The Best Deals We Can Find

Because we think we can make a small difference by being picky, here are some great deals on solid pieces of gear.

Last Updated: November 27, 2014
November marks the start of our holiday deal hunting. I'm hoping to see a lot of changes coming quickly enough that I don't have time for a new update box. Keep checking back!
Expand Previous Updates
October 31, 2014: Added a deal on our favorite multi-bit screwdriver.
October 27, 2014: No more stand mixer deal. Sorry!
October 24, 2014: Added a new deal on a nice stand mixer.
October 22, 2014: That shovel deal expired.
October 17, 2014: Added a new deal on our runner-up pick for best snow shovel.
October 14, 2014: That L.L. Bean coupon code expired.
October 13, 2014: Added a 10% off sale at L.L. Bean.
October 8, 2014: Removed an old deal.
October 3, 2014: Just added a new deal on our favorite bike lock.
September 15, 2014: That Breville deal expired over the weekend.
September 5, 2014: Added a deal on our step-up pick for best instant thermometer.
August 22, 2014: Removed an expired deal and added a new deal on our favorite soda maker set.
July 11, 2014: The Norelco razor deal expired.
July 8, 2014: The L.L. Bean deal expired.
June 30, 2014: Added a deal on one of our favorite electric kettles.
June 12, 2014: Added a deal on our favorite juicer.
June 2, 2014: Added a great deal on one of our favorite electric kettles.
May 22, 2014: Added a sitewide 10%-off coupon for LL Bean.
May 20, 2014: jojojo
May 15, 2014: Added a site-wide 20% off sale at Kiehls.com.
May 9, 2014: Added a deal on an add-on for our favorite blender.
May 8, 2014: Added a deal on the Bonavita kettle this morning and it's already gone.
May 1, 2014: Added a deal for SmartWool socks.
April 26, 2014: Added a great deal on one of our favorite kettles.
April 17, 2014: Added a 10% off deal for the Nest Learning Thermostat.
April 11, 2014: Just added the Sous Vide Supreme Water Oven at its lowest price ever.
April 8, 2014: Welp, the stand mixer is gone. Running low on home deals right now unfortunately. I think I'll have to double down on searching for some.
April 7, 2014: This KitchenAid Stand Mixer deal only lasts through the end of the day today.
March 24, 2014: Today there's a price drop on our favorite fridge and our favorite welding gloves.
March 24, 2014: We found a deep discount for our favorite BBQ gloves.
March 18, 2014: Added a deal on our favorite dish soap.
March 17, 2014: Removed a couple of expired deals, but unfortunately haven't found anything to add recently.
March 6, 2014: Got a new price drop on the DC44, which is great.
February 18, 2014: Quite a few expired deals, but I think the price on this Rowenta Focus is pretty great.
February 13, 2014: Had quite a few deals the last couple days. Feel like it's Christmas all over again! Just added our favorite digital scale at a lower price.
February 11, 2014: The 20% off sale from L.L. Bean has expired, but here's a pretty decent discount on our favorite Robot Vacuum.
February 10, 2014: Hope you got that knife set when it was low because it just popped back up to $90!
February 7, 2014: Just added a great deal on our newest recommendation for bed sheets.
February 6, 2014: Just added a new deal on our favorite budget knife set.
January 28, 2014: Sorry friends, that Roomba deal expired.
January 23, 2014: Added a new deal on one of our favorite robot vacuum cleaners.
January 10, 2014: I haven't seen a lot of home product deals since the new year, but we've got a cool trade-in deal for you if you aren't exactly a Starbucks fan but you do love coffee.
December 9, 2013: We're still working extra hard to find as many deals as we can during the holiday season. Keep checking back with us and follow us on Twitter, and we'll try to keep you up-to-date.
December 5, 2013: Removed the Nest deal as it had expired.
December 4, 2013: We removed the expired Kitchenaid Artisan Stand Mixer deal
November 19, 2013: We're going to see a lot more deals showing up on this page (hopefully) as Black Friday comes and goes.
