The Best Slow Cooker

When it comes to a reliable, easy-to-use slow cooker, we’d invest in the Hamilton Beach 6-Quart Programmable Set & Forget. We first picked the Set & Forget in 2013, and after making a half dozen fork-tender roasts, gallons of chicken and pork stock, and big batches of no-hassle beans (that are far more tasty and economical than the canned variety) over the course of nearly three years, we’re still thoroughly satisfied by this machine. In our most recent tests, it again proved better than the competition. It’s not fancy and performs about as well as many other cookers, but after 78 hours of research and testing, we’ve found that its intuitive interface, locking lid, and modest price make it the best deal for your money. It’s also the only slow cooker that comes with a heat probe to monitor the doneness of roasts, which we think makes it especially practical.

Last Updated: December 3, 2015
We tested two new slow cookers this fall, but again found that the Hamilton Beach 6-Quart Programmable Set & Forget, our favorite from the past two years, offers the best value for performance. If you want a longer, 20-hour timer, we’d get the Crock-Pot Programmable Cook and Carry Oval Slow Cooker, and we still recommend the Crock-Pot SCV400B 4-Quart Oval Manual Slow Cooker as a smaller cooker.
Expand Most Recent Updates
January 22, 2015: We've been using the Hamilton Beach 33969A 6-Quart Programmable Set & Forget for nearly a year and we still think this is a great slow cooker. The price, however, seems to have bumped on certain sites. We'd only buy this if you can find it for $50 or less.
May 9, 2014: After learning of a few complaints of quality issues from Amazon customers and concerns over our pick's maximum 14-hour timer, we researched Hamilton Beach's warranty policy and found an alternative pick (Crock-Pot's Programmable Touchscreen) for those who might need a longer timer.
April 11, 2014: Added the newest model of the Hamilton Beach Set & Forget (model 33969A) as our new pick. As with the older model (33967A), which was our previous pick, we like the locking lid, heat probe, and flexible digital interface. We also added a dismissal of the Crock-Pot Cook & Carry, which we tested but didn’t love.
January 30, 2014: Amazon still has our pick in stock, but to get the best price (and free shipping) make sure to select "Amazon packaging" on the product page instead of "standard packaging."
Hamilton Beach 6-quart Programmable Set & Forget
It’s not fancy, but the intuitive interface, locking lid, and modest price have made it the best deal for your money three years running—and it’s the only slow cooker with a heat probe to monitor the doneness of roasts and other meats.

We should mention that we don’t think there’s a perfect slow cooker on the market. We found that every model has particular flaws, and most of these machines–ranging from $30 to $180–seem to cook too hot. Furthermore, the biggest difference between them seems to be their features, not their cooking ability.1 However, the Set & Forget outperformed much more expensive models, and once we started asking experts, it kept cropping up as a favorite.

Also Great
Crock-Pot Programmable Cook and Carry Oval
For a little more money than our top pick, you lose the heat probe and an alarm but gain a longer timer and a more modern-looking display.

If the Set & Forget sells out, or if its price goes higher than around $50, we recommend the Crock-Pot Programmable Cook and Carry Oval Slow Cooker. It costs more and lacks a heat probe and on/off alarm. But it does cook for 20 hours, compared with the Set & Forget’s 14, and looks more up-to-date (because it is); we like its handles and locking mechanism a little better, too.

Also Great

*At the time of publishing, the price was $30.

Crock-Pot SCV400B 4-Quart Oval
This 4-quart cooker doesn’t have fancy features or a built-in timer, but it’s a good option if you cook for only one or two people.

If you’re fine with a small, old-school slow cooker without bells and whistles (like a timer), the Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker should serve you well. It has excellent user reviews and a low, low price to boot.

