The Best G-Spot Toys

To share this page via email, fill out the fields below:
Message Sent!
Oops! Please try again

The G-spot (an erogenous zone said to be located on the front wall of the vagina) is a complex and controversial sexological phenomenon. After performing more than 50 hours of research, chatting with six experts (including sex researcher Dr. Debra Herbenick), reading hundreds of reviews of 88 different insertable sex toys, and getting feedback from a panel of six G-spot toy testers, we chose the stainless-steel Njoy Pure Wand as the most appealing toy of all.

Last Updated: August 12, 2016
We’ve added long-term test notes below.
Expand Most Recent Updates
February 2, 2016: For this update we tested eight new toys with recommendations from sex-toy retailers and sex-toy reviewer Epiphora, but our top pick, the stainless-steel Njoy Pure Wand, remains unchanged. If you prefer a more versatile toy, the new runner-up is the Swanvibes Swan Wand, which has independently motorized vibrating ends. Our new budget option is the OhMiBod Lovelife Cuddle. It's significantly smaller and less powerful than the Swan Wand, but it offers many of the same features at half the price.
June 26, 2015: There's a newer version of the Lelo Mona, our runner-up pick, that moves. We plan to check it out to see if it's a useful improvement or a gimmick.

At first glance the sleek silvery Pure Wand looks like a futuristic weapon or a piece of modern art. However, in our tests its firm, smooth texture and its ergonomic curved shape proved to be incomparable for stimulating the G-spot, eliciting the most intense sensations of all the toys we tried. Hardness seems to be one of the most important criteria for a toy to deeply stimulate the G-spot, and the Pure Wand’s heavy stainless-steel body produces an intense pressure that other toys cannot. Several testers reported experiencing G-spot sensations and female ejaculation for the first time while using this toy.

Njoy Pure Wand
Extremely effective for intense G-spot stimulation, the Pure Wand offers two size options in one toy. Made of stainless steel, it’s easy to clean, virtually indestructible, and designed to be chilled or warmed for additional stimulation. Beginners may find its weight and size intimidating, however.

This toy features two bulbous ends (1 inch and 1½ inches in diameter) that can work vaginally or anally, making it one of the most versatile of our picks and accessible to users who prefer both larger and smaller girths. It’s also the most durable choice: Stainless steel lasts a lifetime, making this toy well worth every penny. Some beginners may find this toy intimidating due to its size, hardness, and heavy weight.

Also Great
Swanvibes Swan Wand
The Swan Wand features two ultrapowerful, independently motorized insertable vibrating ends that also work for clitoral stimulation.

Like the Pure Wand, the Swanvibes Swan Wand is double-ended and versatile (with one medium-size end and the other quite large), but its two ends are independently motorized. It doesn’t focus intense stimulation on the G-spot as the Pure Wand does, but it does offer powerful sensations through its gently curved shape, generous girth, and ultrastrong vibrations. We encountered some technical malfunctions with our test model (which is worth noting, but not typical of this toy). The Swan Wand’s versatility and power make it an amazing option at a competitive price.

Also Great
OhMiBod Lovelife Cuddle
The vibrating Lovelife Cuddle—while significantly smaller and less powerful than the Swan Wand—offers many of the same features at half the price.

The rechargeable OhMiBod Lovelife Cuddle is a great G-spot vibrator for anyone on a budget. While it is a lot smaller than the Swan Wand and designed to produce less intense vibrations, this rechargeable toy has multiple speeds and patterns, and it represents a great value at half the price. We also recommend it as a great vibrating toy for G-spot beginners, and anyone who prefers a smaller toy.

Also Great
Fun Factory Patchy Paul
This soft and flexible toy’s shape, gentle texture, and powerful vibrations make it a satisfying choice for anyone who finds harder toys to be uncomfortable or overly intense.

While many people prefer a firm toy for G-spot stimulation, anyone who wants a softer, more flexible toy will enjoy Fun Factory’s Patchy Paul. This toy offers less intense pressure than our other picks, but the vibrations are very strong. One tester loved how different this toy felt from the others: The soft silicone has more give, yet it doesn’t sacrifice powerful vibrations. For people who enjoy vigorous thrusting, this toy has an easy-to-hold loop handle. The Patchy Paul is also waterproof, and it offers multiple levels of vibrations and patterns. It comes with a two-year warranty.

