The Best Deals We Can Find

Because we think we can make a small difference by being picky, here are some great deals on solid pieces of gear.

Last Updated: July 2, 2015
The deal on our favorite clothes iron expired.
Expand Most Recent Updates
October 21, 2013: That Best Buy promotional deal finally expired, but Home Depot has a nice deal on a drill we like.
October 7, 2013: That pruner jumped back to normal price. Hope you grabbed it!
October 3, 2013: Got a nice deal on a pair of heavy duty pruners if you have any shrubs around.
October 2, 2013: Added a great all-encompassing 20% off promo code from Best Buy. You can use it online or in-store.
October 1, 2013: That Cuisinart Food Processor price drop already expired.
September 26, 2013: Patagonia's past season sale is back, and the Nano Puff Pullover is down to $84.
September 25, 2013: Added a great deal on the Braun Series 7 shaver system.
September 24, 2013: That great knife set jumped back up in price so I had to remove it.
September 17, 2013: Removed the Dyson vacuum deal, which jumped in price quite a bit over night.
September 11, 2013: Added a great deal on our favorite budget storage container.
September 6, 2013: Added a new deal on our favorite fan!
September 5, 2013: That army knife deal from eBay finally expired. So did our pillow deal from yesterday. However, I've added a new deal on the Dyson DC44 Animal vacuum.
September 4, 2013: Just added a new deal on pillows we really like but haven't told you about yet.
September 3, 2013: The deal on the Delta faucet expired. Will keep a look out for new deals.
August 26, 2013: Amazon is having a 15% off sale on Delta products right now, and that includes our favorite shower head.
August 20, 2013: Added a nice discount on our favorite programmable thermostat.
August 15, 2013: Added a past-gear sale from Patagonia.
August 13, 2013: Our air conditioner actually dropped a few more bucks recently.
August 12, 2013: The deals on our favorite grills expired.
August 8, 2013: Found a great low price on our favorite portable vacuum.
August 6, 2013: Today we've got some of the lowest deals ever on two of our favorite grills.
July 31, 2013: Just added a deal for 100 trash bags for $10.
July 26, 2013: Just added a new deal on a well-liked Cuisinart Food Processor.
July 25, 2013: I removed the Le Creuset deal as it is no longer available. I added a great drop on our favorite air conditioner and a great 30% off sale at Patagonia.
July 17, 2013: I removed a lot of deals that had expired, but I found the Le Creuset French Ovens at a great discount.
July 16, 2013: That Dyson deal expired, so I took it off.
July 15, 2013: I added a new deal for a Dyson personal space heater and fan.
July 14, 2013: Added two new deals, one for our favorite portable vacuum and one for a Victorinox Swiss Army Knife set.
July 11, 2013: I added a new deal for an ice cream maker and removed an old one for a Breville toaster oven.
July 9, 2013: I removed an expired deal for Kingsford charcoal briquettes.
July 8, 2013: I removed a deal for the Lodge Logic. See a great deal? Email me.
July 2, 2013: Removed a deal for KitchenAid Mixers and added a great deal for a refurbished Breville Smart Oven. See a great deal? Email me.
June 24, 2013: Removed an expired Home Depot deal for a Ryobi ONE+ drill/driver duo, and added a deal for the BOB Revolution SE.
June 20, 2013: I added two new deals, for a Cuisinart ice cream maker and a Metrokane Rabbit corkscrew.
June 19, 2013: I removed an expired Kiehl's 20%-off coupon.
June 14, 2013: I removed an expired discount for a Philips Norelco razor, and added a 20% off coupon for Kiehl's.
June 13, 2013: I removed an expired deal for a roadside car kit.
June 12, 2013: I added a Woot! deal for a roadside car kit.
June 11, 2013: Looks like Target's got Walmart beat this time: I removed the Walmart deal for a KitchenAid Classic Plus and added a new one from Target, where all KitchenAid's stand mixer lines are on discount.
June 10, 2013: I added a new deal for coffee-lovers: a free AeroPress coffee maker for new Tonx subscribers, through Fathers' Day.