Table of contents

Why you should trust us

For this guide, we sought advice from the best slow-cooker experts we could find: Phyllis Pellman Good, author of the New York Times best-selling Fix-It and Forget-It cookbook series, and Stephanie O’Dea, author of the New York Times best-selling Make It Fast: Cook It Slow cookbook series and the blog A Year of Slow Cooking. Combined, these authors have logged countless hours making food in a wide range of cookers. We also scoured previous slow-cooker reviews (including those in America’s Test Kitchen and Consumer Reports) to develop a list of qualities that comprise a top-notch slow cooker. Over the past three years, we’ve examined more than 45 top-rated models, and tested a short list of finalists to find the best.

Christine Cyr Clisset, who wrote the original guide, has reviewed a huge variety of kitchen equipment for the Sweethome, including food processors, casserole dishes, and blenders, and has long-term tested the Set & Forget at home to make pulled pork, braised lamb shoulder, chicken, and pork stock overnight. Camille Chatterjee, the other half of our slow-cooker team, has edited recipes and food stories for Self, Redbook, and other publications (and is an avid home cook). For this guide, she researched this past year’s newest models, before choosing two to test against the reigning pick.

Who should get this

“People, at the end of the day, are looking for something they can turn on in the morning and after eight hours the food won’t be completely pulverized or burned or no longer holding texture and flavor.” -Phyllis Pellman Good

If you’re happy with an old-school manual slow cooker, featuring just an on-off switch and high and low settings, there’s no immediate need to switch to a newfangled model. The simplicity of the classic Crock-Pot (really the brand name for the slow cooker that Rival first introduced in 1971) can be appealing, since there are no electronic interfaces to program and, theoretically, less can go wrong with a simpler device (though you will have to remember when to turn the machine off). In fact, our budget pick operates in just this fashion, and well, for a very reasonable price.

But it’s worth paying a little extra for a programmable slow cooker if you’re seeking even more convenience in the kitchenparticularly if you’d like to cook food while you’re out of the house. With these more modern models, you choose the heateither low or highand the cooking time. When the time is up, the machine kicks over to the warming setting. That way, you can prep your food before work and head to the office without worrying about your meal overcooking. Set it and forget it, indeed.

“People, at the end of the day, are looking for something they can turn on in the morning and after eight hours the food won’t be completely pulverized or burned or no longer holding texture and flavor,” Pellman Good said.

If you bring food to dinner parties and other get-togethers regularly, having a slow cooker on hand with a locking lid and silicone gasket to prevent spills can be seriously time-saving (and up your game from the usual lukewarm casseroles and salads). “I have an outlet in the back of my minivan, and I’ve had readers say they actually cook on road trips, and then they just pull over and eat on the way. Certainly for tailgating or potlucking it works great,” O’Dea said.

How we picked and tested

Slow cookers come in a range of sizes, from 1- to 7-quart capacity. The diminutive 1-, 2-, and 3-quart cookers work best for making appetizers, such as dips. Most of these small pots have only manual controls. The next steps up are 4- to 5-quart cookers, which work well for singles and couples who want to make one meal, and maybe a round of leftovers. Most of these are manual machines, although some are programmable (see The competition).

We focused our research on programmable 6- to 7-quart models, because they’re big enough to make a meal for a family of four, with leftovers to spare. America’s Test Kitchen and Consumer Reports also focused their reviews on this size cooker. Both Pellman Good and O’Dea recommended programmable models with timers, locking lids, and a silicone gasket to prevent spills.

To our surprise, Pellman Good recommended using a model with a heat probe. We’d only found this feature on the Hamilton Beach Set & Forget, and had initially discounted it as a gimmick. Yet Pellman Good explained: “I hate overcooked meat. I always encourage people to use a meat thermometer to test a roast to see if it’s done. If you don’t need to lift the lid, it’s really helpful because lifting the lid lets heat out.”

Programmable slow cookers have timers that range from 12 to 26 hours. At first, we thought the longer timer would be an advantage, but Pellman Good pointed out that the longest slow cooker recipes last 8 to 10 hours, so a 12- to 15-hour timer should be sufficient. If food sits at the warming setting too long, you could completely dry out your dish. Some people might appreciate a longer timer (such as those cooking for the Sabbath). In that case, a model like the Crock-Pot Programmable Cook and Carry Oval Slow Cooker, which has a 20-hour timer, may be the best option.