November 12, 2013: Our favorite food processor just dropped in price even more. Nice.
November 7, 2013: Added our favorite food processor back down to a good price.
October 21, 2013: That Best Buy promotional deal finally expired, but Home Depot has a nice deal on a drill we like.
October 7, 2013: That pruner jumped back to normal price. Hope you grabbed it!
October 3, 2013: Got a nice deal on a pair of heavy duty pruners if you have any shrubs around.
October 2, 2013: Added a great all-encompassing 20% off promo code from Best Buy. You can use it online or in-store.
October 1, 2013: That Cuisinart Food Processor price drop already expired.
September 26, 2013: Patagonia's past season sale is back, and the Nano Puff Pullover is down to $84.
September 25, 2013: Added a great deal on the Braun Series 7 shaver system.
September 24, 2013: That great knife set jumped back up in price so I had to remove it.
September 17, 2013: Removed the Dyson vacuum deal, which jumped in price quite a bit over night.
September 11, 2013: Added a great deal on our favorite budget storage container.
September 6, 2013: Added a new deal on our favorite fan!
September 5, 2013: That army knife deal from eBay finally expired. So did our pillow deal from yesterday. However, I've added a new deal on the Dyson DC44 Animal vacuum.
September 4, 2013: Just added a new deal on pillows we really like but haven't told you about yet.
September 3, 2013: The deal on the Delta faucet expired. Will keep a look out for new deals.
August 26, 2013: Amazon is having a 15% off sale on Delta products right now, and that includes our favorite shower head.
August 20, 2013: Added a nice discount on our favorite programmable thermostat.
August 15, 2013: Added a past-gear sale from Patagonia.
August 13, 2013: Our air conditioner actually dropped a few more bucks recently.
August 12, 2013: The deals on our favorite grills expired.
August 8, 2013: Found a great low price on our favorite portable vacuum.
August 6, 2013: Today we've got some of the lowest deals ever on two of our favorite grills.
July 31, 2013: Just added a deal for 100 trash bags for $10.
July 26, 2013: Just added a new deal on a well-liked Cuisinart Food Processor.
July 25, 2013: I removed the Le Creuset deal as it is no longer available. I added a great drop on our favorite air conditioner and a great 30% off sale at Patagonia.
July 17, 2013: I removed a lot of deals that had expired, but I found the Le Creuset French Ovens at a great discount.
July 16, 2013: That Dyson deal expired, so I took it off.
July 15, 2013: I added a new deal for a Dyson personal space heater and fan.
July 14, 2013: Added two new deals, one for our favorite portable vacuum and one for a Victorinox Swiss Army Knife set.
July 11, 2013: I added a new deal for an ice cream maker and removed an old one for a Breville toaster oven.
July 9, 2013: I removed an expired deal for Kingsford charcoal briquettes.
July 8, 2013: I removed a deal for the Lodge Logic. See a great deal? Email me.
July 2, 2013: Removed a deal for KitchenAid Mixers and added a great deal for a refurbished Breville Smart Oven. See a great deal? Email me.
June 24, 2013: Removed an expired Home Depot deal for a Ryobi ONE+ drill/driver duo, and added a deal for the BOB Revolution SE.
June 20, 2013: I added two new deals, for a Cuisinart ice cream maker and a Metrokane Rabbit corkscrew.
June 19, 2013: I removed an expired Kiehl's 20%-off coupon.
June 14, 2013: I removed an expired discount for a Philips Norelco razor, and added a 20% off coupon for Kiehl's.
June 13, 2013: I removed an expired deal for a roadside car kit.
June 12, 2013: I added a Woot! deal for a roadside car kit.
June 11, 2013: Looks like Target's got Walmart beat this time: I removed the Walmart deal for a KitchenAid Classic Plus and added a new one from Target, where all KitchenAid's stand mixer lines are on discount.
June 10, 2013: I added a new deal for coffee-lovers: a free AeroPress coffee maker for new Tonx subscribers, through Fathers' Day.