We’ll always put the newest deals at the top of the page. We’ve also redesigned the deals page to be a more permanent addition to the site so you can now bookmark this page because the address won’t change like it used to. Follow us on Twitter at @homesweethome to see any updates we make throughout the day.

A note from the editor: The holiday season has come and gone and the deals were just as empty as we expected. According to our research, which involved most of the Wirecutter and Sweethome staff scanning listed “deals” every day throughout November and December, only 0.6% of the 66,000 deals we studied were worth posting here as a good piece of gear. The New York Times talked to us about how we find and screen deals before posting them on our sites; Our attitude is dictated by a general idea — if we wouldn’t buy it ourselves or tell our friends and family to do so, we won’t list it. If the price or the item itself is not good, we won’t list it. And just because the holidays are over doesn’t mean our attitude toward finding the best deals has changed. It’s actually easier to find the deals during the holidays, despite the larger number of scams, because that’s all anyone is talking about. For the rest of the year, when everyone else has moved on, we’re still digging deep to find only the best discounts worth talking about.

If you’re looking for deals on gadgets and technology, see our list over at The Wirecutter.

12-Inch All-Clad Stainless Steel Fry Pan

Street Price: $120 MSRP: $200 Deal Price: $100 

12-Inch All-Clad Stainless Steel Fry Pan
A solid sale price on our favorite skillet.

This is about $10 above the best price we’ve ever seen on this pan, and the lowest it’s been in over a month. It’s about a 15 percent discount on its street price of $120.

The 12-Inch All-Clad Stainless Steel Fry Pan is our pick for the best skillet. Michael Zhao writes, “For some items, it’s worth paying extra for reputation because that reputation is hard earned and well-deserved. The All-Clad 12-Inch Stainless Steel Fry Pan is one of those things. It’s beloved by professionals, enthusiasts, and home cooks alike for their superior heat conductivity, balanced handling, and durability.”

He goes on to say, “It’s also tough as nails. Cook’s Illustrated’s durability tests managed to loosen or ding up every other pan in the roundup, but the All-Clad came out good as new. Ask anyone who’s been in the food industry for long enough and chances are that they’ll have an All-Clad that they’ve been using for a decade or more.”

On Amazon, the fry pan has 4.5 stars based on 124 customer reviews. permalink

Refurbished Dyson AM06 Bladeless Fan

Street Price: $240 MSRP: $300 Deal Price: $140  

Dyson Air Multiplier AM06 Table Fan
A great price on the most expensive of our favorite fans, this deal is for a refurbished one with a shorter warranty.

This is a fantastic price and significantly below any price we’ve seen on new models of the AM06. Since they’re through a Dyson authorized dealer and service center, they come with a 6 month warranty through Dyson, and 6 months through ABC’s warehouse. However, our top pick in the best fan has a 5 year warranty and Dyson themselves offer a 2 year warranty, so you’ll have to consider whether that’s a deal breaker for you.

The Dyson AM06 is what we considered the best combo desk and room fan in our best fan article. Seamus Bellamy said, “During our testing, the $250 AM06 moved more air than any other desk fan. On its highest settings, this 4-pound 5.8 by 12 by 19.7-inch fan could put out as much air as some of the room fans we tested—and it often worked as well as they did, despite being much smaller.”

CNET reviewed it, giving it 3.5 stars, and said, “With a quieter, more efficient design that sacrifices none of the original’s unique appeal, the Dyson AM06 is about as luxurious as desk fans get.” Their primary concern was price, which is less of an issue with this deal.

On Amazon, it has 4.4 stars based on 119 user reviews. permalink

Classic Nomiku Sous Vide

Street Price: $200 MSRP: $200 Deal Price: $180 with code SOUSVIDELY20 

Classic Nomiku Sous Vide
With a permanent drop to $200, the code SOUSVIDELY20 brings it down to an even lower price.