We also considered models with stovetop-safe inserts made of die-cast aluminum and other metals. Theoretically, you can brown your meat in the crock on the stovetop and save yourself an extra dish to wash. However, aluminum doesn’t conduct heat all that evenly. We’d rather sear a roast in a cast-iron skillet, and then transfer the meat to the crock. Even if you did brown the meat in the insert, you’d probably transfer the meat to another dish to drain off the fat from the crock, negating that extra saved dish. If you have a metal insert with non-stick coating, you may notice flecks of it in your food, since that coating can scratch off if it isn’t really tough. That said, the material that non-stick coatings are made of, PTFE, is harmless if ingested and will just pass through your body without incident.

A simple on/off light, so you can tell that the machine is actually cooking, can also prevent headaches. Many of the programmable cookers don’t have this, and sometimes it can be hard to determine at a glance whether the cooker is on. We still think the advantages of a programmable cooker outweigh this feature, though.

Like many small home appliances, most slow cookers come with a one-year limited warranty. All of the machines we tested come with this warranty, so it didn’t really factor into our overall decision-making process. The limited warranty doesn’t cover the ceramic crock or glass lid (they’ll only fix manufacturer’s defects to the electronics for free).

Armed with this criteria, we scoured every review we could find and read up on more than 40 top-rated models. Not surprisingly, the most thorough reviews of slow cookers came from America’s Test Kitchen and Consumer Reports. Both had the clearest methodology and reviewed the most cookers.

From our research we found that programmable models in the $50 to $80 range fared just as well, if not better, than pricier machines made by All-Clad, KitchenAid, and Cuisinart. The more expensive models tended to have a sleeker design, but not much beyond that.

For our original testing, in the spring of 2013, we tried the Crock-Pot 6.5-Quart Programmable Touchscreen and Hamilton Beach’s 6-Quart Programmable (33967) Set & Forget, which was highly recommended by both Pellman Good and O’Dea and emerged as our top pick.

The following year, Hamilton Beach introduced a new model of the Set & Forget (the 33969); we pitted it against the Crock-Pot 6-Quart Cook & Carry Digital Slow Cooker with Heat-Saver, but our winner remained the Set & Forget.

Since then, a slow cooker not covered in our original guide has emerged as the number-one choice on Amazon.com: the Crock-Pot Programmable Cook and Carry Oval Slow Cooker. And in the spring of 2015, Crock-Pot also released the first smart cooker, the Wifi-Enabled WeMo 6-Quart Slow Cooker. We decided to test both of these against our top pick.

This low, moist heat helps dissolve connective tissues in tougher cuts of meat and breaks down fibrous vegetables and beans.

Earlier, we mentioned that a universal complaint for most modern slow cookers is that they run too hot, even on the low setting. Ideally, the cooking liquid should simmer between roughly 190 degrees and somewhere below the boiling point of 212 degrees (America’s Test Kitchen found this to be the best range). This low, moist heat helps dissolve connective tissues in tougher cuts of meat and breaks down fibrous vegetables and beans. Boiling is a sure path to stringy roasts and dried-out sauces.

To determine how hot each of the machines cooked, we filled each crock with 4 quarts of water and measured the temperature of the water every half hour on both the low and high settings. We then tested for hot spots by cooking a batch of beans in each machine, noting whether the beans cooked evenly and how much liquid evaporated over a span of six to eight hours. In our original test, we also cooked 4-pound rump roasts in the Hamilton Beach Set & Forget and the Crock-Pot Programmable Touchscreen. Most recently, we cooked 3-pound chuck roasts in the Set & Forget, the Crock-Pot Programmable Cook and Carry, and the Wifi-Enabled Slow Cooker.

Additionally, we judged whether the programmable timers were easy to use, whether the hardware felt sturdy, and if there were any quirks in the design that made the cookers difficult or impractical to use.