We’ll always put the newest deals at the top of the page. We’ve also redesigned the deals page to be a more permanent addition to the site so you can now bookmark this page because the address won’t change like it used to. Follow us on Twitter at @homesweethome to see any updates we make throughout the day.

Enter your email for daily deals alerts

A note from the editor: The holiday season is approaching once again, and that screaming you hear is the sound of Internet users everywhere becoming inundated with holiday “deals.” Thousands of deals. Tens of thousands of deals. And, as you may know from experience, most of those deals don’t actually result in any kind of savings. In fact, they are often a waste of money due to marketing trickery or just plain bad products.

In fact, according to our research so far only 0.6% of about 10,000 deals we’ve studied since early November are actually a good deal on a good piece of gear. Our attitude is dictated by a general idea: if we wouldn’t buy it ourselves or tell our friends and family to do so, we won’t list it. If the price or the item itself is not good, we won’t list it. Read more here about our philosophy on holiday deals and why we strive to be the pickiest on the Internet. -Jacqui Cheng, Editor-in-Chief

If you’re looking for deals on gadgets and technology, see our list over at The Wirecutter

Nest 2.0 Smart Thermostat

Street Price: $250 MSRP: $250 Deal Price: $199 

This is one of the best prices I've ever seen on this thermostat.

I’ve seen this thermostat drop to $225 quite a few times over the last year, but I think this might officially be the lowest price ever. If it has dropped this low before, it didn’t last long. This price matches a couple other Black Friday deals I’ve seen, but it’s easier to get it from Amazon instead of fighting your way through the crowds.

The Nest 2.0 is compatible with 95 percent of low-voltage heating and cooling systems. But you should check to make sure yours will work with it before you buy. We picked it because the user interface is very intuitive and set-up is easy. The “smart” part of the Nest is how it learns the specific temperatures you like, at which times, and how often it typically takes your home to heat or cool to your desired temp. It’s also equipped with a motion sensor so it knows when you’re not home and uses the opportunity to save energy. You can also dig into your Nest’s data and see how much it’s saving.

CNET gave the Nest 2.0 5 stars (exceptionally rare by CNET standards) in her review, writing, “Within a week of installing the first-generation Nest Learning Thermostat in my house last spring, I decided to buy my review unit rather than return it to the company. When a tech journalist pays $249 for a thermostat, you know it’s a special kind of thermostat.” permalink

Oster VERSA 1400-watt Professional Performance Blender with Low Profile Jar

Street Price: $250 MSRP: $300 Deal Price: $125 

This is a fantastic price just in time for Black Friday.

For the last six months or so there hasn’t been a whole lot of variation in the price of this blender. Before today the lowest it had ever gone was $180 back in June. This is the lowest price and you can get it with Prime shipping. Also, if the Amazon deal dies out, get it straight from Oster at the same price with free shipping.

If you feel sucker punched by the cost of a Vitamix 5200 (our favorite blender), consider this awesome deal on our runner up choice. Like the Vitamix, the Oster Versa has a powerful motor and a tamper to help push down ingredients, it blends silky smoothies and purees, and will easily crush margarita-worthy ice.

To be clear, the Vitamix 5200 is still better. It will make mayonnaise (we couldn’t get the Oster Versa to do this), the controls feel nicer, and many experts told us that it will last for years. But for the money (especially at this deal price) we think the Oster is a great machine. Like the Vitamix, it comes with a 7-year warranty, which tells us Oster is standing behind it.  We’ve been testing this model for 9 months now and, though it runs a bit loud at times, we really have no complaints. We like the presets for smoothies and soup and the variable speeds have worked well.

The Oster Versa receives 4.5 stars from 92 Amazon user reviews. permalink

SodaStream Fountain Jet Home Soda Maker Starter Kit

Street Price: $70 MSRP: $85 Deal Price: $50 

This is the best price I've ever seen on this soda maker, and there's a good deal from Best Buy if you want a carbonator with the package.

Update: This just dropped to $50 from $59.

This deal from Amazon is back on. It’s a great price because this kit has only sold around $70 for the last six months or so. This deal does come with a free 60-liter carbonator if you want to do a mail-in rebate, but you could also get it for $5 more from Best Buy where the carbonator comes with the package.

This is our favorite soda maker. The Sodastream Jet replaced the Mastrad Purefizz as our pick back in August based on customer service issues with the latter company. In her piece, Jamie Wiebe said “if you’re looking for an at-home solution to your seltzer addiction and aren’t willing or able to go the DIY route, the Jet is the best option. It’s simple to use, makes decent-tasting seltzer water, has a CO2 tank that lasts for about 40-60 liters, and is one of the most eco-friendly options.”

This starter kit comes with a few flavoring samples, and a small CO2 carbonator. You can bring that empty to a participating store to get a full size tank, and then send in for a $15 rebate.

On Amazon, the Sodastream Jet has a 3.8 star rating with 1,754 reviews. permalink

Wusthof Classic 6-Inch Cook’s Knife

Street Price: $109 MSRP: $140 Deal Price: $50 

This is the lowest price I've ever seen on this knife.

In the time this knife has been selling on Amazon it has never dropped below $100, and this deal cuts that in half (get it?). It’s sold by a third party, Swiss Knife Shop, so there is no Prime shipping but it’s still free.

Amazon and a few other sites are currently running a deep discount on the 6-inch version of our favorite German forged chef’s knife. Although we prefer the 8-inch model, because it can handle everything from breaking down a chicken to dicing garlic, it’s also a big knife. The smaller version may fit smaller hands better, and it’s probably a nicer size overall for things like chopping nuts and herbs.

