I believe it is expired. Sorry!

  • Kenneth Rodriguez

    I believe the sale for ThermoWorks Splash-Proof Super-Fast Brown Thermapen is over.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      I see it as $85 right now. So even cheaper than the $88 we have listed.

      • Kenneth Rodriguez

        When I try to add to cart I get a page that says “document.write(‘This item is no longer available.n’);”

        • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

          Got the same error. They may have ended it or sold out. Thanks for the note!

          • eaadams

            My thermapen broke. Fyi thwy have a servuce plan not on website: Return postage and $25 service fee FYI if out of warranty.

  • amy324

    I had trouble with using the GOLDEN code on the JC Penney web site. I had to place the order over the phone. That was no problem. Got the 50% off.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Just tested and it worked on the website. Glad it worked over the phone for you too.

  • bearicks

    I was actually waiting for good price on a decent blender for a while now and when I saw the deal on the oster versa I was uber excited. Unfortunately, it seems to be 200 on amazon now and the official oster website says it sold out. doh.

  • eaadams

    That office depot tape measure deal is stupid. Can’t buy online for local pickup and is OOS online.

  • Joseph Kacvinsky

    The Braun Series 7 – 790cc is on sale at Amazon, Best Buy, and Walmart for $149.97.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Thanks for the note!

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Do you mean 760cc?

      • Joseph Kacvinsky

        Upon further research, apparently Braun themselves are offering a $*0 off deal through most participating sellers. Spanning across their shaver lineup (Series 7 = $40, Series 5 = $30, Series 3 390cc = $15, Series 3 = $10)
        The Series 7 models:
        797cc = $189.99 (Target)
        790cc = $149.97 (Amazon)
        760cc = $145.99 (Walmart)

        They seem to be split up in terms of seller availability so you won’t find all 3 in any one location. But they are all receiving the $40 off treatment.
        For less than $4 though, I’d go for the 790cc model.

  • Ronda

    Looking for deals on bakeware that ship to Canada. Found Ovenart muffin pan for $10 down from $17 on Amazon but doesn’t ship to Canada =(

  • Ellen Schmidt

    Abt.com has the KitchenAid Artisan Empire Stand Mixer for $280 and free shipping.

  • Brian Kramp

    LL Bean comforters in stock again, for last day of the sale. Note that the King is in stock for the Permabaffle variety, which appears to be a (perhaps trivial) step up for $30 more. Been waiting all week for a King, so I don’t mind paying the extra.

  • Guest

    I found the GE Colorites at Menards on sale through 12/14 for $15

  • Drew

    I found the GE Colorite lights on sale at Menards for $15

    http://www.menards.com/main/p-2389507-c-12284.htm

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Not sure if Menards is a nationwide store? But thanks for the note.

  • ShawshankReception

    This 9″ Victorinox Bread Knife with an offset handle seems like a much better deal to me. No scraping your knuckles! http://www.amazon.com/Victorinox-Cutlery-9-Inch-Polypropylene-Handle/dp/B0019WZ7EW

  • Stefano

    kitchenaid artisan mixer is available for $235 on meh.com (daily deal, will be gone tomorrow)

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Thanks!

  • Guest
  • Drew
    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Thanks!

  • Matt

    That Anova code doesn’t seem to be working.

    • Matt

      Spoke to Anova, ended on 3/31…. disappointing we got less than a day’s heads up.

  • http://incise.org Nick Welch

    That Ryobi combo is pretty good, but it doesn’t include a hammer drill or impact driver. You can find several combos that are $159 with a hammer drill, impact driver, two batteries, charger, and some sort of saw (circular, recip, or jigsaw). I think those are a little better deal. It’s nice to be able to drill through concrete, and an impact driver is so much better for driving screws.

    • http://thesweethome.com/ Harry Sawyers

      Nick, totally right about the hammer drill and impact driver. Very useful tools.

      The difference here comes down to a few bucks–this is $129, which is the lowest price we’ve ever seen on it, and the $30 difference between this and the kits you’re referring to could make a big difference for a very price-sensitive shopper. Plus, by buying into the kit for so little and getting two batteries (which are the most expensive components) you then have some extra cash to shop around for any other battery-free tool bodies that better suit your needs.

      Now, in the spirit of shop talk, I would argue that the versatility of having a circular saw and a reciprocating saw actually opens the DIY toolkit up to more types of full projects than having a hammer drill or impact driver—there are a lot of unusual drilling and driving tasks the 18-volt drill can handle capably enough, but there’s no substitute for those two saws when it comes time to either make a clean cut in lumber or a rough hack through an old pipe.