Our pick

Hamilton Beach 6-quart Programmable Set & Forget
It’s not fancy, but the intuitive interface, locking lid, and modest price have made it the best deal for your money three years running—and it’s the only slow cooker with a heat probe to monitor the doneness of roasts and other meats.

Although the Hamilton Beach 33969 Set & Forget Programmable Slow Cooker isn’t the most luxurious or sleekest-looking machine out there, it does everything it should at a very modest price. It has the largest digital display of the models we tested, making it the easiest to read from across the kitchen, and its interface was the simplest to use. It cooks at true slow-cooking temperatures, unlike others we tried that ran too hot. Its locking lid also makes it more portable. We like that the Set & Forget has an alarm that rings at the start and the end of the cooking cycle–a helpful feature many newer, fancier cookers, like the others we tested, omit. Finally, the Set & Forget was the only slow cooker we found that included a temperature probe.

The Set & Forget’s digital interface wasn’t as modern looking as the ones on the Wifi Cooker or the Cook and Carry. It was, however, easy to program and the easiest to read from a distance, with large letters and numbers telling you what temperature the machine is set to and how much cooking time is left. That’s especially true compared with the Wifi Cooker, which had no digital display at all, only a power button and lit-up words telling you whether its temperature was High, Low, or Warm–its timer can be viewed only through an app on your smartphone or tablet.

On the Set & Forget’s programmable setting, you simply enter a cooking time and temperature (low or high), and at the end of the cooking cycle the machine kicks over to the warming setting. If using the heat probe, the machine heats up until the meat has reached a specified temperature, then switches to the warming setting. The manual mode allows you to use the machine like an old-school cooker: Just turn it on and it stays on until you shut it off. We like how much flexibility this interface gives you.

We like the Set & Forget's easy-to-read interface, locking lid, and heat probe. Photo: Camille Chaterjee

We like the Set & Forget’s easy-to-read interface, locking lid, and heat probe. Photo: Camille Chatterjee

slow-cookers-hamilton-beach-set-and-forget-touchscreen

The Set & Forget uses large, backlit letters that are easy to see from across a room. Photo: Christine Cyr Clisset

In our tests, the Set & Forget consistently cooked at or just below a modest simmer–perfect for braising meats and vegetables. After six hours on the low setting, water heated to a steady 190°; after three hours on high it leveled off at 210°. (The Cook and Carry and Wifi Cooker ran slightly hotter than America Test Kitchen’s recommended high temperature of 212°, leveling off at 214° and 213° after four hours on high, respectively.)

The Set & Forget’s sturdy locking lid makes it great for travel, or even to safely move the full crock from one part of the kitchen to another. We also think this design will give you more peace of mind if you have small children or rowdy pets in the house. The Wifi Cooker, by comparison, doesn’t have a locking lid or gasket; we wouldn’t feel comfortable transporting it anywhere.

slow-cookers-hamilton-beach-set-and-forget-wiring

The Set & Forget heat probe connects to a jack, and the internal temperature of roast pops up on the digital interface. Photo: Christine Cyr Clisset

We appreciate the alarm that sounds when the Set & Forget starts and ends cooking. This made it easy to program the machine and know that the cooking cycle had actually started. We disliked that there was no such alarm on either the Wifi Cooker or the Crock-Pot Programmable Cook and Carry; in fact, we didn’t know whether the latter machine had really started cooking until the first minute had counted down on the timer.

The Set & Forget was the only slow cooker we found that offered a heat probea feature Pellman Good touted. We found the 5.5-inch probe a tad short to stick into the 4-pound roast we tested the first year, it slid easily into the outer third of our 3-pound roast this year (probably because the meat was spread out over a bed of vegetables this time), and we do think this feature will be useful for cooking larger pieces of meat. One end of the probe plugs into the cooker and the other sticks through a hole in the lid so you can insert it into a roast. The internal temperature of the roast pops up on the digital interface, so you don’t need to continually lift the lid to take the temperature with a regular meat thermometer (as you’d need to do with any other cooker).