The Nomiku was on our page discounted from $300 to $200 for a long while. After that coupon expired it looks like they just decided to drop the price down to $200 permanently. Now they have a coupon code that brings it to $180, its lowest price ever. Just use the code SOUSVIDELY20 to knock off $20, and it comes with free shipping, too.

Worth noting – there’s a newer version of this gear coming out this summer that will sell at $200 from the start and our main pick already runs a bit cheaper than $200 as it is. This is still a good product worth investing in, but those are some options to juggle as well.

The Nomiku is one of our favorite pieces of sous vide gear. Tim Barribeau said it doesn’t offer more power for the cost, but “what it does get right is a bunch of small things that make it all but foolproof to use and perhaps a better option for someone who wants to be extra careful.” He also said “it uses a silicone coated clamp to grab onto the wall of the pot, which is faster and easier than the screw-on methods of some of the competition.”

This gear has 4.5 stars based on 161 user reviews on Amazon. permalink

LG WM3570HWA Front-Load Washer and LG DLEX3570HWA Front-Load Dryer

Street Price: $900 each MSRP: $1000 each Deal Price: $700 each  

LG WM3570HWA Front-Load Washer
The lowest prices we've seen on this LG combo, our top Washer and Dryer picks. Scroll down to "Collections" to add both or buy the Washer from this link.

Home Depot is running a great sale on a variety of washer and dryer sets, with a particularly good price on these two. the LG WM3570HWA Washer, and the LG DLEX3570W Dryer at $700 each. The last deal we saw on these had them at $743.

Those two are our best Washer and Dryer combo pick, Liam McCabe said this about them, “This set checks off all the boxes: excellent at removing stains, efficient with water and energy, gentle on your clothes, big enough to hold a king-size comforter, stackable, and reliable (as far as anyone can tell). Even gimmicky-sounding features like TurboWash and the steam generator turn out to be pretty useful…The LG appliances are top-tier machines for midrange money, and they’re the best value out there right now.”

On Home Depot, the LG WM3570HWA Front-Load Washer has 4.5 stars based on 110 reviews, and the LG DLEX3570HWA Front-Load Dryer has 4.5 stars based on 62 reviews. permalink

Tramontina 12-Inch Tri-Ply Clad Open Frying Pan

Street Price: $50 MSRP: $50 Deal Price: $38 

Tramontina 12-Inch Tri-Ply Clad Open Frying Pan
To get the $38 price, you'll have to pick it up at Walmart, or face a $5 shipping charge.

This is the lowest price we’ve seen on this skillet but the price drop does cause an issue with free shipping. The previous price of $50 qualified for free shipping, the new price of $38 doesn’t, and shipping is $5 extra. To get the best value out of this deal, you can use the store pickup option to grab it from your local Walmart.

The Tramontina 12-Inch Tri-Ply Clad Open Frying Pan was our Also Great step down pick for best skillet at under half the price of our top choice. Cook’s Illustrated found in a comparison of 7 moderately priced traditional skillets that the Tramontina was a great performer not just at its $50 price tag, but even compared to pans that approach the price of the All-Clad.

On Walmart, the Tramontina 12-Inch Tri-Ply Clad Open Frying Pan has 4.2 stars based on 30 reviews. permalink

Oral-B Deep Sweep 1000 Electric Rechargeable Power Toothbrush

Street Price: $45 MSRP: $65 Deal Price: $30 

Oral-B Deep Sweep 1000 Electric Rechargeable Power Toothbrush
Make sure you're logged in and click the $10 off coupon under the price.

Outside of mail-in rebate deals, this is the lowest price we’ve seen on this Oral B. It got close around the holiday season but never quite made it. To get the proper price on Amazon, make sure you’re logged in, you should see a “$10 off coupon” button just below the price, click that and add to cart. Other retailers have it sitting around $40-$50, such as Best Buy and Target.