Table of contents

Why you should trust us

We determined our initial selections by reviewing data from retailers such as Amazon, Babeland, Early to Bed, Good Vibrations, and The Pleasure Chest. We looked for the best-selling or top-rated toys. We also reviewed picks from sex-toy guides on mainstream websites such as Cosmopolitan, Marie Claire, and Women’s Health, as well as picks from sex-toy bloggers Epiphora, Dangerous Lilly, Mr. Will, and countless others.

We followed up our preliminary research with interviews with the following experts:

I’m a full-time writer and sex educator who has tested more than 100 different sex toys in the past 15 years. I began blogging about sex toys in 2011, and I worked as a toy tester and copywriter for the retailer The Stockroom for several years. I received my Master’s of Public Health degree from Indiana University in 2014, where I assisted research scientist Dr. Debra Herbenick with academic and consumer research related to sex-toy use. (We interviewed Herbenick as part of our expert panel for this guide, as well.) While at Indiana University, I also worked as a blogger and sex educator at The Kinsey Institute for Research in Sex, Gender and Reproduction.

Should you buy a G-spot toy?

If you’ve never tried a G-spot toy1 before, it’s normal to have some questions or reservations about what to try, or whether such toys will work well for you at all. If you’re a first-time sex-toy buyer, you might want to start with our best vibrator picks. If you’ve never experienced G-spot sensations before, I suggest purchasing a smaller insertable vibrator such as our budget option. Vibrating G-spot toys are a safe bet for people who are not yet sure whether they enjoy G-spot stimulation, because such toys can also work as external vibrators. That way, if you decide that you don’t need a G-spot stimulator, you’ll still be able to enjoy clitoral stimulation.

If you’ve already enjoyed G-spot stimulation via fingers or a penis and want to try a G-spot toy, or if you have tried a vibrating toy and crave something a bit more intense, I recommend going directly to our top pick. This toy is a game-changer for so many people, and it’s well worth the investment if you crave intense G-spot stimulation above all else.

How we picked and tested

Nobody wants to spend $100-plus on a toy that turns out to be a dud.

Buying sex toys can be an intimidating experience for newbies and experienced users alike. Beyond the shyness that many people experience, high-quality sex toys are often expensive and nonreturnable. Determining what toy will work best for you based on reviews can be difficult, too, because every person’s sexual response is different. Nobody wants to spend $100-plus on a toy that turns out to be a dud. For this reason, we will be going into a great amount of detail about what makes each toy we’ve picked great according to our panel of testers, and we’ve tried to focus on toys that will work well for most people, including beginners. We’ve also included a budget option if you’re looking to test the waters before diving in.

Hundreds (if not thousands) of sex-toy models are available, and the criteria for what makes a sex toy good can be highly subjective. The items in this guide are the models that stood out after we considered dozens of candidates. We realize that many other models not addressed in this article are also great for some people, and that our top pick may not necessarily be the best pick for everyone. These are simply the models that most (if not all) of our testers enjoyed the most.

We determined our testing criteria using feedback from experts and a diverse pool of sex-toy users sampled from the general population. Among the people I spoke with, the following were the most important criteria for a toy:

  1. The shape must effectively stimulate the G-spot (desired designs included thicker toys, toys with curved shafts, and toys with bulbous heads).
  2. It should be made from nonporous, body-safe material such as silicone, glass, or metal.
  3. It should be firm, as harder toys may offer more intense stimulation.
  4. It should be comfortable—not painful, too large, or too small.
  5. It should be ergonomic and easy to use; it should fit well with the body, have an intuitive design, and not promote wrist fatigue.

If a toy was a vibrating device, waterproof, versatile (also suitable for clitoral or anal use), or ridged or textured, we considered those attributes to be bonuses. Most of our testers also preferred an aesthetically pleasing toy with multiple color options. Features that we considered overrated included realistic designs (some people find such toys unappealing).