The Set & Forget has a 14-hour timermeaning the machine will turn off after 14 hours, whether still cooking or on the warm setting. Some people want a slow cooker with a longer timer (those cooking for the Sabbath, for example), but for food safety reasons we wouldn’t recommend leaving food at the warming setting for too long. As Pellman Good told us: “Most recipes I work with I would say have a maximum cooking time of about eight hours. There are food safety issues to letting food sit at warm all day.” For this reason, we didn’t consider timer length to be an important criterion in choosing our top pick. That said, if you’re looking for longer cook times, the Cook and Carry has a 20-hour timer, and the Wifi Cooker has a 24-hour timer.

The Hamilton Beach Set & Forget Programmable Slow Cooker was recommended as a budget pick by Consumer Reports and receives 4.4 stars of 998 Amazon user reviews.

Flaws but not dealbreakers

We wish the heat probe was longer. We also wish the 24-inch plug were a few inches longer, which would make it easier to use on a crowded counter.

The handles on the Crock-Pot Programmable Cook and Carry were bigger and easier to grip than those on the Set & Forget, with a larger hole for fingers to fit into; its locking mechanism felt slightly more secure, thanks to large plastic pieces atop the metal loops on each side of the machine that snap onto hooks on the lid. The Set & Forget’s alarm and probe features were enough to make up for the lower quality of its handles and lock, though.

slow-cookers-hamilton-beach-set-and-forget-handles

We’d like it if the handles were a little bigger on the Hamilton Beach Set & Forget. They’re a little hard to hold, especially when the crock is full. Photo: Christine Cyr Clisset

We did read some Amazon complaints about the Set & Forget’s timer randomly shutting off after only 9, 10, or 12 hours. This is clearly a defect in those machines, but we don’t think it’s a widespread enough problem to discount this model. In fact, all of the slow cooker models we looked at receive a certain number of complaints about defective electronics and crocks cracking.

Long-term testing notes

After nearly three years of use, we’re still totally satisfied with this cooker’s programmable timer settings and the locking lid, which makes it easy to move the machine from one counter to the next. Our only complaint is an issue characteristic of most slow cookers. Because the lid fits tightly, braising liquid doesn’t end up as condensed and flavorful as that from a dish cooked in a Dutch oven, or perhaps even from a cooker with a less tight-fitting lid.

That aside, we would still take the Set & Forget’s gasketed and locking lid over one that doesn’t, purely for the convenience and less worry of a pet, child, or accident-prone adult knocking the the cooker over. And if you prefer a more condensed liquid, it’s easy enough to cook it down on the stovetop.

Runner-up

Also Great
Crock-Pot Programmable Cook and Carry Oval
For a little more money than our top pick, you lose the heat probe and an alarm but gain a longer timer and a more modern-looking display.

We think the Hamilton Beach 6-Quart Programmable Set & Forget offers the best overall value of any slow cooker out there. If you can’t find it for $50 or under, or at all, though, or if you find you need a timer that goes longer than 14 hours (which is the upper limit on the Set & Forget), we recommend the highly reviewed and easy-to-use Crock-Pot Programmable Cook and Carry Oval Slow Cooker.

The Cook and Carry has a 20-hour timer. Keep in mind that most people wouldn’t want nor need to keep their food in a slow cooker for 20 hours–not only will it tend to get mushy, but there may also be food safety issues when keeping food at a warm setting for multiple hours. However, we’ve read that cooks making a Sabbath meal like having the longer timer.

Overall, we think the Cook and Carry is a nice machine, and we actually found it to be sleeker and more compact than the Set & Forget. Its push-button display is more modern and attractive than the one on the Set & Forget, its handles are larger and easier to grip, and its locking mechanism snaps into place more securely. However, we didn’t find that it cooked any better than our top pick, and it ran 2 degrees hotter on average. It also lacks a heat probe and an on/off alarm, despite being about $10 pricier at some outlets.