The Oral-B Deep Sweep 1000 is our top pick for best electric toothbrush, with all the most important features that experts recommend, as well as access to a variety of replaceable toothbrush heads. Casey Johnston said, “The Deep Sweep has comfortable-feeling oscillating bristles, a simple one-button interface, and a battery that lasted 11.5 days with twice-daily use in our tests. The body survived drop tests on the floor and into water.”

On Amazon, the Oral-B Deep Sweep 1000 has 4.4 stars based on 417 reviews. permalink

More about our deal process: When I’m looking for deals, I start with deal-gathering sites like dealcatcher.com and dealdump.com, curating all the dozens of deals that come in each week to filter out the gems, and eliminate the deals that really aren’t doing anyone any good. It’s more than just putting time into sorting through lists; it’s also about finding the items that were probably worth buying before they were ever on sale because a deal isn’t really a deal if the product still isn’t very good. I run the deals by the senior writers at The Sweethome and check user and editorial reviews before checking with camelcamelcamel.com and other price tracking tools to see if the price will likely drop or if it has been lower in the past. In the end, I’m left with just a few really good deals. Fewer than many other sites would have youbelieve.
To send this guide via email, fill out the fields below:
Message Sent!
Oops! Please try again
Send

Originally published: June 30, 2015

  • Alexei S

    it seems the Delta deal is over… it shows at $159 on Amazon.

    • Matt Groener

      Look closely. I just bought it last night and the price is taken at checkout only.

  • mce

    The ‘less expensive but still great recommendation’ Snapware Total Solution glass food storage containers is on sale at Costco as of 9/5 for $23.99. This is $6 off the regular price and $21 off the Amazon price.

    • J.D. Levite

      So… I don’t see that. At least, not online. Did you see this in-store? If it was online could you provide a link?

      • mce

        It’s an in-store only deal. You can see the ad here: http://www.costco.com/warehouse-coupon-offers.html. It’s buried in about the 18th row on the far left.

        • J.D. Levite

          Thanks! Always appreciate the deal-finding help!

        • idlewild

          Do I need a Costco membership to buy these in store?

          • J.D. Levite

            Yah, that’s generally how Costco works. In fact, some don’t let you in unless you have your membership card (although this isn’t really enforced from what I’ve seen.)

          • Actionable_Mango

            A loophole to the membership requirement is to buy Costco Gift Cards. You can make purchases with those without a membership.

          • J.D. Levite

            Nice tip!

  • sygyzy

    Out of stock at Best Buy. The nearest 10 stores to me all have “unavailable” stock.

  • mce

    The Cuisinart Food Processor has dropped to $162 (from $179): http://amzn.to/19akr40

    • J.D. Levite

      Someone’s making a bid for my job I see… Just kidding. You can’t have it. We’re writing this one up, too, but like I’m putting in the write-up, it’s not the lowest price it’s ever been. I just think because it’s been around so long, you can make a case that it’s a decent deal because it’s one of the best prices it has been recently. But if you’re patient, you’re probably better off waiting a couple months for the holidays because that’s when products like this drop more (down to $150 last Black Friday).

      • mce

        Nah, I have a job I like just fine! I use Ookong for to monitor stuff I want to get eventually, so it notifies me of price drops. I just like to be helpful so it only takes a minute to give you a heads up. Before I knew how to find stuff on my own, I benefited from people sharing these kind of deals, so I’m just paying it forward. Now you have to think of that terrible Helen Hunt/Haley Joel Osment movie.

        • J.D. Levite

          That poor kid. Could’ve been a star but someone told him Helen Hunt was a good actress.

          And no worries, I like the heads-up. I like that the readers get involved in the discussion and post about the deals they want to see. So keep it going, I say.