Dealbreakers included poor-quality materials, a too-large or too-small size, and a design that was difficult to clean. We also dismissed toys that were too soft or too hard.

g spot toys

Our updated picks, from left to right: We like the OhMiBod Lovelife Cuddle as our budget option and the powerful Swanvibes Swan Vibe as our runner-up. While Njoy’s Pure Wand remains our top pick, we also like Fun Factory’s Patchy Paul as a softer and more flexible toy. Photo: Michael Hession

g spot toys

The six G-spot toys we tested during our first round, from left to right: Njoy Pure Wand, Jopen Comet Wand, Lelo Gigi 2, Lelo Mona 2, Topco Eve After Dark, and PleasureWorks Siren. Photo: Bianca Jarvis

For the first round of testing, we narrowed our list down to six of the most popular toys that met our criteria. The toys we tested for the first version of this guide included the Lelo Mona 2 and Gigi 2, the Topco Eve After Dark, the Jopen Comet Wand, the PleasureWorks Siren, and the Njoy Pure Wand.

For this year’s update we tested an additional eight toys, focusing on models that sex-toy retailers and reviewers recommended to us, including the Fun Factory Bouncer, Stronic Drei, Tiger, and Patchy Paul; the Lelo Mona Wave and Ina Wave; the OhMiBod Lovelife Cuddle; and the Swanvibes Swan Wand. For our update we had one or two expert testers try each toy.

Our G-spot testing panel consisted of six people with vaginas ranging in age from early 30s to mid-40s,2 a mix of people who identify as queer, bisexual, and heterosexual. All of our testers reported experiencing G-spot sensations and instances of female ejaculation in the past (either from toys, intercourse, or manual stimulation). About half of our panel had relatively little experience masturbating with toys specifically designed for the G-spot, while the other half were G-spot toy devotees.3

In addition to panel testing, we tested the silicone toys for bad interactions with silicone lubricant, and we tested all the vibrating toys for battery life and overheating.

Our pick

g spot toys, njoy pure wand

Our top pick, the Njoy Pure Wand, in its natural habitat. Photo: Michael Hession

Njoy Pure Wand
Extremely effective for intense G-spot stimulation, the Pure Wand offers two size options in one toy. Made of stainless steel, it’s easy to clean, virtually indestructible, and designed to be chilled or warmed for additional stimulation. Beginners may find its weight and size intimidating, however.
This toy is not only beautiful, but it’s also extremely functional, versatile, and simple to use once you get the hang of it.

Njoy’s Pure Wand received nearly perfect scores across the board in our tests. The majority of our testers said that this toy was the best pick for deep, intense G-spot stimulation. This toy is also highly recommended for women interested in learning how to ejaculate, because intense G-spot pressure can sometimes trigger this response. The stainless-steel material and the curved, double-ended shape proved to be huge selling points for testers. This toy is not only beautiful, but it’s also extremely functional, versatile, and simple to use once you get the hang of it.

To help you better understand the type of stimulation the Pure Wand offers, we figured that it’s easier to let the testers speak for themselves:

“I discovered whole new realms of sensitivity because of this toy.”

“[I] like how it can touch on so much of the vaginal walls.”

“It could produce a range of sensations, from gentle to hurts-so-good.”

“This toy zones in on my G-spot like a heat-seeking missile, and provides deep, intense stimulation with very little effort.”

“This toy zones in on my G-spot like a heat-seeking missile, and provides deep, intense stimulation with very little effort.” —one testing-panel member

Epiphora’s review of this toy offers additional insight: “Measly words can’t adequately describe what the Pure Wand feels like. This is the most intense, overwhelming sex toy I’ve ever used. It is heavy, concentrated, and unrelenting. It steals my breath. It messes with my sanity.”

To say this toy has a cult following might be a bit of an understatement—sex-toy bloggers seem to love it universally, and it emerged as the toy that our panel preferred above all others.

While sex-toy newbies might be intimidated by a solid-metal toy, our testers loved the stainless steel this toy is made from. It’s easy to clean, it transmits hot and cold temperatures beautifully, it’s virtually frictionless when you use it with lubricant, and its firmness and weight are highly effective for achieving deep, penetrative stimulation that feels unlike the sensation from any other toy. Stainless steel is virtually indestructible, and therefore a lifetime investment.