Note: Both the Cook and Carry and the Wifi Cooker emitted a rubbery, burning-like smell when they were first used–something several Amazon reviewers noticed as well. When contacted, Crock-Pot, their manufacturer, had this to say: “During the first few uses, there will be a burn off smell and light smoke which is caused by the dust from the warehouse packaging and is safe, normal and expected.” The smell does seem to dissipate over time and washings. The Cook and Carry Oval Slow Cooker is Amazon’s best seller among all the slow cookers they sell, and receives 4.3 stars from 1,763 user reviews.

Also great

Also Great

*At the time of publishing, the price was $30.

Crock-Pot SCV400B 4-Quart Oval
This 4-quart cooker doesn’t have fancy features or a built-in timer, but it’s a good option if you cook for only one or two people.

If you don’t need the capacity of a 6- or 7- quart cooker, we recommend the Crock-Pot 4-Quart Slow Cooker, recommended by Real Simple. You’ll have to manually turn it off since, as with other cookers this size, it doesn’t have a timer, but it has great Amazon reviews and it’s hard to argue with the price.

Care and maintenance

Always turn off and unplug your slow cooker before attempting to clean it, and never submerge the base (the part that plugs into the wall) in water.

Crocks made of out of stoneware (like all of our top picks) and their lids can be washed in the dishwasher. Otherwise, clean them in hot, soapy water, using a cloth, sponge, or rubber spatula rather than abrasive scouring pads. (Because fine ceramic can crack in sudden temperature changes, don’t fill your crock with cold water while it’s still hot.) To bust through stubborn messes, soak the pot in a sink full of hot, soapy water before cleaning; the bloggers at Crock-Pot Ladies also suggest applying baking soda before you scrub.

To keep the display and exterior of your slow cooker sparkling and shiny, wipe it down with a damp rag or sponge spritzed with your favorite household cleaner.

The competition

The Wifi-Enabled WeMo 6-Quart Slow Cooker, newly introduced in 2015, represents an innovation in the slow cooker market: It’s the first “smart” slow cooker. That means you can turn it on and off and adjust the temperature and time remotely from an app on your smartphone (available for both Apple and Android) or tablet. While it cooked a roast just as well as the other machines we tested, it’s missing several features that our experts deem crucial, like a rubber gasket seal and locking lid. There’s no timer whatsoever on the machine’s display, which means you can’t pass through the kitchen and check your progress at a quick glance. While we were lucky not to experience any problems with connectivity, CNET notes that if your Wi-Fi goes out, the cooker shuts off, leaving you with food that might not be safe for consumption. This cooker is sleek, turned out a tasty roast, and has a long, retractable cord that we wish more models offered. We can’t recommend it, however, given the very basic features it’s lacking, and the questionable utility of the unique features it does offer. For most people, it simply isn’t worth the extra $100 or so more it costs over our top pick and runner-up.

The display on the Wifi-Enabled WeMo 6-Quart Slow Cooker has no timer--only an on/off button, markings for High, Low, and Warm temperatures, and a light to show that the unit is on. Photo: Michael Sullivan

The display on the Wifi-Enabled WeMo 6-Quart Slow Cooker has no timer–only an on/off button, markings for High, Low, and Warm temperatures, and a light to show that the unit is on. Photo: Michael Sullivan

Crock-Pot SCCPCTS605-S Cook Travel Serve 6-Quart Programmable Slow Cooker: We tested this for our last guide against our top pick because it comes with a temperature gauge that’s supposed to show how hot food is inside the crock. After testing both, we learned that the temperature gauge gave a color coding indicating whether food was hot or cold, but no actual indication of its exact temperature, meaning it was no help in determining whether your meal was safe to eat.

Crock-Pot Programmable Touchscreen Slow Cooker SCVT650-PS, 6.5-Quart, Silver: We tested this for our original 2013 review, and it was our pick if a 14-hour timer wasn’t long enough, but our sleek new runner-up goes just as long–for a lot less money.