We chose Wusthof’s Classic line of knives for our favorite knife block set, as well. All of the knives we tried in the Classic line have been well balanced, really sharp, and keep edges well. They feel substantial in your palm, and with a full tang and solid construction, we feel these knives will last many years. We’ve used the Classic set for over a year-and-a-half and have not complaints. All the Wusthof Classic knives come with a lifetime warranty.

The Wusthof Classic 6-Inch Cook’s Knife receives 4.8 stars of 132 Amazon user reviews. permalink

Glad Tall Kitchen Drawstring Trash Bags, White, 13 Gallon, 100 Bags/Box

Street Price: $13 MSRP: $16 Deal Price: $10 for 100 

Paying for shipping ruins this deal. Just get it shipped-to-store to avoid that.

This actually matches a similar deal I’ve seen from Staples before. Of course, the street price has lowered quite a bit, but this is still a decent price. Order them shipped to store or find them in a local store to avoid any shipping charges.

This is the best deal we’ve found for our favorite kitchen trash bags, which, in our testing, held over 60 pounds of trash. A 90 pack usually retails for around $16, so getting 100 for $10 from Staples comes out at more than a 35 percent discount.

In our trash bag guide, Josh Centers found that Glad’s Tall Kitchen Drawstring bags were the only ones that didn’t tear when filled with pointy objects, and that even after repeated lifting, the drawstring handles didn’t rip. We love these bags, and think they’re the best you’ll find for keeping holiday gatherings tidy.

Glad Tall Kitchen Drawstring Trash Bags are recommended by Consumer Reports and Good Housekeeping, and has 4.7 stars of 463 Amazon user reviews. permalink

GE 1,200-Watt Countertop Microwave White

Street Price: $170 MSRP: $170 Deal Price: $129 

This is the white version of our favorite microwave at the lowest price I've ever seen.

Looks like Lowe’s is running some clearance sales on the less popular versions of our favorite microwave. The white version is really cheap at $129. That’s the lowest price I’ve ever seen, and it definitely beats out other retailers like Home Depot where it’s $170 and Sears where it’s $240. The shipping is free but you’ll probably pay some tax.

Like I said, the stainless steel version of this microwave is our best recommendation. Ganda Suthivarakom said she likes it because it has “a roomy interior with a 16-inch turntable that’s big enough to handle a 13×9 baking dish with handles with room to spare or two side plates. If all you want is to press Add 30 Seconds until your food is done, this is a great model with quick, even cooking.”

On Lowe’s, the white version has 4.5 stars based on 185 customer reviews. permalink

Riedel Ouverture Magnum Red Wine Glass Set of 8

Street Price: $80 MSRP: $80 Deal Price: $60

This isn't a low price sort of deal but you can get a couple bonus glasses with a set of 6 right now.

Update: That brief deal from 6pm is done. Can still get 8 glasses for $60 (which is the same price as a set of 6) from Amazon.

These wine glasses are normally sold in a set of 4 or 6. The set of 4 goes for $40-45 right now on Amazon and the set of 6 sells for $60. Well, if you need a couple extra glasses Riedel is offering a set of 6 that includes 2 bonus glasses for free.

These are our pick for the best wine glasses. Eve O’Neill said “While it doesn’t excel at presenting any particular wine, it does a very good job of presenting just about everything, even Champagne and liquor. What’s more, its shorter stem makes it much more stable than the competition, which is always a good thing when you’re talking about objects that spend the majority of their time in the vicinity of tipsy people.”

On Amazon, this set has 4.4 stars based on 92 user reviews. permalink

Kryptonite KryptoLok Series 2 Standard Bicycle U-Lock with 4-Foot Flex Cable via 9to5Toys

Street Price: $43 MSRP: $50 Deal Price: $30 with code EMCP11410163164 

Just use the code EMCP11410163164 in your shopping cart to knock the price down to $30 with free shipping. BuyDig had a similar deal on this lock recently that knocked it down to $31. These are the best deals I’ve seen on this lock since 2013 and it includes free shipping.

This is our favorite bike lock. Eric Hansen put in hours of research into these locks, including interviews with journalists, bikers and even bike thieves. He eventually picked the KryptoLok as the best lock and said he likes it because it’s “strong, light, easily transportable and comes with insurance you might actually use. Deployed correctly, it’ll keep you rolling for years to come and prevent any unnecessary debates with thick, tattooed ex-cons.”