Testers were pleased with the toy’s C shape, which is capped with dual bulbous ends (one is 1 inch in diameter, the other is 1½ inches). The Pure Wand is more dramatically curved than any of the other toys we tried: The distance from the base of the toy’s curved center to the large end tip is about 4½ inches, about a 45-degree angle from the center, and it’s a total 8 inches in length. This dramatic curve causes the vagina to expand, and the Pure Wand thus angles more intense, focused pressure on a single spot than a nonangled toy can. The shape makes the handle more ergonomic as well, since it curves toward the body, making it easy to grip. Weighing 1½ pounds, this toy is also quite heavy, which helps to focus pressure on the G-spot even more intensely.

Testers achieved different sensations from trying the two ends. The small end offers more intense pinpointed sensations, while the large end creates feelings of fullness as well as G-spot stimulation. Testers also found that the smaller end worked great for anal penetration. If you’re unsure how to take advantage of the Pure Wand’s unusual shape, check out this instructional video from sex-toy retailer Self Serve.

Flaws but not dealbreakers

We heard few complaints from our testers about the Pure Wand. Some users said that the toy had a bit of a learning curve and that they would have liked some instructions (see the video link above), while others said it was instantly intuitive.

Two testers found the Pure Wand to be a little too firm for their liking, and others discovered that its weight made their hands and wrists feel tired or cramped with prolonged use. However, we did not perceive these minor drawbacks as dealbreakers.

Runner-up: Bigger, stronger, and versatile

g spot toys, swanvibes swan wand

Our runner-up pick, the Swan Wand. Photo: Michael Hession

Also Great
Swanvibes Swan Wand
The Swan Wand features two ultrapowerful, independently motorized insertable vibrating ends that also work for clitoral stimulation.

The Swanvibes Swan Wand is a double-ended rechargeable vibrator with two independent motors capable of producing ultrastrong vibrations that rival those of our clitoral-vibrator pick, the Magic Wand, and outstrip even the very strong sensations of the Lelo Mona 2. The entire toy measures a little over 9 inches, making each end about 4½ inches long. The medium-size end has a maximum diameter of 1½ inches, while the large end is an ambitious 2 inches in diameter, making it one of the girthiest insertable vibrators on the market. It offers all the amenities of a high-end toy: easy-to-clean waterproof silicone, a rechargeable battery with a life of four hours in 30-minute max-strength sessions, variable vibration strengths and patterns, a one-year warranty, a storage pouch, and a travel lock function.

“Amazing. One of the most pleasurably girthy toys I have ever found.” —one testing-panel member

Our two testers, people with vaginas who enjoy larger toys, both reported choosing to buy the Swan Wand out of pocket after trying the toy. The first tester described the Swan Wand as “amazing. One of the most pleasurably girthy toys I have ever found.” Our second tester was equally impressed: “I had an internal clitoral/G-spot orgasm. It was the first time in my life that I could cum multiple times so easily, and intensely.”

The toy is fairly straightforward to use, with two button controls located at the center and a USB cord that easily plugs into the toy for charging. It has relatively few drawbacks, other than that the big end might be too much for some people. We also experienced some technical malfunctions with our sample model: The large end stopped working after a few weeks, and the toy spontaneously turned on at 3 a.m. and resisted attempts to turn it off. The Swan Wand does come with a one-year warranty in case of defects, and both the manufacturer and Searah Deysach of Early to Bed reassured us that this type of malfunction is almost unheard of.

Budget pick: Great for beginners

g spot toys, lovelife cuddle

Our budget pick, the OhMiBod Lovelife Cuddle. Photo: Michael Hession

Also Great
OhMiBod Lovelife Cuddle
The vibrating Lovelife Cuddle—while significantly smaller and less powerful than the Swan Wand—offers many of the same features at half the price.