Other models we considered but dismissed:

Crock-Pot SCCPVP650AS-S 6.5 Quart Digital Slow Cooker with Smart Cook Technology & iStir Stirring System: This machine automatically stirs your food as it’s cooking. But America’s Test Kitchen found that the stirrer didn’t properly reach the outside of the pot in their testing, leading to uneven cooking.

Crock-Pot SCCPVC605-S-A 6-Quart Countdown Digital Slow Cooker with Little Dipper Warmer: The Little Dipper warming pot this comes with isn’t necessary for most people (as Amazon user reviews bear out) and the pot doesn’t have a locking lid.

Crock-Pot SCVC604HSS 6-Quart Programmable Hinged Smartpot Slow Cooker: Highly reviewed, but no longer available.

All-Clad 9009 Stainless-Steel 6-1/2-Quart Slow Cooker: Receives poor user reviews. Very expensive compared with the competition. Stephanie O’Dea told us that of all the models she’d tried, All-Clad’s was one of her least favorites: “I think All-Clad made a mistake. They need to stick to high end, and slow cookers don’t need to be high end.”

Hamilton Beach 33565 Simplicity 6-Quart Slow Cooker: Didn’t have higher Amazon user reviews. We also didn’t like that this has a latch instead of actual locks for the lid. A Wired review complained that the insert doesn’t fit into the heating element snuggly.

Breville BSC560XL Stainless-Steel 7-Quart Slow Cooker with EasySear Insert: Did not receive better reviews than what we tested.

KitchenAid 6-qt. Slow Cooker with Flip Lid: Very expensive and doesn’t receive better reviews than those we tested.

Hamilton Beach 6-Quart Slow Cooker: If you want a cooker with manual controls, this may be a good option. Yet we prefer the digital controls on the Set & Forget and other cookers we tested.

Hamilton Beach Stovetop-Safe Programmable Slow Cooker: The die-cast aluminum insert allows you to brown meat in the crock, but this hasn’t received enough positive reviews to compete with those we tested.

Cuisinart 4-Quart Programmable Slow Cooker : Expensive for its size. We read complaints about the insert breaking and hard-to-read temperature indicator.

Calphalon 4-Qt. Digital Slow Cooker: Expensive and not more highly reviewed than the Crock-Pot SCV400B 4-Quart manual we chose.

You’ll also find multi-use cookers that braise, roast, sear, and steam, such as the West Bend Versatility Slow Cooker or the much pricier Ninja Cooking System. We didn’t find that these competed purely as slow cookers, but a hybrid machine could be nice if you live in a small space–such as a boat, small apartment, or dorm room–where you could use an extra burner. (Full disclosure: O’Dea is actually a spokesperson for the Ninja Cooking System, a multi-use cooker. But we spoke about slow cookers in general, not the Ninja specifically.)

Footnotes:

1. For this reason, Consumer Reports has stopped reviewing slow cookers, as of January 2015, explaining: “Consumer Reports’ past tests found that slow cookers, with a 6- to 7-quart capacity, turned out tasty spare ribs, pulled pork, honey chicken wings, and apple brown Betty. Prices ranged from $40 to $250 but didn’t predict performance. Even small differences were overshadowed by what and how much was being cooked. What made one slow cooker better, or more convenient, than another was the features. Since we found little difference in overall cooking performance we no longer provide slow cooker Ratings.” Jump back.

To send this guide via email, fill out the fields below:
Message Sent!
Oops! Please try again
Send

Sources

  1. "Slow-Cooker Revolution", America's Test Kitchen
  2. "Slow Cookers", Consumer Reports, March, 2012
  3. Megan Wollerton, Crock-Pot WeMo Smart Slow Cooker review, CNET, June 6, 2014
  4. Phyllis Pellman Good, Author of Fix-It and Forget-It Cookbooks, Interview
  5. Stephanie O'Dea, Author of Make It Fast: Cook It Slow, Interview

Originally published: November 3, 2015

We actively moderate the comments section to make it relevant and helpful for our readers, and to stay up to date with our latest picks. You can read our moderation policy FAQ here.