          How accurate is Ookong? You like it? I use a couple of different ones myself, but I particularly like Camelcamelcamel. Accurate, fast, separates third party vendors… very good. Decide.com was good cause it tracked multiple retailers at once but they sold to eBay and are shutting down.

          • mce

            I like Ookong pretty well, but I have to adjust the notifications or else I get pinged like crazy every time something changes by an insignificant amount. I also use the InvisibleHand extension to let me know if it’s cheaper somewhere else. I’ll have to check out that Humpday one you recommended.

  • mce

    The best shower caddy is $22.49 ($7.50 savings) at Macy’s until 10/6: http://bit.ly/15J2s3U

    • J.D. Levite

      Unfortunately at Macy’s you can only get free shipping with orders $99 or more. Costs me $10 shipping. Amazon’s $30 caddy plus free shipping is cheaper.

      • mce

        Oh, well I was just planning to go to the Macy’s a few blocks from my house!

        • J.D. Levite

          Ah, yah, if you can get it in-store it’s a good deal.

  • idlewild

    Ryobi make crap drills. Check out Makita, Bosch, Festool and even Milwaukee FUEL. The only thing comparable to a Ryobi would be a DeWalt. Ugh.

    • McGillis

      I used to work for Ryobi/Ridgid/Milwaukee…The drill isn’t bad, but the batteries are awful. If you get longer than two years use out of them you’re lucky.

      In my opinion, a homeowner would be much better served with a 12v Milwaukee/DeWalt/Makita/Bosch product. Lighter weight, better batteries, can do 90% of the things your 18v drill does. M12 system from Milwaukee would be my reco.

  • idlewild

    The Ryobi drill is a POS.

  • Bill Stigler

    The Fiesta 10.5″ Dinner Plate is available at Amazon for $9.99 and eligible for free shipping at $35 total or Amazon Prime if you have it. But first you have to know the trick to getting this price. If you search for “Fiesta 10.5″ Dinner Plate”, you’ll land on the page offering the item from Casas.com – an Amazon subsidiary – or some other 3rd party supplier for 11.99 + 5.99 shipping. But look down to the lower right under “More Buying Choices” and you’ll likely see Amazon itself at the top of the list. (I say “likely” because I don’t think this deal will last forever.) Click on the Amazon option to get the single item plate 9.99 plus free shipping or Prime. Go to your cart to up the count to, say, four and you’ll get free shipping for 39.96 total.

    I’m not sure this will work for all colors but it did for my choice of tangerine. Also, when I followed the link to Macy’s, it was also down to 9.99. (So I’m guessing here that Amazon and Macy’s are in a price war on this item till at least Dec 2nd.) However, I didn’t stick around long enough to see the shipping charges. And in my state, there would be a hefty sales tax as well if you attempt in-store pick-up so Amazon is the better deal by far.

  • Bill Stigler

    Yesterday at my local Costco, I noticed the Philips Norelco 1250X SensoTouch 3D Electric Razor is on sale at 109.99 + tax, which should bring it up to about $123. (In my state, sales tax is applied on the original retail price – $139, in this case.) This deal is good till Dec 1st. So for a few bucks more than Amazon, you might be able to get it locally with the great return policy that Costco is famous for, if that’s what you prefer.

  • sygyzy

    Can you guys give us a sneak peek of the new picks for the razor article? Don’t tell us to buy this razor now because it’s on sale, only for us to find out next week that you picked Model XYZ that performs better and is available for $30 less.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Do you subscribe to our newsletter? We often do a variation of a ‘sneak peek’ at some guides in the coming week. Can’t guarantee that the razor will be included, but it’s definitely one way to have the edge just in case (excuse the pun, I couldn’t help myself!).

      Newsletter signup page:
      http://thesweethome.us5.list-manage1.com/subscribe/post?u=570aa9140d54361ad5a594320&id=e23d0abb6f

    • J.D. Levite

      For the record, I always check with our writers and editors about our deals. I wouldn’t call it a “deal” at all if our new pick was cheaper because our new pick would be better than our old pick…

  • danar

    The review for the best sheets should be redone because I don’t think you can really review the best sheets without also looking into the Italian sheets.