The OhMiBod Lovelife Cuddle is fairly small at 1¼ inches wide and 6½ inches long, and the vibrations are significantly less powerful than those of the Swan Wand. Nevertheless, its curved shape gets the job done well, and this toy offers many of the same luxury amenities as at less than half the price. Made of nonporous silicone, it is easy to clean, though not waterproof (so you should not submerge it). The toy also has a fairly straightforward power console, and it comes with a storage pouch, a one-year warranty, and an easy-to-use charging cord.

g spot toys

From left to right: the OhMiBod Lovelife Cuddle, Lelo Mona Wave, and Swanvibes Swan Wand. Photo: Bianca Jarvis

We can find very little not to like about this toy, and it’s great for beginners, people with smaller anatomies, or anyone on a budget. If you prefer a thicker toy or stronger vibrations, however, you’ll be happier investing in the Swan Wand.

Also great: Soft material, strong vibrations

g spot toys, fun factory patchy paul

The Fun Factory Patchy Paul. Photo: Michael Hession

Also Great
Fun Factory Patchy Paul
This soft and flexible toy’s shape, gentle texture, and powerful vibrations make it a satisfying choice for anyone who finds harder toys to be uncomfortable or overly intense.

The Fun Factory Patchy Paul is a bit peculiar at first glance: Yes, it resembles a cartoon worm, and yes, it has beady eyes that look at you. If you can get over its appearance, the Patchy Paul offers a good balance of function and value. Its curved, tapered tip makes it easy to insert, it produces powerful vibrations, and its gently textured, flexible shaft and easy-to-hold handle make it ideal for thrusting. At a price comparable to that of the Swan Wand, it provides similar amenities, including a rechargeable battery, variable vibration levels and patterns, waterproof silicone, and a two-year warranty. The level of G-spot stimulation is milder than what our top picks produce, but the Patchy Paul is a good option if you find hard toys uncomfortable.

Long-term test notes

Our testers are still crazy about the Njoy Pure Wand and the Swan Wand. One of our testers told us she alternates between those two as her go-to G-spot toys but finds our budget pick, the Ohmibod Lovelife Cuddle, too small to be satisfying. Anyone who prefers a smaller toy will most likely enjoy that model, however.

What to look forward to

A lot of sex-toy bloggers have raved about the L’amourose line of G-spot toys. Reviewer Dangerous Lilly swears that the steeply priced heated Rosa Rouge toy is “worth every penny” and claims that the company’s Prism V is “the best G-spot vibrator I now own” due to its shape and rumbly vibrations. Epiphora told us that “Rosa’s deeply rumbly vibrations surpass those of most other vibrators, which puts it in a class all its own,” but “its price is borderline extravagant.” The Prism is more affordably priced, and we will most likely test it for our next update.

The competition

g spot toys, gigi, mona

Lelo’s Mona 2 (top) and Gigi 2 (bottom). Photo: Bianca Jarvis

The Lelo Mona 2 was our runner-up in the first edition of this guide, but with that model’s recent price increase, the Swanvibes Swan Wand is simply a better value with more power and versatility (the smaller end of the Swan Wand is comparable in size to the Mona 2). If you don’t mind the steep price tag, this model is a powerful luxury vibrator with a shape and size suitable for many bodies, and it also works well for clitoral stimulation.

The Lelo Gigi 2 is purported to be the bestselling G-spot vibrator in the world, yet all but one of our testers preferred the Mona 2. They found the Gigi 2’s small size (the insertable portion of the toy is only 3.7 inches long) and relatively mild vibrations underwhelming.

While the Lelo Mona Wave is essentially the same toy as the Mona 2, it offers an undulating up-and-down motion in addition to vibrations. We also tested the company’s Ina Wave, which is the same toy with an added vibrating clitoral stimulator. One tester loved the sensation and the hands-free aspect of this toy (the Ina Wave might be especially good for people who have limited use of their wrists and hands, as it’s totally hands-free). Epiphora dismissed the Mona Wave as “a frustrating, half-assed toy,” and another tester found the wave motion to be both distracting and annoying. This toy is considerably louder than the original Mona 2, and the vibrations are half as powerful, according to Epiphora.

gspot toys, comet, pure wand

The Jopen Comet Wand (top) next to the similarly shaped Njoy Pure Wand (bottom). Photo: Bianca Jarvis

Jopen’s Comet Wand has a lot in common with Njoy’s Pure Wand in terms of shape, but five out of six of our testers preferred our pick, the Pure Wand, partly due to the Njoy toy’s firmness and more intense curve, and partly due to the two differently sized ends the Pure Wand offers.