On Amazon, the KryptoLok has 4.3 stars based on 907 user reviews. permalink

Vitamix 5200 Blender Super Package

Street Price: $500 MSRP: $550 Deal Price: $450 

This is the regular price of the blender but it includes the dry goods jar and a starting cookbook.

Update: We’ve linked to the online version of this blender that Costco is selling, but if you’re not looking to spend that much you should know Costco has a regular in-store sale on the Vitamix 5200. In that sale they lower the price of the regular blender, with no attachments or extra jar or anything, from $450 to $375.

This is really only a deal if you’re in the market for a Vitamix and you want to mill your own grains. The price of this package includes our favorite blender, the Vitamix 5200, along with the standard 64-ounce wet blending jar and the 32-ounce dry blade container (a value of $50). Basically, for the same price that a Vitamix 5200 usually sells for (roughly $450) you’re also getting the dry blending jar. This deal is from Costco, so if you don’t have a membership they’ll tag on an extra $22.50 at checkout.

For our blender guide, we found that the Vitamix 5200 was by far the most efficient and versatile blender around. It makes silky smoothies and purees, it can tackle difficult jobs like blending peanut butter, as well as more nuanced tasks like mayonnaise. Vitamix makes many models, but we found that the classic 5200 was the favorite of nearly every expert we asked. It comes with a stellar 7-year warranty, and several of the experts we spoke with said they’d been using their 5200’s for a decade or longer.

Christine Cyr Clisset said the dry blade container is one of the things that sets the 5200 apart and is “a handy feature if you’re gluten-free or want to start using fresh, whole grains in baked goods.”

On Amazon, the Vitamix 5200 has 4.6 stars based on 256 user reviews. permalink

Stanley FatMax 25-foot Tape Measure 2-Pack

Street Price: $34 MSRP: $74 Deal Price: $20 

You'll have to go to a local Home Depot for this deal, but you get an extra tape measure for free.

Think of this as a “Buy One, Get One Free” sort of deal. The price of this 2-pack is now the price of a single tape measure. The biggest caveat here is that the deal is in-store only, but you can order it online and have it shipped to any local Home Depot for free. If you find yourself asking “Why would I need two of these?” then this deal probably isn’t for you (and that’s okay!). However, the way I see it this would be a great fit on a job site where you might need more than one or the spare one could be a holiday gift for the tool-lover in your life.

In our article on the best tape measure, this one was considered a step-up pick for its durability. It is tough as nails tape that can survive multiple drops off an 8-foot ladder, and it really will only die if you accidentally cut its tape in half on a miter saw (don’t ask how we know this). In the original review, tool expert Doug Mahoney confirms that the tape is basically indestructible: “I’ve personally had a lot of experience using this tape and can attest to its brute durability. I’ve seen it go off scaffolding, down stairs and off roofs.” Beyond that, the tape has a wide 1-1/4-inch tape that can extend over 11 feet without buckling. That’s really helpful when you need to reach it up to measure something tall—but, of course, it can check the square footage of a bedroom, too.

On Amazon, this tape measure has 4.2 stars based on 277 user reviews. permalink

Combine 3 Pieces of Holiday Kitchen Gear, Get 10% Off

One Possible Combo: Street Price: $76 MSRP: $76 Deal Price: $68 

This list from Amazon contains a bunch of our favorite pieces of gear that you can combine for 10% off.

If you need to gear up for a big Thanksgiving dinner, some of our picks are 10% off if you buy three from Amazon. Buy our step up scale, the OXO Stainless Steel Food Scale ($50), our favorite peeler, the OXO Good Grips Pro Swivel Peeler  ($13), and our favorite potato masher, the OXO Good Grips Smooth Potato Masher ($13) together and you get them for $68 instead of $76. Not a huge savings, but if you’re already stocking up on stuff for the holidays (or are looking for some good presents), these are solid tools that rarely go on sale. In fact, the potato masher and peeler have been selling at $13 for several years with little change. Make sure you choose items sold by Amazon.com, not other sellers, to take advantage of the sale.

The OXO scale is a longtime favorite of ours and the step up option in our guide to kitchen scales. The 11 lb. scale comes with a tare function, a bright blue backlight, can switch between ounces and grams, and has a pull out display, handy when you’re weighing things in big bowls or platters. Cook’s Illustrated gives it their top nod, and it got raves from Saveur and the New York Times. The OXO scale gets 4.5 stars from over 500 reviews.