    Instead, those Italian sheets and other bedding were excluded and not even evaulated because they were above an arbirtrary price and thus deemed too expensive.

    But, some of those Italian sheets cost just as much as the Miele Twist or the Vitamix, winners in other Sweethome categories.

    If we’re going to exclude the Italian sheets because they’re too expensive, then shouldn’t the Vitamix and the Twist have never been tested because they’re also too expensive?

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ Jacqui Cheng

      Hi there. The idea is to find the best product for the money spent. High-end or expensive items aren’t always ruled out entirely based on price, but they are often ruled out because what you get FOR that price isn’t enough. We usually find (as we did in the sheet review) that you can get something really great for an OK price without having to go crazy on the high end unless you really want to. That’s what tends to appeal to most people, which is why we angle our guides that way.

  • signup

    Re: the Oxo scale. Bed Bath and Beyond always has 20% off coupons for most of the product they carry, often resulting in prices better than available elsewhere. In this case the scale would only be $40. I use the coupons all the time, great easy way to save on a lot of stuff.

  • Marcel726

    Cree LED light bulbs have dropped in price along with the release of the 100w replacement. Not sure if it is a permanent drop or not. Might be worth a mention…

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      In store? Or online?

  • Lee Stabler

    Checked today and that kettle is already back to $86.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Thanks for the heads up!

  • Alexei S

    Just tried the SmartWool – the site tells me “Coupon code “LUV4MOM” is not valid.”

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Thanks for the note!

  • Marius Piedallu van Wyk

    Keep in mind it does not come with a tamper. (some say it is not needed) But if you have a larger container, you won’t be able to use that tamper with this smaller container.

  • Ibai

    The L.L. Bean coupon is not working for me.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      I believe it is expired. Sorry!

  • Kenneth Rodriguez

    I believe the sale for ThermoWorks Splash-Proof Super-Fast Brown Thermapen is over.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      I see it as $85 right now. So even cheaper than the $88 we have listed.

      • Kenneth Rodriguez

        When I try to add to cart I get a page that says “document.write(‘This item is no longer available.n’);”

        • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

          Got the same error. They may have ended it or sold out. Thanks for the note!

          • eaadams

            My thermapen broke. Fyi thwy have a servuce plan not on website: Return postage and $25 service fee FYI if out of warranty.

  • amy324

    I had trouble with using the GOLDEN code on the JC Penney web site. I had to place the order over the phone. That was no problem. Got the 50% off.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Just tested and it worked on the website. Glad it worked over the phone for you too.

  • bearicks

    I was actually waiting for good price on a decent blender for a while now and when I saw the deal on the oster versa I was uber excited. Unfortunately, it seems to be 200 on amazon now and the official oster website says it sold out. doh.

  • eaadams

    That office depot tape measure deal is stupid. Can’t buy online for local pickup and is OOS online.

  • Joseph Kacvinsky

    The Braun Series 7 – 790cc is on sale at Amazon, Best Buy, and Walmart for $149.97.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Thanks for the note!

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Do you mean 760cc?

      • Joseph Kacvinsky

        Upon further research, apparently Braun themselves are offering a $*0 off deal through most participating sellers. Spanning across their shaver lineup (Series 7 = $40, Series 5 = $30, Series 3 390cc = $15, Series 3 = $10)
        The Series 7 models:
        797cc = $189.99 (Target)
        790cc = $149.97 (Amazon)
        760cc = $145.99 (Walmart)

        They seem to be split up in terms of seller availability so you won’t find all 3 in any one location. But they are all receiving the $40 off treatment.
        For less than $4 though, I’d go for the 790cc model.