The PleasureWorks Siren silicone dildo was our budget pick in the first edition of this article, as it’s effective at stimulating the G-spot while being softer and more flexible than the other toys we tested and a good shape for a strap-on harness. But we found that OhMiBod’s Lovelife Cuddle is a better value at a similar price.

g spot toys

Fun Factory’s Stronic Pulsator line of toys thrust back and forth instead of vibrating. Opinions are divided about which model is the best: The Eins is straight, the Drei is textured and curved with a nub for clitoral or perianal stimulation, the Zwei is similar to the Drei but shorter and curvier, and the new Bi-Stronic Fusion is smooth with a clitoral stimulator. After some deliberation, we had two of our testers try the Stronic Drei. Both of them liked it, noting that “the angle was good” and that it provided an “interesting sensation,” but one said that it lacked adequate girth. Both testers mentioned that they found the price intimidating, and that kept this toy from being a top pick.

We also tested Fun Factory’s Tiger G5 vibrator, which is virtually identical to the Stronic Drei and considerably less expensive but made to vibrate instead of thrust. Our tester liked the strong vibrations but found the ribbed texture irritating.

The Fun Factory Bouncer is cool in concept, but our tester found it underwhelming for solo use (though it’s a good shape and size for strap-on play).

The Pure Wand’s intimidating big sibling, the Njoy Eleven, is a double-ended stainless-steel toy that is not for beginners. It’s heavy, long, and wide, and too much of a big-ticket specialty item to warrant inclusion in this guide.

Je Joue’s rechargeable G-Kii vibrator has a cool adjustable “spine,” but user reviews say it has a tendency to break or lock up after time. Some reviewers also complain that the vibrations are not strong enough.

The Minna Ola has a cool feature that allows the user to program their own vibration patterns, but it’s a bit on the pricey side.

The Eve After Dark’s battery-operated vibrating function worked well for our testers, but they thought that the toy was poorly shaped and cheap-looking, and that the linear shaft felt uncomfortably firm. Four out of six testers ranked it their least favorite toy of the bunch.

Finally, although the Butterfly Kiss is nice as a beginner toy, users who prefer larger, firmer toys may find it underwhelming.

The G-spot: Is it real?

The G-spot (and the related phenomenon of female ejaculation) is a controversial topic in the sex-research community. Just about every year, a new study emerges in which scientists claim that they have proved or disproved the existence of the G-spot. Some people believe the G-spot to be a bundle of internal clitoral nerves, glands, and erectile tissue, similar to the male prostate, located on the front wall of the vagina. Generally it is positioned at a depth of 1 to 3 inches on the anterior wall of the vagina, is about the size of a quarter, and is said to feel firmer and have a bumpy texture compared with the tissue around it.

The belief is that many people with vaginas can experience intense sensations, orgasms, and even expulsion of fluids from the urethra (aka female ejaculation or squirting) as the result of this spot being stimulated.4 Even less is known about the A-spot, aka the AFE zone, a second erogenous area located higher in the vagina in front of the cervix. It is possible that natural variations of the distribution of internal clitoral nerves in the pelvis could explain why some people experience these sensations while others do not. Given the variations in clitoral sensitivity that another panel of testers reported while testing clitoral vibrators for us (one tester loved pressing a super-strong vibrator directly on her clitoris while another needed to use it through a blanket), it is not surprising that different people enjoy different types of stimulation.

So while it is true that not all people with vaginas experience these sensations, for every study that supposedly “disproves” the existence of the G-spot, you’ll find thousands of annoyed vagina owners who disagree. Come as You Are author Dr. Emily Nagoski summed it up nicely: “I get asked about the G-spot all the time, of course, as many sex educators do, and I generally answer with what the research says—about half of women are sensitive to G-spot stimulation, not all of them will be reliably orgasmic from it, and it’s generally located in the front wall of the vagina.”

How you use a G-spot toy will depend on the toy itself, but using lube and going slowly at first is always a good idea. You can experiment with thrusting, slow massaging, and clenching around the toy to see which technique is most effective for G-spot stimulation. Some people find that squeezing and bearing down can help intensify sensations as well. Pelvic-floor exercises are highly recommended for this.