In our tests, the OXO Good Grips Pro Swivel Peeler  tackled even thick-skinned butternut squash and tangled celery fibers with ease. Writer Christine Cyr Clisset said, “Where the OXO Pro really excels beyond the other models is in comfort and durability. The die-cast zinc bridge gives the peeler a wonderful weight, and the smooth silicone handle feels nicer in the hand than any of the others. After a while, I found I didn’t want to set this peeler down.” It gets an impressive 4.7 stars from over 200 reviews on Amazon.

We’re still working on our potato masher guide, but our new pick is the OXO Good Grips Smooth Masher. It made the smoothest mashed potatoes in the least amount of time, thanks to a unique grid shape and a short, horizontal handle that allows you to mash in a punching motion rather than a churning motion. It was lauded by the New York Times and recommended by Cook’s Illustrated (subscription required). It gets 4.4 stars out of over 100 reviews.

If you’ve already got one of the aforementioned items, a few more of our picks are on the sale list: the Metrokane Vertical Rabbit (the “also great” corkscrew), the True Fabrications Truetap (our favorite corkscrew), the OXO Good Grips Locking Can Opener with Lid Catch (our favorite can opener), the OXO Good Grips Pepper Grinder (our step down pepper grinder), the OXO Steel Pie Server (our favorite pie server), and the Emile Henry 9-inch pie dish (our favorite pie plate). permalink

Rain-X Latitude 24-Inch Wiper Blades x 2

Street Price: $30-36 MSRP: $46 Deal Price: $24 

This isn't a deal for every car, but if you need bigger blades this should probably save you some money.

This is a good deal for most sizes of wiper blades. For example, the 24-inch blades (the best-selling size) usually cost about $35 for a pair, $30 at the cheapest, so you’re saving a few bucks. But if you need 20-inch blades, this isn’t a deal at all—those only cost about $22.66 per pair. It all depends on your car, but you’ll probably save a few bucks with this offer. Amazon lets you put in the details of your car to see what sizes work for you. It’s also worth noting that shipping will only be free if you’re a Prime member, and if you aren’t then this deal really won’t save you anything.

It’s important with this deal that the wiper blades you’re buying are coming from Amazon and not a third-party on Amazon’s marketplace. You’ll know if it worked because when you add 2 of them, the discount will automatically be applied at the checkout screen.

These are our favorite windshield wiper blades. We like the Rain-X Latitudes because “they’ll do the job of keeping your windshield clear of rain and snow, and they’ll perform well throughout their life cycle (which can vary from nine to 18 months, depending on driving conditions).” They’re beam-style wiper blades, which are more durable than bracket-style blades and tend to work better in winter weather because ice can’t build up and cause streaking or skipping. In Consumer Reports’ testing, they were the only blades to retain “Very Good” performance after 6 months of regular use. Plenty of users from wintery climates write that they work well in the cold, dark months. permalink

Kenmore Elite Front-Load Steam Washer and Kenmore Elite Electric Steam Dryer

Street Price: $900 (each) MSRP: $1,300 (each) Deal Price: $700 (each) 

These two machines are currently on clearance and selling for a really low price.

Sears is having a Clearance sale on our favorite washer and dryer. As far as I can tell these two have never dropped this low in price, and they were even priced up to $1,100 pretty recently. This drop to $700 is a big change from that and about as good as you’re going to see. The deal includes free shipping, too.

These two machines are our favorite washer and dryer. We like the washer because when it first came out it won Best of the Year and Editor’s Choice from Reviewed.com, a “recommended” rating from Consumer Reports, its “Accel-Wash” feature can finish a load quickly, and it’s generally more affordable than the competition.

We also like the dryer because it offers a number of interesting features while still being affordable “like a very accurate moisture detection system that doesn’t over dry your clothes, and a steam option. This feature can be useful in a dryer, leading to fewer creases, easier ironing and less odor.” permalink

More about our deal process: When I’m looking for deals, I start with deal-gathering sites like dealcatcher.com and dealdump.com, curating all the dozens of deals that come in each week to filter out the gems, and eliminate the deals that really aren’t doing anyone any good. It’s more than just putting time into sorting through lists; it’s also about finding the items that were probably worth buying before they were ever on sale because a deal isn’t really a deal if the product still isn’t very good. I run the deals by the senior writers at The Sweethome and check user and editorial reviews before checking with camelcamelcamel.com and other price tracking tools to see if the price will likely drop or if it has been lower in the past. In the end, I’m left with just a few really good deals. Fewer than many other sites would have youbelieve.
To send this guide via email, fill out the fields below:
Message Sent!
Oops! Please try again
Send
  • Alexei S

    it seems the Delta deal is over… it shows at $159 on Amazon.

    • Matt Groener

      Look closely. I just bought it last night and the price is taken at checkout only.