  • Ronda

    Looking for deals on bakeware that ship to Canada. Found Ovenart muffin pan for $10 down from $17 on Amazon but doesn’t ship to Canada =(

  • Ellen Schmidt

    Abt.com has the KitchenAid Artisan Empire Stand Mixer for $280 and free shipping.

  • Brian Kramp

    LL Bean comforters in stock again, for last day of the sale. Note that the King is in stock for the Permabaffle variety, which appears to be a (perhaps trivial) step up for $30 more. Been waiting all week for a King, so I don’t mind paying the extra.

  • Guest

    I found the GE Colorites at Menards on sale through 12/14 for $15

  • Drew

    I found the GE Colorite lights on sale at Menards for $15

    http://www.menards.com/main/p-2389507-c-12284.htm

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Not sure if Menards is a nationwide store? But thanks for the note.

  • ShawshankReception

    This 9″ Victorinox Bread Knife with an offset handle seems like a much better deal to me. No scraping your knuckles! http://www.amazon.com/Victorinox-Cutlery-9-Inch-Polypropylene-Handle/dp/B0019WZ7EW

  • Stefano

    kitchenaid artisan mixer is available for $235 on meh.com (daily deal, will be gone tomorrow)

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Thanks!

  • Guest
  • Drew
    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Thanks!

  • Matt

    That Anova code doesn’t seem to be working.

    • Matt

      Spoke to Anova, ended on 3/31…. disappointing we got less than a day’s heads up.

  • http://incise.org Nick Welch

    That Ryobi combo is pretty good, but it doesn’t include a hammer drill or impact driver. You can find several combos that are $159 with a hammer drill, impact driver, two batteries, charger, and some sort of saw (circular, recip, or jigsaw). I think those are a little better deal. It’s nice to be able to drill through concrete, and an impact driver is so much better for driving screws.

    • http://thesweethome.com/ Harry Sawyers

      Nick, totally right about the hammer drill and impact driver. Very useful tools.

      The difference here comes down to a few bucks–this is $129, which is the lowest price we’ve ever seen on it, and the $30 difference between this and the kits you’re referring to could make a big difference for a very price-sensitive shopper. Plus, by buying into the kit for so little and getting two batteries (which are the most expensive components) you then have some extra cash to shop around for any other battery-free tool bodies that better suit your needs.

      Now, in the spirit of shop talk, I would argue that the versatility of having a circular saw and a reciprocating saw actually opens the DIY toolkit up to more types of full projects than having a hammer drill or impact driver—there are a lot of unusual drilling and driving tasks the 18-volt drill can handle capably enough, but there’s no substitute for those two saws when it comes time to either make a clean cut in lumber or a rough hack through an old pipe.

  • Ed

    The pot’s price went up a couple bucks.

    Oh and you guys should respond to emails. Very unprofessional and I’m feeling inclined to not support you guys by clearing my cookies. Not cool.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Thanks it’s removed.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Hey Ed – can you email me directly? We get hundreds of emails a day and it’s hard to keep track sometimes. tonykaye [at] thewirecutter [dot] com. Thanks!

      • Ed

        Gotcha. I look forward to keeping updated and following this website extremely often.

  • dberz

    The Anova code doesn’t seem to work. Thoughts?

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      It must have expired I’ll let our deals editor know. Sorry if it caused you any grief!

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      New Anova deal!

  • InklingBooks

    It always feels good to look at a L. L. Bean catalog. It shows me how the 1%—or perhaps I should say 5%—live. $62 for moccasins is way beyond my thrift-store budget.

    • http://www.google.com/ haydesigner

      I hear ya. I’d rather buy two $10 slippers instead.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      How much is a pair of insulated slippers that also double as spring/fall slip on shoes (that look great!) worth though? That’s the way I see it.

  • Trrogdor

    The Anova precision sous vide cooker is $50 off on their website with LUVDAD as a discount code.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Thank you!

  • BWilliams

    Oster – Versa Performance 8-Cup Blender – Black/Red is on sale on Best Buy for $69.99. Might be for today only.