You can also find books, videos, more videos, and articles offering additional insight as to how you can most effectively find and stimulate the G-spot.

What makes a toy ‘body-safe’

For this guide we decided to limit our selections to toys made from “body-safe” materials, a descriptor that sex-toy retailers and reviewers often use. This blog post from The Kinsey Institute’s blog gives a helpful overview, but in a nutshell, body-safe toys are:

  • Nonporous: This means they are less likely to trap or absorb bacteria, viruses, or funguses after proper cleaning.
  • Nontoxic: High-quality toys do not off-gas or leach toxic chemicals that the body’s mucous membranes can absorb.

Materials considered to be body-safe include 100 percent silicone (some toys that are billed as silicone are sometimes made from a blend of silicone and other materials), all types of glass, metals such as stainless steel and aluminum, treated wood, ceramic, and hard nonporous plastics such as ABS, lucite, and acrylic.

Care and maintenance

Keeping sex toys clean is extremely important for preventing bacterial and yeast infections, especially if you are sharing your toys with partners. We recommend that you cover your toys with a condom when sharing them with a partner, especially if it’s someone you are not fluid-bonded with (that is, you typically use barriers for other types of sexual activities). This practice is twice as important for toys made from porous materials such as TPR and TPE elastomers. If your toy is made of silicone, using an inexpensive unlubricated condom is preferable, as most lubricated condoms include a silicone-based lube that can be harmful to silicone toys.

You can wash waterproof toys made from nonporous materials such as silicone and stainless steel with soap and warm water. If you have non-waterproof toys, carefully wipe them clean with a solution of soap and warm water. Spray-on toy cleanser can be useful for toys that you cannot submerge. Tool Shed Toys offers a great in-depth guide to caring for a variety of toy materials, as does Dangerous Lilly.

Generally you do not have to disinfect toys that only one person uses or that you cover with condoms, but several techniques work well if you want to do so. Nonmotorized toys made from 100 percent silicone or metal can go into the dishwasher without soap for steam-sanitizing. Alternatively, you can boil such toys in hot water. You can soak waterproof toys of all stripes in 10 percent bleach solution for 10 minutes to disinfect them, and thoroughly wash them with soap and water afterward.

We recommend storing toys in boxes or pouches to keep them dust-free in a cool, dark place where they will not get exposure to direct sunlight. Many high-end manufacturers include free cloth pouches or attractive storage boxes with the purchase of a toy.

If you wish to use a lubricant with your toy (mandatory for anal play!), we recommend water-based lube, because it is safe to use with all types of toys. Oil-based lubricants are not only unsafe for use with condoms, but they can also interact badly with toys made of soft plastic or rubber (though they are fine to use with toys made of metal, glass, and treated wood). Silicone lubricants are great for anal play, but unfortunately they interact negatively with silicone toys, so you should use an unlubricated condom to cover them.

Several prominent sex educators have recently claimed that the interactions between silicone lube and toys are overstated, so we decided to conduct our own test. The toys we tested included PleasureWorks’s Don Juan and Siren, Lelo’s Mona and Gigi, Jimmyjane’s Form 2, the Je Joue Mimi, the Jopen Comet Wand, Doc Johnson’s Mood Naughty 1 and 2, and the Fun Factory Bootie. We applied about a quarter’s worth of überlube-brand silicone lubricant to a patch toward the base of each toy, rubbed it into the surface of the toy for one minute to simulate friction, and then left the toys to sit for an hour. At the end of this experiment, we discovered that the lube had affected every single toy. In some cases the patch exposed to lube appeared raised. In the worst cases the lube completely took the finish off the toy, causing it to become gummy, sticky, and blistered.

sex toys, silicon lube

Gumminess and blistering on the base of the Siren dildo after we exposed it to silicone lubricant and then washed it. Photo: Bianca Jarvis

In some cases you can scrub off the stickiness, but we do not recommend using silicone lubricants with silicone toys because we don’t know how these lubricants will affect the porosity and integrity of the toy over time. In the interest of scientific validity, the staff at Early to Bed replicated our test and found similar results.