  • mce

    The ‘less expensive but still great recommendation’ Snapware Total Solution glass food storage containers is on sale at Costco as of 9/5 for $23.99. This is $6 off the regular price and $21 off the Amazon price.

    • J.D. Levite

      So… I don’t see that. At least, not online. Did you see this in-store? If it was online could you provide a link?

      • mce

        It’s an in-store only deal. You can see the ad here: http://www.costco.com/warehouse-coupon-offers.html. It’s buried in about the 18th row on the far left.

        • J.D. Levite

          Thanks! Always appreciate the deal-finding help!

        • idlewild

          Do I need a Costco membership to buy these in store?

          • J.D. Levite

            Yah, that’s generally how Costco works. In fact, some don’t let you in unless you have your membership card (although this isn’t really enforced from what I’ve seen.)

          • Actionable_Mango

            A loophole to the membership requirement is to buy Costco Gift Cards. You can make purchases with those without a membership.

          • J.D. Levite

            Nice tip!

  • sygyzy

    Out of stock at Best Buy. The nearest 10 stores to me all have “unavailable” stock.

  • mce

    The Cuisinart Food Processor has dropped to $162 (from $179): http://amzn.to/19akr40

    • J.D. Levite

      Someone’s making a bid for my job I see… Just kidding. You can’t have it. We’re writing this one up, too, but like I’m putting in the write-up, it’s not the lowest price it’s ever been. I just think because it’s been around so long, you can make a case that it’s a decent deal because it’s one of the best prices it has been recently. But if you’re patient, you’re probably better off waiting a couple months for the holidays because that’s when products like this drop more (down to $150 last Black Friday).

      • mce

        Nah, I have a job I like just fine! I use Ookong for to monitor stuff I want to get eventually, so it notifies me of price drops. I just like to be helpful so it only takes a minute to give you a heads up. Before I knew how to find stuff on my own, I benefited from people sharing these kind of deals, so I’m just paying it forward. Now you have to think of that terrible Helen Hunt/Haley Joel Osment movie.

        • J.D. Levite

          That poor kid. Could’ve been a star but someone told him Helen Hunt was a good actress.

          And no worries, I like the heads-up. I like that the readers get involved in the discussion and post about the deals they want to see. So keep it going, I say.

          How accurate is Ookong? You like it? I use a couple of different ones myself, but I particularly like Camelcamelcamel. Accurate, fast, separates third party vendors… very good. Decide.com was good cause it tracked multiple retailers at once but they sold to eBay and are shutting down.

          • mce

            I like Ookong pretty well, but I have to adjust the notifications or else I get pinged like crazy every time something changes by an insignificant amount. I also use the InvisibleHand extension to let me know if it’s cheaper somewhere else. I’ll have to check out that Humpday one you recommended.

  • mce

    The best shower caddy is $22.49 ($7.50 savings) at Macy’s until 10/6: http://bit.ly/15J2s3U

    • J.D. Levite

      Unfortunately at Macy’s you can only get free shipping with orders $99 or more. Costs me $10 shipping. Amazon’s $30 caddy plus free shipping is cheaper.

      • mce

        Oh, well I was just planning to go to the Macy’s a few blocks from my house!

        • J.D. Levite

          Ah, yah, if you can get it in-store it’s a good deal.

  • idlewild

    Ryobi make crap drills. Check out Makita, Bosch, Festool and even Milwaukee FUEL. The only thing comparable to a Ryobi would be a DeWalt. Ugh.

    • McGillis

      I used to work for Ryobi/Ridgid/Milwaukee…The drill isn’t bad, but the batteries are awful. If you get longer than two years use out of them you’re lucky.

      In my opinion, a homeowner would be much better served with a 12v Milwaukee/DeWalt/Makita/Bosch product. Lighter weight, better batteries, can do 90% of the things your 18v drill does. M12 system from Milwaukee would be my reco.

  • idlewild

    The Ryobi drill is a POS.

  • Bill Stigler

    The Fiesta 10.5″ Dinner Plate is available at Amazon for $9.99 and eligible for free shipping at $35 total or Amazon Prime if you have it. But first you have to know the trick to getting this price. If you search for “Fiesta 10.5″ Dinner Plate”, you’ll land on the page offering the item from Casas.com – an Amazon subsidiary – or some other 3rd party supplier for 11.99 + 5.99 shipping. But look down to the lower right under “More Buying Choices” and you’ll likely see Amazon itself at the top of the list. (I say “likely” because I don’t think this deal will last forever.) Click on the Amazon option to get the single item plate 9.99 plus free shipping or Prime. Go to your cart to up the count to, say, four and you’ll get free shipping for 39.96 total.

    I’m not sure this will work for all colors but it did for my choice of tangerine. Also, when I followed the link to Macy’s, it was also down to 9.99. (So I’m guessing here that Amazon and Macy’s are in a price war on this item till at least Dec 2nd.) However, I didn’t stick around long enough to see the shipping charges. And in my state, there would be a hefty sales tax as well if you attempt in-store pick-up so Amazon is the better deal by far.

  • Bill Stigler

    Yesterday at my local Costco, I noticed the Philips Norelco 1250X SensoTouch 3D Electric Razor is on sale at 109.99 + tax, which should bring it up to about $123. (In my state, sales tax is applied on the original retail price – $139, in this case.) This deal is good till Dec 1st. So for a few bucks more than Amazon, you might be able to get it locally with the great return policy that Costco is famous for, if that’s what you prefer.

  • sygyzy

    Can you guys give us a sneak peek of the new picks for the razor article? Don’t tell us to buy this razor now because it’s on sale, only for us to find out next week that you picked Model XYZ that performs better and is available for $30 less.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Do you subscribe to our newsletter? We often do a variation of a ‘sneak peek’ at some guides in the coming week. Can’t guarantee that the razor will be included, but it’s definitely one way to have the edge just in case (excuse the pun, I couldn’t help myself!).

      Newsletter signup page:
      http://thesweethome.us5.list-manage1.com/subscribe/post?u=570aa9140d54361ad5a594320&id=e23d0abb6f

    • J.D. Levite

      For the record, I always check with our writers and editors about our deals. I wouldn’t call it a “deal” at all if our new pick was cheaper because our new pick would be better than our old pick…

  • danar

    The review for the best sheets should be redone because I don’t think you can really review the best sheets without also looking into the Italian sheets.

    Instead, those Italian sheets and other bedding were excluded and not even evaulated because they were above an arbirtrary price and thus deemed too expensive.

    But, some of those Italian sheets cost just as much as the Miele Twist or the Vitamix, winners in other Sweethome categories.

    If we’re going to exclude the Italian sheets because they’re too expensive, then shouldn’t the Vitamix and the Twist have never been tested because they’re also too expensive?

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ Jacqui Cheng

      Hi there. The idea is to find the best product for the money spent. High-end or expensive items aren’t always ruled out entirely based on price, but they are often ruled out because what you get FOR that price isn’t enough. We usually find (as we did in the sheet review) that you can get something really great for an OK price without having to go crazy on the high end unless you really want to. That’s what tends to appeal to most people, which is why we angle our guides that way.

  • signup

    Re: the Oxo scale. Bed Bath and Beyond always has 20% off coupons for most of the product they carry, often resulting in prices better than available elsewhere. In this case the scale would only be $40. I use the coupons all the time, great easy way to save on a lot of stuff.

  • Marcel726

    Cree LED light bulbs have dropped in price along with the release of the 100w replacement. Not sure if it is a permanent drop or not. Might be worth a mention…

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      In store? Or online?

  • Lee Stabler

    Checked today and that kettle is already back to $86.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Thanks for the heads up!

  • Alexei S

    Just tried the SmartWool – the site tells me “Coupon code “LUV4MOM” is not valid.”

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Thanks for the note!

  • Marius Piedallu van Wyk

    Keep in mind it does not come with a tamper. (some say it is not needed) But if you have a larger container, you won’t be able to use that tamper with this smaller container.

  • Ibai

    The L.L. Bean coupon is not working for me.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      I believe it is expired. Sorry!

  • Kenneth Rodriguez

    I believe the sale for ThermoWorks Splash-Proof Super-Fast Brown Thermapen is over.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      I see it as $85 right now. So even cheaper than the $88 we have listed.

      • Kenneth Rodriguez

        When I try to add to cart I get a page that says “document.write(‘This item is no longer available.n’);”

        • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

          Got the same error. They may have ended it or sold out. Thanks for the note!

  • amy324

    I had trouble with using the GOLDEN code on the JC Penney web site. I had to place the order over the phone. That was no problem. Got the 50% off.

    • http://thewirecutter.com/ tony kaye

      Just tested and it worked on the website. Glad it worked over the phone for you too.

  • bearicks

    I was actually waiting for good price on a decent blender for a while now and when I saw the deal on the oster versa I was uber excited. Unfortunately, it seems to be 200 on amazon now and the official oster website says it sold out. doh.