Many high-end toy companies offer limited warranties or guarantees in the event that your toy breaks within a certain amount of time (typically one to three years). To redeem your warranty, you will need to purchase the toy from a licensed retailer (due to problems with counterfeit toys being sold on Amazon and eBay) and save the receipt. Lelo toys come with registration cards and a serial number that you can use to register the item on the company’s website. Generally you should file away any and all documentation of your purchase in a safe place in case you need to redeem the warranty. We asked the manufacturers of our picks for links to licensed retailers; for this guide, we included either their suggested link (when we received a response) or a link to Early to Bed, a respected shop based in Chicago, Illinois.


1. Why are we calling this a guide to G-spot toys rather than a guide to dildos? The toys that people typically call dildos can stimulate the G-spot, but they also work anally, as a part of gender identity or gender play, in BDSM play, in a harness for partner play, and for other purposes. We wanted to indicate that, to keep the scope of our testing manageable, we limited the toys in this guide to those that are specifically intended to stimulate the G-spot in the vagina. Jump back.

2. I am referring to people by their genitalia and not by their gender in this case at the suggestion of Searah Deysach, owner of toy store Early to Bed and the website FtM Essentials, to make this article more inclusive to transgender people. Not all people who have penises identify as men, and not all people who have vaginas identify as women. Jump back.

3. We recruited testers on a volunteer basis and did not give them any compensation for their participation other than free sex toys. None of our testers currently have any ties to the sex-toy industry as bloggers or as employees of any sex-toy retailer or manufacturer. Jump back.

4. You can read more about female ejaculation here and here. Contrary to popular belief, researchers have found that the fluid emitted during female ejaculation is not urine but that it contains prostate-specific antigens similar to the chemical composition of male ejaculate. Jump back.

Njoy Pure Wand

Best G-Spot Toy

We do our best to stay on top of prices.
If something's changed, let us know.

To share this page via email, fill out the fields below:
Message Sent!
Oops! Please try again


  1. Epiphora, Various reviews and an interview, Hey Epiphora
  2. Dangerous Lilly, Various reviews
  3. Mr. Will, Various reviews and an interview, Mr. Will's House of Thrills
  4. Dr. Debra Herbenick, Author, sex educator, and research scientist at Indiana University, Interview
  5. Dr. Emily Nagoski, Sex educator, author, and blogger, Interview
  6. Searah Deysach, Owner, Early to Bed, Interview
  7. Carlyle Jansen, Owner, Good For Her, Interview
  8. Dr. Carol Queen, Staff Sexologist, Good Vibrations, Interview
  9. Bianca Jarvis, Understanding The Mysteries Of Female Ejaculation, Kinsey Confidential, February 3, 2014
  10. Dangerous Lilly, Review: Njoy Pure Wand for G-Spot Play, November 2, 2008
  11. Epiphora, My Love, the Pure Wand (+ a Few Tips!), Hey Epiphora, July 26, 2010
  12. Self Serve Toys, Video: Learn how to use the Njoy Pure Wand, YouTube, July 21, 2010
  13. Dangerous Lilly, L’amourose Rosa Rouge, November 25, 2014
  14. Dangerous Lilly, L’amourose Prism Review, December 28, 2015
  15. Naughty Reenie, Review: Je Joue G-KII 2, Sextopia, March 26, 2014
  16. Mayo Clinic Staff, Kegel exercises: A how-to guide for women, Mayo Clinic, September 25, 2015
  17. Burke Denning, The Safety Dance: Sex Toy Safety for a New Generation, Kinsey Confidential, February 12, 2014
  18. The Tool Shed, Toy Care and Cleaning, Tool Shed Toys
  19. Dangerous Lilly, Sex Toy Cleaning Guide / Material Information Guide
  20. Julia, Our Very Scientific Silicone-On-Silicone Findings, Early to Bed, November 15, 2014
  21. EJ Dickson, Sex toy piracy is becoming a problem on Amazon and eBay, The Daily Dot, July 17, 2014

Originally published: February 2, 2016

We actively moderate the comments section to make it relevant and helpful for our readers, and to stay up to date with our latest picks. You can read our moderation policy FAQ here.